We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, great views, great fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great time, great views, great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been going to Mt. Lake since 1984 and have always had a wonderful time. When we heard they were under new management and made a lot of changes (meals not included, very few games in the barn, no nightly activities, now charging for everything that used to be included in the room charge) we were hesitant about going. But we did and took the kids and grandkids with us to celebrate our 45th anniversary. We had a great time, although expensive. We did the Tree Top adventure zip line and obstacle course, played corn hole, hiked and relaxed. Was disappointed that housekeeping never brought clean sets of towels or tidied the cottage every third day as advertised, had to have maintenance in twice to fix the refrigerator and unplug the tub drains, and we had to ask for clean towels, tissue, soap, and kitchen trash bags.

Room Tip: Better service is in the main hotel, but the cottages on Blueberry Ridge are so much nicer, quiet, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
45
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White House, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our 6th trip to Mountain Lake since 2008. We were a little concerned that the new management may change things up too much. The lobby, restaurant, bar areas were either upgraded or renovated. Also, the old laundry building is now the outfitter/equipment rental for all the outdoor activities at the lodge, The "Dirty Dancing" signs that showed where scenes were shot for the movie have been removed. The old equipment rental building near the parking lot was converted into a very nice dedication to the making of "Dirty Dancing". Many photos of the actors, memorabilia, along with audio/visual displays. The Treetops Adventure course near the barn and stables was exhilarating (as in white knuckles and shaky legs) and a pleasant addition.
Overall the atmosphere is the same, which is what brings us back year after year. As I have said in previous reviews, it is the peacefulness and serenity of Mountain Lake that we love so much. While we miss some of the old familiar faces, it was nice to meet the new staff. I believe the new management has made some great changes. They do need to bring back the movie scene signs though, because there are still many people, especially first-time visitors that are big fans of the movie. This would allow them to take in the beauty of the grounds instead of one little building. We look forward to many more vacations at Mountain Lake, with or without water in the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our group spent our annual Girls' Reunion weekend at Mountain Lake this year. We stayed in the Radford cabin. It was more than adequate-- clean, spacious and nicely furnished. The restaurant is reasonably priced with very good food. We found the portions to be generous, almost more than we could eat for dinner. Two of us did the Tree Top Adventure zip line course and had a great time. We're also glad to see the lake is coming back.

I've been to Mountain Lake many times before. It's great to see it renovated and updated. If you want air conditioning, night life and constant entertainment, this is not the place for you. If you want to spend time in a beautiful part of the planet and enjoy nature and good friends, this is a perfect choice. I'll be coming again.

Room Tip: The Blueberry Ridge Cabins are great for larger groups. I haven't seen how the Lodge rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
CarlaRoanoke_VA,

Thanks so much for letting us know how thrilled you were with the Radford Home in Blueberry Ridge, Treetop Adventures, and HARVEST! It is great to know that you and your girlfriends appreciated the many new changes at Mountain Lake Lodge! We are so pleased to hear that we will be seeing you again!

We are looking forward to it!

Warmest Regards,
Heidi Stone
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed one night in the Lodge and overall we enjoyed the stay. The rooms were nice, recently remodeled but still had a touch of character (like the bathrooms). I'm giving this place a very good review because of the view, the pop culture history (Dirty Dancing) and the room, but there are some issues that need to be addressed. For example, why in the world would you close the pool and hot tub at 6pm (sign by pool says 8pm, but lodge info says 6pm)?! That gives your guests very little time after check in to enjoy it and we pay a considerable amount to be there,not to mention the drive we have to make to get there. Who wouldn't want to sit in the hot tub in the evening and check out the starry night? We could have made it but we were hungry and decided to eat at Harvest, their only real restaurant on site, and we waited FOREVER to get a table, after being told it would only be 10 mins,so by the time we got out of there it was 8:30pm. I will address the issues with the restaurant under Harvest. It would also be nice if the rooms could come with a refrigerator. Especially with the issues of the restaurant plus not everyone wants to pay $18+++ for a meal, so if there was a refrigerator people could brings some snacks. It was AWESOME that they had ceiling fans and box fans in the rooms and the room was very pleasant over night. The lake is expected to make a comeback next summer so it was sad to see that it was barely there, but they had a geologist at the bar and he was explaining what was going on with it and it was fascinating. If you are able, the pool looked very nice and the hot tub too but since it closed so early, we did not get a chance to see it. Overall a nice experience, but it could be better.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a refrigerator (I think you will have to stay in the Chestnut Lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Fademist,

