We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Married at Mountain Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Married at Mountain Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were married there on Aug. 12, 2000. It was great. We were married in the gazebo and had the reception in the ballroom downstairs. The food was great and the staff was friendly and helpful when I could not find dress socks the day of the wedding. My bride and our 7 and 8 yr old daughters are on our way to mountain lake for the weekend right now. I will always feel a special connection to this place because that where my Lisa became my wife.
Happily married for 13 yrs and dating for 18.
Thank you Mtn lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery B, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Jmdwifi,

Thank you for your kind post - congratulations on 13 years of wedded bliss! I hope you'll find some time this summer to visit us and see the renovations and how the property continues to evolve. We've hosted two weddings so far this summer and both were great successes. Having recently joined the property, I am constantly amazed of the deep connections our guests have to this very special place - thank you for being a part of our history and I do hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Warm regards,

Jeffery Burrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    61
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
58
73
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in the main lodge (beautiful inside and out) for 3 nights, our room lacked AC but the fan kept us very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit poky and there were no pictures on the walls in the room but generally it was very nicely decorated.

We were disappointed on arrival to find that;
-the conservancy centre is not staffed (therefore there are no nature talks or guides, however we were offered the opportunity of borrowing a book on wildlife by the outdoor centre staff)
-the lake is more of a pond at the moment,
-the table tennis tables don't exist yet, nor is the outfitter built or the aerial adventure complete yet (we didn't visit MLL for any of these specifically, but as is was raining and they're advertised as there we were a bit disappointed on our rainy days)
-the restaurant menu is basic and after dining in once I wouldn't go back. The food was simple and not of great quality, although breakfast was fine. A MUCH better restaurant was the Palisades in nearby Eggleston.

However you could still see the cabin where the Houseman's stayed in Dirty Dancing, practice your lifts in the heated pool, relax in the jacuzzi, play giant chess on the lawn, the hikes were great with amazing panoramas (free trail guide from hotel), and there's a real sense of getting away from it all.

Pembroke has a nice cascade, and also great proximity to New River for kayaking.

We plan to return to MLL, but not for 5 years or so to let it settle in and to let the lake re-fill.

Room Tip: I'm glad we stayed in the main lodge - no TV in the room but the view over the lake / pond was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery B, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear V G,

Thank you for your feedback and I was sorry to read of your diappointment with your experience. As the resort recently reopened after some extensiove renovations, some of our offerings were not quite ready when the rest of the property opened - our Outfitters will open on June 28, along with the Mountain Lake Treetop Adventures, our new aerial adventure course. And yes, the lake is in the process of refilling - after all but disappearing several years ago, we recently repaired the lake bottom to prevent drainage and we are hopeful that the lake will be full once again within the next year or so.

It is through feedback such as yours that we push ourselves to get better - your comments on the restaurant menu are an example of how feedback will inspire change. Our chef welcomes guest feedback and on his behalf, thank you for sharing. HARVEST is committed to sourcing local ingredients and preparing them simply and thoughtfully and with each passing day, the menu continues to evolve. I'm glad you enjoyed Palisades - we know the owner and we are very proud to consider a friend of Mountain Lake and a pillar of our community.

I do hope that you'll consider joining us again if your travels bring you to our region - thank you again for the feedback.

Warm regards,

Jeffery Burrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent 2 nights in the lodge. Looked at the hotel website before the trip. Was planning on having dinner there both night. First night we were planning to have a drink and just crab a quick bite (light dinner) at the bar (according to the website they serve food at the bar). But when we get there, we were told they don't serve any food at the bar yet. We were directed to the main dining for food. Going over to Harvest, got a really small menu, not much to choose from (the menu is half the size of the sample menu showing online now). I don't really like what's on the dinner menu. I heard a couple on the table next to us asked the waitress if they can get the lunch menu and she gave it to them. We asked our waiter if there's more option than we were shown, and he said no. I ordered a shrimp pasta off the dinner menu, pasta was overcooked, sauce was a bit bland. Then second night for dinner, we take a look at the menu, the exact same thing. So we end driving down the mountain and eat somewhere else.

Back to the room, it's clean and looked good. There's a whirlpool in our suite, we turned it on, it's leaking. We called front desk, they sent somebody up right away. Took them a while but they got it fixed. Also the whirlpool itself is not exactly the cleanest. And the shower head is half broken. One thing I need to give credit though is the shampoo and lotion there, they do smell really good.

