We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only wish would could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Riverbend

Save Saved
You added Inn at Riverbend to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Riverbend
125 River Ridge Drive, Pearisburg, VA 24134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pearisburg B&B and Inns
Land of the Pharoah's
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Only wish would could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

And by 'stayed longer,' I mean I wish we could have moved in forever. My wife and I stayed two nights here in mid-October 2012. The Inn is situated on a hillside with the back decks (two levels that wrap around) facing southeast. The view from either deck is absolutely fantastic for viewing the fall colors in southwestern Virginia. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door and promptly ushered on a tour of the Inn. It is obvious from the minute you pull into the drive that the proprietors take great care and painstaking attention to detail of the Inn - both exterior and interior. They really go out of their way to ensure that you're comfortable throughout your stay. The room was equally well appointed and comfortable. It is on the lower eastern-most corner of the Inn and was ideal for sunrise photos without much effort. The breakfasts were excellent - caramel and banana french toast with bacon on the first morning and spinach and cheese strata with country sausage on the second. Each breakfast included a first course of berries and cream or fruit and yogurt, each with a fresh bread. Another couple who had been there for an entire week remarked that each day breakfast had been a different offering and all were delicious. The owners are regional subject matter experts and have an extensive library on the local area. If you don't already have an idea of what to do with your days then do inquire with one of them. All in all it was a great stay and, not being a frequent B&B person, I'm probably going to judge any other B&B against the Inn at Riverbend, and that is going to be hard to compete with.

Room Tip: We stayed in Little Stony, which is on the eastern corner of the lower level and is ideal for sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
110
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first return visit since Jimm and Janet became the new innkeepers. Jimm knew that my husband had some mobility issues and upon arrival, he graciously gave us an upgrade from the lower level room to the Wind Rocks room. This was a $15.00 gift and he was available to help us with our luggage. The rooms are just as clean and the views are just spectacular. We love the trains at night and even though we had rain, fog, and cool weather, you could enjoy everything about this retreat except the wonderful outdoor deck. We had dinner at the inn. The food was good, however, a bit pricey. We were seated at a separate table from the other guests even though there was room for us. We spent the evening trying to visit with guests that had their backs to us. One couple actually lived on our street several years ago and wanted to visit. Breakfast was on the sweet side. We met a wonderful couple at breakfast that had been missionaries and enjoyed their company. Jimm and Janet have a wonderful retreat and we wish them and their cute and well behaved puppies all the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatRiverbend, Owner at Inn at Riverbend, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your return visit to Inn at Riverbend, and thank you for visiting us again. Most people enjoy the social interaction at breakfast however we find that many of our guests prefer a little more intimate dining for our Monday night dinners, and we try to utilize both dining tables to maximize the view of the river and appalchian mountains. Had we known your preference we would have been happy to reseat you so that you could converser more comfortably with the other two guests.

For breakfast we try to alternate between sweet and savory dishes to give guests a variety, however we are always happy to accomodate dietary restrictions and preferences. We would be happy to accomodate your dietary preferences on a future stay.

The evenings are getting a little cooler, and the leaves are definitely turning, but not quite yet at their peak. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit.

Janet & Jimm Burton
Innkeepers/Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at Inn at Riverbend, and I want to go back already. So beautiful and peaceful and the hosts made it so easy to be there. I was traveling solo and was a little apprehensive about it, but needn't have been. It was the vacation I needed, where I felt pampered and special. Honestly, I could sit on the deck and look at that view for hours at a time. And their dogs are darling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimm B, Owner at Inn at Riverbend, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Claudia, Thanks for your visit! Now that you mentioned the dogs being darling, they have become insufferable. Every time we let them know that a guest has arrived - they say "We are too darling to go visit with them".

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you here. Have a great fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed for two days at the Inn, enjoying the highest of quality in terms of the facility, breathtaking views, delicious breakfasts, caring hospitality by Janet and Jimm, and their recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimm B, Owner at Inn at Riverbend, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for coming to visit the New River Valley of Virginia. It is a beautiful sight to see it meander through the surrounding Appalachian Mountains, especially while eating breakfast with the sun rising over the mountains. We are happy that you liked our restaurant recommendations. We feel pretty lucky to have such choices in a relatively remote area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stopped at the Inn at Riverbend on the return trip from taking our youngest to college and it was a perfect retreat. It doesn't get better than sitting on that deck: at night under stars, in the morning with coffee or in the afternoon with tea and a book. Oh, and at sunset too.

Owners are great - cook a delicious breakfast. And they are very knowledgeable about the area and have lots of information to explore. Lots of hiking available, which was what we were most interested in.

Room Tip: There's not a bad one upstairs or down - all have fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Inn at Riverbend and wish I'd booked for 2 nights more. Something tells me that, no matter how long I stayed, I would leave wanting to stay longer. The views from the guest rooms are spectacular, and the mist over the river and the ridges made for a great photo op in the early morning. Jimm and Janet are warm, wonderful, welcoming hosts who made me feel that I was a visitor in their home, not just a guest at their inn. They made sure I had everything I needed without hovering. The food was delicious and plentiful (but any more of Janet's cowboy cookies and I would have had to walk home)! And the Comphy sheets were amazing! My only question is: how soon can I return?

Room Tip: "Sugar Run" room is lovely! All the rooms have great views. with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimm B, Owner at Inn at Riverbend, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your time in giving us such a wonderful review. We appreciate that you came and visited with us for a few nights and were able to enjoy the vistas of the Appalachian Mountains and the New River from the comfort of our decks. We appreciate even more that you like Janet's cookies! Comphy sheets certainly are the way to go!! Return any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Everything about this Inn is outstanding. The view from the balcony is breathtaking, so we abandoned our plans to hike in the mountains and just spent our time chilling out with the view in the background. The rooms are very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. The Inn is very tastefully decorated and obviously a lot of thought has gone into those small details that can make such a difference. The breakfasts were delicious, and we had a fantastic dinner one evening at the Inn. The hosts, Jimm and Janet, could not have been more welcoming or helpful. In particular they went to great lengths to satisfy my particular dietary requirements. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer! Many thanks to Jimm and Janet for helping to make our stay in Virginia so memorable. Just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Riverbend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Riverbend

Address: 125 River Ridge Drive, Pearisburg, VA 24134
Location: United States > Virginia > Pearisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pearisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of abundant outdoor activity and overlooking the mountains and New River, this seven room bed and breakfast offers a peaceful getaway just off HWY 460, 25 minutes west of Blacksburg. All rooms have private baths, satellite TV, robes, wireless internet and open to the decks and terraces. From refreshments on arrival to a full hot breakfast, the inn is perfect for romantic getaways, small gatherings, weddings, family reunions, retreats and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Inn at Riverbend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Riverbend Hotel Pearisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Riverbend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.