We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Falls

Cascade Falls
Jefferson National Park, Pembroke, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Pembroke
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lower trail was gorgeous but took a long time due to scenic detours and more rugged terrain. Would probably opt for the upper trail next time but all was absolutely beautiful! $3 parking

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radford,VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We took the lower trail to the fallls. It was not nearly as bad as I thought it would be. It was rocky and some steep climbs on rock steps. We took our time and enjoyed the creek just feet away. The trip up took about an hour and 20 minutes. The trip back was about an hour on a much wider smoother path. The falls are well worth the hike. Be sure to care out your garbage, because there are no trash cans. This is a very clean area and should stay that way. There is a $3 fee to park and it is on the honor system. We put our money in the slot and then discovered you need to put it in an envelope and fill out some info. Ooops. The only restroom is at the parking lot, unless you count trees and boulders along the path.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice easy hike. Two different paths to get to the water falls from the parking. Scenery is amazing. Good hiking spot in spring - summer and fall.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, VA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent scenery, but don't start out on the lower trail unless you are in great shape....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The wife and Ihad no problems finding the area, or where to park. Go to Pembroke, Va off US 460 in Giles County. Look for Cascades Dr. . Turn onto it and drive North until you come to the end. There is a $3.00 fee. There are also picnic facilities and restrooms. The trailhead is at the North end of the parking lot. There are two trails. One called Upper and one called Lower. While the lower trail keeps you closer to the water, and may make picture taking easier, it is by FAR, the harder of the two trails to navigate. It reqires good balance, excellent shoes, and a fit body with lots of energy to complete this trail to the falls. We discovered this the hard way. We started hiking around 3:15p and maybe .25 miles beyond the halfway marker had to turn around and start back at 5:50p. We didn't get back to the lot until after 6:00p even switching and coming back on the easier upper trail.
Don't get discouraged, we did enjoyed the nature very much. The area is beautiful. We met several nice folks on the trail and chatted a bit, including finding out there are fishable trout in the waters. We WILL be back to try again and make it to the falls. We would highly recommend that unless you are very fit and agile that you use the upper trail to go there the first time. There is a cross over between trails near the halfway mark, so you can drop down to the cataracts and pools for pictures after making it to the falls.
While there we saw several critters and creatures, a variety of insects, a variety of wild flowers, some water bugs, and just natural beauty. Well worth the effort. We WILL be back again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is an easy and relaxed hike with beautiful nature, water, and scenery! Bring a camera and good shoes. Bring swim wear in summer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cascade Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.