We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance staff above and beyond at Mountain Lake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
O'Brien, FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Maintenance staff above and beyond at Mountain Lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were so impressed with the Public Relation and maintenance skills we received at Mountain Lake Lodge. Within an hour of reporting a hole in the wall, loud exhaust fan and torn bathtub mat, an employee, Austin Richmond fixed the hole, repaired the tub and corrected the loud noise from the fan while making us feel welcome. He even suggested we take a look at the gift shop while he finished fixing our cabin. By the way, the gift shop was great.
We had trouble with the Mt. Lake Lodge upper level management when trying to change and secure reservations.
While staying at the resort, we hiked Indian Trail around the lake. The trail was pretty but hazardous with slippery rocks, holes, and low limbs near deep muddy ruts.
The drive up to the lodge is amazing! The price of the cabins are reasonable and the maintenance staff went above and beyond to correct multiple problems in the cabin.

Room Tip: If you are fortunate to have Austin Richmond on call for Public Relations or maintenance, he will go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    59
    37
    21
    13
See reviews for
56
71
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family of five stayed in the Dorland for 3 nights. The room was comfortable and clean, but it's always tough to travel with 5 people. The staff was pleasant and friendly, the cleaning ladies were sweet, and the Mountain Outfitters staff members were knowledgeable and helpful. The kids loved the game room, the geocaching, and the Treetop Adventures

Some suggestions:
1. the sheets on one of the beds felt like sandpaper - perhaps they were new and needed to be softened a bit.
2. Bigger and softer towels.
3. a little convenience store that offers toiletries, snacks, beverages, and perhaps a la carte meals like sandwiches. We didn't necessarily want a big meal at Harvest every night, and not having to drive 25 minutes would have been nice.
4. The disk golf course needs to be mowed. I understand keeping the surroundings in their natural state, but it would have been a more pleasant experience if at least a path were mowed. Also, some educational info about the club house up there . . .
5. Show Dirty Dancing every other night or so and serve popcorn. This would be especially fun on rainy evenings.

In short, when you're visiting, bring plenty of snacks and beverages, lots of bug spray, and layered clothing. Hopefully the lake will return to its capacity!

Room Tip: The Dorland is close to the pool/hot tub, the tennis courts, and the laundry facilities, and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I arranged a 4-night long weekend as a reunion with four of my former students and their families (four husbands, 2 toddlers, and 3 infants). Everyone had a great time. The families stayed in four adjoining rooms, which worked well, and I was in the Lake Cottage which gave us all room to get together. We went on some hikes and spent some time in the pool each day. Mostly, we hung around together while one or more of the children was napping.

The staff members were very friendly and helpful. The location was very peaceful and a great place for families. The breakfast buffets were fine - the bacon/eggs/pancakes that one would expect. The dinner buffets were a bit marginal - maybe "adequate" is the best word. Two nights we ordered from the menu, and both nights took far too long. We were at dinner when they opened (5:30), but did not finish until about 7:30 - with significant periods of time when we were simply waiting for the next course to arrive. That's tough when you have five young children at the table. Some of the food got raves from those who had it, some was just OK - and the potatoes and vegetables were always cold - as if the cook had arranged 20 plates of potatoes/vegetables and kept them warm under lights. The wait staff were all very nice - and they were great with the kids - but dinner was frustrating nonetheless.

Yes, there are bugs (it is the mountains). I got many chigger bites from standing on one of the lawns one day - wear insect repellant if you're going to be on the grass.

Room Tip: Lake Cottage is far from other accommodations and so quiet, with a great porch and big grassy area f...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Jeff 059,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We apologize for your less than acceptable experience in our dining room. We have addressed and corrected the situation you described. We are delighted that you really enjoyed the comfortable accommodations and that you felt that the new Mountain Lake Lodge was perfect for families! Thank you for letting us know that our staff was friendly and made you feel welcome!

Please stay tuned on our face book page for "insider" promotions and upcoming events!

I look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Mountain Lake Lodge!

