We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Riverbend

Save Saved
You added Inn at Riverbend to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Riverbend
125 River Ridge Drive, Pearisburg, VA 24134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pearisburg B&B and Inns
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I were looking to get away and this place proved to be the perfect fit. I had reviewed this B&B online and saw the great location but, when we actually got there, it was even better than I thought. The staff was incredible; friendly and courteous. The room we stayed in had a fantastic view of the New River. Breakfast in the morning was great and very well prepared. It had been several years since we stayed at a B&B and The Inn at Riverbend definitely raised the bar. Oh and I suggest you make the 20 minute drive to eat at the Palisades Cafe. It was a very good restaurant in a place where you would never expect to find it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
113
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wesr Lafayette, IN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You sometimes read a lot of reviews and wonder "can it really be that nice?" Well, the Inn at Riverbend is as nice and relaxing as everyone says it is. It is not as far off the beaten path or as difficult to find as I had originally imagined. In fact, it is quite easy to get to. We found Jimm and Janet to be cordial and friendly. Their communication efforts are to be commended. They sent emails with lots of useful information to help plan your trip and are quick to make reservations and respond. The Inn itself is warm and inviting with very nice common areas including the balcony with the wonderful view. The room was comfortable and very well kept. Not over cluttered with "stuff". The food was wonderful. My wife and I both thought the Brie and Veggie Strata to be one of the best breakfast casseroles we have had. Serving sizes are very generous and filling. We would love to return one day. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We found out about the Inn through their deal on Living Social and couldn't believe our good fortune- I haven't stopped gushing about the place since we left! We made it to the Inn despite a snowstorm, and felt so very welcome thanks to Jimm and Janet's fantastic hospitality. Delicious homemade cookies, ever-ready coffee and tea, and luxuriously appointed rooms (we even purchased a set of their super-soft sheets for home!) helped us settle in quickly. Thanks to a snow-related cancellation, Jimm offered us a free upgrade to a larger room.

The snowy mountain views from our room were stunning and Janet's breakfast was DELICIOUS! I serendipitously bumped into an old friend from college during our stay and we enjoyed catching up over the elegant breakfast fare served in a gracious, relaxing environment. Jimm was able to recommend several options for adventuring around the Pearisburg/Giles County area as well as excellent dining options. We especially enjoyed The Bank in downtown Pearisburg for dinner.

I can't say enough fabulous things about our experience and our hosts- I accidentally left behind a sweatshirt in our room, and Jimm and Janet were kind enough to mail it home to me, without delay and free of charge. I am so grateful for their kindness and attention to detail!

Book a visit to the Inn today. You won't be disappointed! We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Let me preface by saying that my wife and I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. Looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of DC, we booked a stay at the Inn at Riverbend to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary.

Things We Loved:
1. Janet and Jimm (with two m's)
They were amazing hosts. From the spectacular breakfasts, homemade cookies, and even the gift to help celebrate our special day, the hospitality was amazing. They were extremely accommodating and were genuinely concerned with making everyone's stay special.

2. Amazing views.
Each room overlooks the valley and river. Typically, when we go on vacation, we generally like to relax with no real schedule of planned events. Sitting outside on their wrap-around deck, drinking some hard apple cider while overlooking the valley was just about as relaxing as it could get.

3. The Other People
We had a great time chatting it up with some of the other guests staying at the Inn as well. Everyone was really nice.

Things We Disliked:
1. Nothing
Wished we could have stayed longer.

We will definitely be returning to the Inn at Riverbend, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking to get away to a relaxing slice of paradise.

Random note: Go to the New River Grill (one of Jimm's many excellent recommendations) and get the Blackberry Cobbler! We had it nearly everyday we were there.

Room Tip: All of them are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

You will feel relaxed the moment you step foot in the Inn at Riverbend. Our room "Little Stony" had a spectacular view of the New River Basin. The owners, Jimm and Janet, are very friendly. The food is top notch; make sure to grab a cowboy cookie!

Room Tip: "Little Stony" is a room on the corner of the inn with a spectacular view of the New River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

An absolutely lovely b&b with incredible views. Chocolate covered strawberries and a small bottle of champagne awaited us for our anniversary. The interior of the house is very attractive and comfortable. The wraparound deck has stunning views and is wonderful for relaxing and enjoying the quiet. A waterfall into a small pond and lots of birds add to the ambience. The room and bathroom were above expectations. The food was excellent!!! We hope to come back in the fall to see the beautiful view.
Thank you Janet and Jimm!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I found the perfect get away for my husband's 50 birthday!!! The Inn at Riverbend is beautiful and Jimm & Janet are the perfect host! A bottle of champayne was in our room when we got there to celebrate. Our room overlooked the New River and the view of the mountains was spectacular! The sheets were the softest sheets I've ever slept on that it was hard to leave but we had big plans every day. Janet is the best cook you will find anywhere- I am still dreaming of the banana foster french toast we had the first day! We rented mountain bikes at The Junction and rode The New River Trail which was beautiful- through woods and bridges over looking the river. The next day we went kayaking 10 miles down the river and hiked Cascade Falls. We ate at The Palisades and The Bank for dinner, which were both excellent. I would highly recommend The Inn at Riverbend and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Riverbend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Riverbend

Address: 125 River Ridge Drive, Pearisburg, VA 24134
Location: United States > Virginia > Pearisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pearisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of abundant outdoor activity and overlooking the mountains and New River, this seven room bed and breakfast offers a peaceful getaway just off HWY 460, 25 minutes west of Blacksburg. All rooms have private baths, satellite TV, robes, wireless internet and open to the decks and terraces. From refreshments on arrival to a full hot breakfast, the inn is perfect for romantic getaways, small gatherings, weddings, family reunions, retreats and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Inn at Riverbend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Riverbend Hotel Pearisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Riverbend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.