We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Riverbend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at Riverbend to your Saves list
Inn at Riverbend
125 River Ridge Drive, Pearisburg, VA 24134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pearisburg B&B and Inns
Burke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found the Inn at Riverbend to be very peaceful. We stayed in the Palisades room. It was well decorated and had a beautiful view of the river. The inn was very quiet except for the occasional train and frog. I had two nights of very restful sleep. We enjoyed a full breakfast each morning that inluded the sweetest fresh fruit. The days we were there it was very humid so we did not take full advantage of the wrap-around porch. Loved having cold water, cookies and tea available all day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
120
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

DH and I took a trip south. After much driving, walking and general business, we thought this would be a nice, relaxing way end to our trip on the way back north to Maryland. We saw the inn in the Distinctive Registry, read the tripadvisor reviews, and booked the Pallisades room. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Jimm, the innkeeper/owner. He was an engaging, friendly, interesting, and informative man, who showed us around the inn, let us in on the particulars, and wowed us with the breathtaking views from the back deck. I don't think he ever gets tired of seeing the look on his guest's faces when they see the view. Amazing. If a picture is worth a thousand words, the view from the back of the property was immeasurable. The photos of the inn were beautiful, but one must enjoy this place in person to be able to appreciate it! The inn was EXCEEDINGLY clean, laid out beautifully for privacy, comfort, and maximum exposure to the river view below. Jimm recommended The Bank for dinner that evening, which was a short trip into town. Was very good! We met the owner, chef and the our waitress who was also the chef's lady friend. They were so friendly and engaging! We had an exceptional meal, and great company. In the mornings, Janet, Jimm's wife, will astound with the most amazing breakfasts, only enhanced by the glorious view. One will leave the table more than satisfied with the delectable meals that she creates. For a real treat, her famous 'cowboy cookies' should not be missed. Jimm is more than happy to offer ideas for an optimal drive around the mountains, or information on taking advantage of the outdoor activities that include fly-fishing, rafting, hiking and the like. Turns out, it was also a recon mission for my DH and his fishing buddies. We will happily return for get away weekends, as it is only a few hours drive from home. Thanks Jimm and Janet, for a most beautiful, relaxing, and delicious last leg of our southern vacation.

Room Tip: ANY room will give you the maximum views of the gorgeous area, and rooms are decorated beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Inn at Riverbend has a wrap around porch overlooking the New River. It was just beautiful!!
Jimm and Janet were such gracious innkeepers and presented us with a delicious breakfast both mornings we were lucky enough to stay there. We definitely will be returning when life gets to hectic!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Angel's Rest" which we loved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wonderful stay and terrific hosts with a view that is heaven on earth! Breakfast was perfect with the best of fresh ingredients. Even with gluten free request all was so yummy that I didn't feel in any way deprived. This is the very best of the B and B's that we have tried. The town is tiny but it has 2 great fine dining restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I were looking to get away and this place proved to be the perfect fit. I had reviewed this B&B online and saw the great location but, when we actually got there, it was even better than I thought. The staff was incredible; friendly and courteous. The room we stayed in had a fantastic view of the New River. Breakfast in the morning was great and very well prepared. It had been several years since we stayed at a B&B and The Inn at Riverbend definitely raised the bar. Oh and I suggest you make the 20 minute drive to eat at the Palisades Cafe. It was a very good restaurant in a place where you would never expect to find it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesr Lafayette, IN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You sometimes read a lot of reviews and wonder "can it really be that nice?" Well, the Inn at Riverbend is as nice and relaxing as everyone says it is. It is not as far off the beaten path or as difficult to find as I had originally imagined. In fact, it is quite easy to get to. We found Jimm and Janet to be cordial and friendly. Their communication efforts are to be commended. They sent emails with lots of useful information to help plan your trip and are quick to make reservations and respond. The Inn itself is warm and inviting with very nice common areas including the balcony with the wonderful view. The room was comfortable and very well kept. Not over cluttered with "stuff". The food was wonderful. My wife and I both thought the Brie and Veggie Strata to be one of the best breakfast casseroles we have had. Serving sizes are very generous and filling. We would love to return one day. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We found out about the Inn through their deal on Living Social and couldn't believe our good fortune- I haven't stopped gushing about the place since we left! We made it to the Inn despite a snowstorm, and felt so very welcome thanks to Jimm and Janet's fantastic hospitality. Delicious homemade cookies, ever-ready coffee and tea, and luxuriously appointed rooms (we even purchased a set of their super-soft sheets for home!) helped us settle in quickly. Thanks to a snow-related cancellation, Jimm offered us a free upgrade to a larger room.

The snowy mountain views from our room were stunning and Janet's breakfast was DELICIOUS! I serendipitously bumped into an old friend from college during our stay and we enjoyed catching up over the elegant breakfast fare served in a gracious, relaxing environment. Jimm was able to recommend several options for adventuring around the Pearisburg/Giles County area as well as excellent dining options. We especially enjoyed The Bank in downtown Pearisburg for dinner.

I can't say enough fabulous things about our experience and our hosts- I accidentally left behind a sweatshirt in our room, and Jimm and Janet were kind enough to mail it home to me, without delay and free of charge. I am so grateful for their kindness and attention to detail!

Book a visit to the Inn today. You won't be disappointed! We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Riverbend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Riverbend

Address: 125 River Ridge Drive, Pearisburg, VA 24134
Location: United States > Virginia > Pearisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pearisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of abundant outdoor activity and overlooking the mountains and New River, this seven room bed and breakfast offers a peaceful getaway just off HWY 460, 25 minutes west of Blacksburg. All rooms have private baths, satellite TV, robes, wireless internet and open to the decks and terraces. From refreshments on arrival to a full hot breakfast, the inn is perfect for romantic getaways, small gatherings, weddings, family reunions, retreats and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Otel so you can book your Inn at Riverbend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Riverbend Hotel Pearisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Riverbend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.