Warm Regards,

Heidi Stone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Every year our family and friends get together at least once a year. This time we decided to go to Mountain Lake Lodge. This seems to be geographically in the middle of SC,KY and Alexandria, VA. We stayed in this resort from Monday to Thursday. Checking in was a breeze. We were not expecting the elevation to be that high and a lot of winding roads. Weather was 55 degrees in summertime and stayed in the newer cottages- Egleston. Rooms are spacious and have bathrooms in each room.Good size kitchen but needing more utensils. We forgot to pass by the grocery store before going up the mountain. So we had to drive back down again. Took us about 25 mins to get to Food Lion. There were different activities everyday e.g. yoga, zumba, etc. Free use of spa, exercise room, pool table, pingpong table, air hockey, etc. Enjoyed listening to the juke box in Mary's barn after visiting the cottage where the shut the movie "Dirty Dancing". The gift shop is needing more interesting items to sell. Played tennis, swam and did a lot of hiking.Don't forget to bring your bug spray because there were a lot of bugs. Enjoyed the view and nature. Best part : Treetop Adventure. $38.00++ for the adult course. They have different challenges and zip lines. Matt was able to demo us how to do the course and it was fun! The ones that looked like easy courses turned out to be the hard ones :). My 10 yr old daughter was able to complete the course too. This attraction just opened in June so there was no line when we were there. We didn't get to eat at the restaurant because we cooked our own the whole time we were there.Nice staff. We'll come back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear ciennalexa,

Thank you so much for visiting the new Mountain Lake Lodge! We are so pleased that you enjoyed many of our new activities and amenities! We are hearing rave reviews this summer on our newly opened Treetop Adventures aerial course! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Heidi Stone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Spring, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Me and my girls took advantage of the Groupon deal offer and stayed three nights. The afternoon we arrived we had time to do the TreeTop Adventures and we had a blast! Afterwards we dined on their screened in covered porch that was so relaxing with a rustic feeling. Our guide was the best. Actually from the front desk, maid service and waiters everyone was so attentive,nice. Our room was very clean and comfortable beds, we slept peacefully with the window open and the ceiling fan on, that's all you need, we slept under covers, incredibly cool at night, good sleeping weather for August! It was so peaceful there that the loudest sounds appeared to be the birds chirping. There are many other outdoor activities too numerous to mention, of course they offer what you would find at any hotel such as a nice excercise room with shower and sauna, a heated outdoor pool and heated outdoor spa. We hiked one day around the lake we are always interested to see how much progress its making toward filling backup at this point it appears to be about 10% of capacity it was worse 5 years ago they say maybe by this time next year it may be full again that way they can offer lake activities as well. If you don't mind driving off the mountain after you get there once you return to Route 460 within 20 minutes either direction you kind find nice restaurants if you prefer more of a variety than what's offered at the Lodge and less expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Outdoorsman1959,

Thank you for your review and thank you for giving the new Mountain Lake Lodge a try! As you already know, we have added many new outdoor activities through our Mountain Lake Outfitters, as well as, the new Mountain Lake Treetop Adventure course! Many of our guests this summer seem to be really enjoying all of the new amenities, new activities, and new focus of the lodge! The lake was fixed this past March and is naturally filling at a fantastic rate! Our experts are telling us that by next summer we will have all of our "on the lake" activities back!

Be sure to get regular lake updates on our face book page!

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Heidi Stone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband, his parents, and I went last weekend to MLL's Dirty Dancing weekend. We had a fantastic time. I'm going to break down my review into sections to counteract the negative review left last month.

We ended up in the Pearisburg cabin, and it was wonderful. All of the exteriors to the buildings/cabins have purposefully been left rustic, but the insides are beautiful. The Pearisburg cabin has four large bedrooms (two with a king bed and two with two queen beds and each with its own bathroom), a fully equipped kitchen, a table, and a very nice living room. It even had a large fireplace and a walk-out back deck.

The Dirty Dancing weekend includes a viewing of the movie, a tour of the areas on the resort where the movie was filmed, a Dirty Dancing trivia game, dance lessons, two evenings of music and dancing, and four meals per guest (two breakfasts and two dinners). We really enjoyed our experience. They brought in professional dancers from Sapphire Ballroom and Dance Center to teach the classes as well as to do a Dirty Dancing song showcase and dance with the other guests. We chose to add private lessons for an additional fee of $25/half hour (group lessons are included and free), and we ended up with Dave Verde as our instructor. He was wonderful and so down-to-earth. My father-in-law had come to MLL claiming that he would not be dancing at all that weekend. Thanks to Dave, my father-in-law voluntarily chose to dance and learned a few dances quite well. All in all, we learned salsa, meringue, foxtrot, and the East Coast swing. The first night of dancing was with a "big band" live musical group, and they were quite enjoyable. However, it was the second night with the DJ that was the most fun. The DJ was awesome! We danced the night away and stayed almost until they closed for the night.