We sincerely thank you for your feedback. Next season we will evaluate the pool schedule to best accommodate our guests. We regret to hear of your untimely wait in our restaurant. I am happy to report that we have a new Executive Chef, Michael Rork, and he is personally ensuring that our guests are properly being taken care of. Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the restaurant. Since Chef Michael's arrival we also have a new menu available in our tavern that provides a different dining option for guests.

I will note that our lake really has been fixed (as of March of this year). It is going to take 400+ million gallons of water to fill the lake. Currently, the deepest part has been filled and we have about a million gallons of water each day naturally flowing into the lake. Thank you for your patience with our ever filling lake! We do project that by next summer we will have our water activities back on Mountain Lake! We hope to see you back!

Kindest Regards,

Heidi Stone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

there is no air condition the bathrooms were very old long trip down the mountain to get anywhere view is to die for that's what keeps this place going besides the dirty dancing movie our Jacuzzi didn't work they were able to fix it we didn't try it because it looked like it had not been used or cleaned in a while the staff is friendly the tree top zip line was fun

Room Tip: pick the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited this property for an annual fall car meet. I had read some of the reviews online and was uncertain about how I would feel about the property. Our room was not in the main lodge but in a small grouping of about 12 rooms called the Chestnut Lodge ( I think)...we were about a 1 minute walk from the main lodge. The room was very attractive with a king bed, sitting area with sofa and chair in front of a working stone fireplace and a balcony, with two rocking chairs, overlooking the woods. Also had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffeepot with coffee/cream/sugar. The room was clean and attractively decorated. We had a bit of trouble trying to get the TV to work because we were unfamiliar with DISH. They were very prompt about coming to the room to set this up for us. Though the weather was hot and humid (August), at night we didn't need A/C due to the cross ventilation, ceiling fan and the location/elevation. If you like nature and outdoor activities, you will probably enjoy the hotel. It appeared to be very family friendly and folks looked like they were having a great time. The main lodge has had extensive work done and is also in great shape. The renovation retains the spirit of the original historic lodge with new tasteful appointments. Newly added bar seats about 10 at the bar with a couple of tables. Secluded winding location limited us from straying too far off the property after dark. Yes there were some gnats down by the lake but they didn't bother me much. Great photo ops. Morning brunch was good with cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, eggs, potatoes, sauteed vegetables. french toast/pancakes. New River Gorge is nearby for extra outdoor activities - if you need them. We also found nearby (30 minutes - Blacksburg/Christiansburg) thrift stores and resale stores if you are interested in that sort of thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We selected Mountain Lake Lodge after seeing in on TravelZoo. We had heard that it had been redone and we decided to rent a cabin with some friends. Total adults 4, kids 7. We rented a cabin. The cabin was great. Very clean and updated, plenty of room for everyone. It was rainy there in July and VERY cool (60s). There really is just not a lot to do in damp weather. We did the zip line, ropes course which was fun and hit the pool but really that is it. The pool is TINY!! It is smaller than most in ground pools at peoples homes so it was PACKED the entire time we were there. Although there is a snack shop next to the pool, it is not open because they have not had a health and safety inspection. So forget about getting snacks or drinks at the pool. The lake is no more than a mud puddle and if you want to fish or tube you must drive about 40 minutes off the mountain. Believe what people say about the the black gnats!!! They are everywhere! We love hiking but you could not get your car unloaded without being assaulted by them. OFF and other bug spray does nothing to keep them at bay. The only good news is they do not bite, but they are in your eyes, mouth, nose, ears. etc.... Yuck. I would chose a place elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Vandalia23,

Yes, you are correct - the gnats were unusually thick this past year. It was a very wet summer which was great for our filling lake, but not pleasant otherwise. Thank you for your comments about the pool. This situation will be much better next summer as all of our lake activities will be returning! Thank you again for visiting us this summer. I hope you will consider us again next summer when we'll have a full range of water activities back at Mountain Lake!

Warmest Regards,

Heidi Stone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TravelClick so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.