We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely AWESOME !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pearisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat
Save
You added Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
3696 Sugar Run Rd, Pearisburg, VA 24134   |  
Hotel amenities
Luling, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely AWESOME !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I found Woods Hole on Trip Advisor while planning a trip to Blacksburg, Va. I found Woods Hole appealing because of its location and especially it's history. I stayed for two nights and met some great people!!

Neville and Michael are, without a doubt, the most hospitable people you could want. They are both very sincere honest people who bring a "hippie" sort of atmosphere to a great establishment! Michael and Neville are developing an establishment that could easily become "off the grid" and self sufficient !! Neville and Michael put their hearts into this establishment and IT SHOWS !
Woods Hole is a working farm complete with gardens, cows, pigs and of course chickens. It has a bunk house for Appalachian Trail hikers. The bunk house was originally a place for Neville's grandfather to park his car. Michael and Neville have done an amazing job converting it to a warm dry place to socialize and rest...
If you like the "off the beaten path" kind of place, this place is for you !!
I will return...

Room Tip: There are 2 private rooms and a bunk house for the AT hikers... It's an awesome experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
3
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great home-cooked meals (dinner & breakfast).

I slept in the bunk house. It's a bunk house, you're sleeping on the floor and its draughty.

Don't expect the Hyatt for the price you are paying (35$ for bead dinner & breakfast).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I came back to Woods Hole having been there before. I had hiked through here last year and was surprised and uplifted by my stay. A more recent trip brought me back for the express purpose of revisiting this wonderful place. Neville and Michael pour their hearts into this place. Everything is an extension of them: the homey feel, well tended gardens, the sense of calm and positive energy flowing through the valley. Neville and Michael welcomed us into their home, fed us food from their garden, meat that they slaughtered, veggies and oils they canned, coffee they roasted. The cost for the entire weekend was less than just a hotel would have cost and that included food, lodging, a couples massage (they are both trained), and most importantly camaraderie! Neville asking for (but not demanding) help in the kitchen was a great part of the experience, the best way to get to know people is being in a communal setting. Chatting while slicing up some salad we're all about to share added so much to it. I could easily go to Burger King and spend $13 (a piece!) and only get a stomach ache and some regret, or I could spend that and form a friendship and maybe even learn a little bit... Woods Hole is the experience, not just the stay. I can't wait for the excuse to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My son and I were hiking over the weekend and I miscalculated the time it would takes us to get from our drop off point to our pick up point. We ran across the Woods Hole Hostel and met the owners. They were really great and accommodating. We got a quick tour of the place and immediately decided we would back to stay in the future. The place is way out there but it is very peaceful and quiet. The owners are working hard and are close to being self sustainable and off the grid. Sounds like a perfect getaway weekend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towaco, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I hiked the Damascus to Pearisburg section of the Appalachian Trail in July 2011. Of all the places I have stayed over the course of 12 years of section hiking (1700+ miles), Woods Hole rates as one of the best. It's close to the Trail (about 1/2 mile), and the folks running the place are among the most friendly. I came off the Trail on the tail end of a steady rain and had the general appearance of drowned rat when I arrived. Nobody cared. The common room in the bunk house had a fridge filled with drinks and goodies available for very low prices. A substantial dinner and breakfast were provided at minimal additional cost, and everyone -- guests and hosts -- worked together to make the meals happen. I felt more like part of an extended family than a customer. Even if you're planning a major stop in Pearisburg (about 12 miles up the Trail) for laundry and resupply, this place is worth stopping at. A beautiful experience that I someday hope to repeat! (Actual date of travel, July 2011).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Woods Hole is more than just a place to stay, it's a uniquely splendid experience. The owners have managed to create an environment that seamlessly mixes traditional Appalachian practices (i.e., homegrown food, brick oven bread, etc..) with modern creature comforts (spa, massages, sauna, yoga, etc). Meals are shared in the cozy 19th Century home with all the guests, including the AT thru-hikers, which makes for truly interesting conversation. If you are looking for a cookie cutter HolidayInn-style place to rest your head, this is not the place, but if you are looking for a trip to a different dimension, one of peace, love and happiness, you're going to have to go a bit out of your way. The unpaved road to get there is a lot easier than time travelling to the 70's or the 1800's, but it is off the beaten path. As Beverly Sills once said, "Any place worth going is hard to get to." (or something like that)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I led a group of 9 backpackers for several days on the Appalachian Trail. We made reservations and stayed at Woods Hole Hostel along the way and LOVED it. Though other groups were there, we were welcomed and invited in personally and made to feel right at home, even helping prepare the meals. This historic, rustic, relaxing place is nestled in a mountain cove and offers many amenities for tired hikers. Snacks were handy and plentiful, Mealtimes were marvelous. The bunk house was perfect. Shuttling to town and trailheads was available if we wanted. Views of the sunrise could be on any magazine cover. We hated to leave Woods Hole and I'd go right back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat

Address: 3696 Sugar Run Rd, Pearisburg, VA 24134
Location: United States > Virginia > Pearisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pearisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods Hole is an 1880's chestnut log cabin with adjacent log bunkhouse in the Southwest corner of Virginia. Established in 1986, the hostel offers two private rooms, rustic bunkhouse, massage therapy, yoga, and family style meals. Woods Hole is located 1/2 mile off the Appalachian Trail and 45 minutes from I77 or I81. Find your way back to nature with Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.