Like others have mentioned, the meals are buffet. However, unlike what other reviewers have said, they kept the buffet very well stocked. It always had an array of choices that would be sure to please many different taste buds. We were lucky enough to get Anna as our waitress for dinner both nights. She was the best waitress we have ever had. She was there taking care of our needs before we even knew we had them. And she looked out for our table as far as the desserts went, even holding aside special items to make sure that we could get them. Definitely request her if you can. She is worth it, I promise.

The last aspect of the trip that I want to talk about is the people. Everyone from the staff to the other guests was so nice. All of the Dirty Dancing guests were so friendly, and we left with contact information from a few of our new friends. However, it is the staff that deserve the real gold star. We booked our weekend through Josh Stevers. He REALLY took care of us. We cannot speak highly enough of him. Kerrie Hurley, who is also an amazing front desk staffer, was one of the funniest people that we've met. She too went above and beyond for us and took us back to see some of the behind the scenes spots. By the way, if you are looking for a hotel room instead of a cabin, make sure you book room 232. That's Patrick Swayze's room. :) Speaking of, Baby's family stayed in the Virginia cabin in the movie. You can also book that cabin.

Yes, there are gnats, but apparently, we were not there when they were at their worst (at the time of the July 2013 Dirty Dancing weekend). They are annoying, but they are not terrible. And the store had plenty of options for souvenirs for the Dirty Dancing weekend AND for the lodge. We ended up spending probably $200 there by the end of the weekend between our four visits.

All in all, it was a great trip, great experience, and we will be more than happy to return in future years. Definitely look for Kerrie and Josh when you book, Anna when you eat, and Dave when you take your lessons. This experience was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Cabins are great for large groups and/or for privacy. Hotel rooms are good for smaller groups or if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked a treetop adventure package for a Thursday night on the tail end of a trip to Smith Mountain Lake to entertain our two young boys. We enjoyed our stay/experience here and would return and will recommend the property/experience to others. One interesting point of differentiation is that I left virtually every interaction with a staff member feeling appreciated.

Would have booked another night, but the online reservation process wouldn't let me so I figured they were full Friday night, (however when I mentioned that I could only book one night to other guests and staff they seemed surprised that was the case.)

Treetop: Cannot say enough good things about the staff at Treetop. They were friendly, appreciative, helpful and attentive. Since we could not all participate at once we split up the treetop time on two days. The kids loved the zip line and the element challenges. Matt, the excellent guide with our kids, was super with them and had a great personality. Really liked how he interacted with them, supervised them, and taught them well so they could basically handle everything themselves once they experienced several elements. My husband and I completed the adult course the next day and it was challenging and fun. We had never experienced this activity before, so it was interesting to try something new that the whole family could do.

Lodge: Friendly staff start to end. Emailed special room request prior to arrival and it was answered and accommodated in a few hours. The mountain outfitters people I communicated with prior to arrival were helpful in planning our activities. They acted like they really wanted you to come visit, and that they assured me they would work something out to care for our kids while we were "tree-topping" if needed since kiddie camp was closed that week. Front desk/restaurant and bar staff were welcoming and helpful. Restaurant manager made a point to talk to us about our dining experience and service. Loved the grounds, the stone building, the trees. Bar was cozy and inviting. Harvest offered friendly service, a good menu, (best mashed potatoes I've ever tasted, although the kids were not impressed with their pizza fyi,) and the breakfast buffet was fulfilling. The campfire was a good social event to mingle with other guests. Many I talked to had been coming to the MLL for many years. Had a close encounter with a skunk walking back to the room. Luckily for us we were more startled than he!

Room: Stayed in the Chestnut lodge on second floor. Beds were ultra comfy. I prefer firm mattresses and was not disappointed here like I usually am staying away from home. There was plenty of space for four and the bathroom was clean. Had a nice fireplace but did not use it. Loved the back porch/deck to sip wine in the evening and coffee in the morning. A hummingbird buzzed me on the porch in the morning.

The property/experience was exactly what I expected based on my research, reviews, and property description.

Room Tip: We had a corner 2nd floor room in Chestnut Lodge so balcony had side and front views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Roaming Ponies,

Wow! Thank you for your review! We are THRILLED that you and your family made lasting memories here at the new Mountain Lake Lodge! The focus of the lodge is not only to connect you and your family with nature and all of the natural beauty that surrounds Mountain Lake, but also connect you with your family, friends, and loved ones with memories that will last a lifetime!

We do sincerely appreciate you allowing us to be a part of your summer and very much look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,

Heidi Stone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.