So in general, really nice and friendly people, which is a big asset. But new management need to get their act together. I can tell you I wasn't actually the happiest camper, if it wasn't for all the nice people there, I might have checked out and left early.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery B, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Agnes L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments about your stay, Allow me to first offer a sincere apology that you did not have the experience you had hoped - I've shared your feedback with our team and we're working hard each day to consistently refine our services and processes to deliver the best experiences possible. HARVEST, our new restaurant concept, is committed to serving locally sourced ingredients, prepared in a simple, thoughtful manner. Our Chef welcomes your feedback - and like the rest of our resort, he too is always reviewing guest comments and modifying his menu to exceed our guest's expectations. Finally, thank you for your comment on the friendliness of our staff - I am so proud of the team in place here and see them getting better every day.

I do hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back - it is through feedback such as yours that allows us to get better. Thank you again.

Warm regards,

Jeffery Burrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pembroke hotels

Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a beautiful place, the buildings and the setting. We did have a problem with our room. We reserved a king bed and when they got there the room was already occupied. Then they gave us another room and it had 2 queen beds. We returned and eventually got a room in another building with a king bed. This actually worked out better because there was also a huge fireplace, microwave, fridge, balcony and TV which the rooms at the main lodge do not have. There are a lot of things to do such as hike, bike some trails, lay by the pool, play human size chess, tennis and explore the sites. They have numerous activities planned throughout the day. We went to a bond fire and roasted marshmallows and made s'mores while listening to stories. A very warm and friendly place. Oh, and the movie Dirty Dancing was filmed here. So cool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery B, Owner at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear PT30548,

Thank you so much for your kind review - I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found some time to join us for our first campfire of the season. Our team has been working very hard to re-introduce Mountain Lake to a new generation of guests and new elements for our guests who have been coming for generations. Thank you again for the feedback and I hope you can join us again in the very near future.

Warm regards,

Jeffery Burrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very good experience recently at the lodge. Its in the middle of nowhere but thats what we wanted. No TV's in the room or Air conditioning but there are ceiling fans and they work very well.

Beautiful propertyand lovely older hotel. Not a lot to do unless you hike and.or mountain bike. But this is what we wanted just a couple of days to chill out.

We were there the wekk after memeorail day weekend and there were very few people there, like maybe 5 other rooms so we had the whole place to ourselves.

Food was very very good just sorry there wern't enough people to have the breakfast buffet..... But overall very good food. There are continuing to make improvements to the property and its a beautiful place just out of the way. No way you'd want to come down the mountain once you there so plan of your meals being there.

Overall rooms clean and comforable and would go back with another living social deal or special price....

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor north side and was very quiet and comforable. No elevator but stairs are ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited family in the Virginia and took a drive to Va. Tech such a beautiful campus. Then we went to the Mountain Lake Lodge atop a moutain lies the beautiful resort. It was a shooting location for "Dirty Dancing " my wife's favorite movie. We decided to have lunch at the lodge in the Harvest room. They served meals family style the sides were great loved the corn with spinach and rigatoni with cream sauce . The main entrees we had were pork loin very good and meat loaf that was actually meat balls. I am a meat loaf fan but not this style dried balls should have went with the chicken. Still a very nice lunch. Unfortunately lake dried up due to recent earth quake I hope it is able to come back beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery B, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear JBCJ,

Thank you for the positive write up - we get many visitors who come to enjoy the property for the day and to visit the site where Dirty Dancing was filmed. We are working on a new Dirty Dancing exhibition which we hope to have finished before our first Dirty Daning weekend this July - so I hope you'll bring the family back to enjoy the Dirty Dancing experience even better than in recent years! Your comments on our new Family Dinners in HARVEST were most welcome - we've introduced a new family style service on Sundays as a way to recreate great shared meals from all of our pasts - where families gathered around the dinner table to enjoy great food and company. We've had overall great feedback from this new offering and will continue to grow it in the future - I'll also be sure to share with our Chef your comments on the meatballs - we review guest feedback after every meal and use that feedback to constantly refine our menu - so thank you so much for sharing and I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Jeffery Burrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Mountain Lake Lodge. They have done a wonderful job with the renovations. Our stay was very pleasant despite the rain. The drive up the mountain is beautiful and the lodge grounds are beautiful as well. We ate dinner both nights in the Harvest Restaurant and were not dissapointed. The staff is very friendly and courteous. I defintely recommend this property and will go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery B, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear SharonGreensboro,

Thank you for the kind words - I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay despite the recent rains - all this rain is helping to refill our lake, so we welcome the liquid sunshine here! I was delighted to read your comments on HARVEST, our new signature dining room - I'll be sure to let hte staff know they made a positive impression on you. We've worked very hard to introduce the new Mountain Lake experience to our guests and I'm glad you enjoyed it - I hope you'll be able to visit us again soon, we've got a very active event schedule this summer!

Warm regards,

Jeffery Burrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.