We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hosts and a terrific experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pearisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat
Save
You added Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
3696 Sugar Run Rd, Pearisburg, VA 24134   |  
Hotel amenities
Hinton, West Virginia
1 review
“Superb hosts and a terrific experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We visited Woods Hole Hostel last year and found it to be a wonderful experience. The massage was very professional and relaxing. The late lunch we enjoyed was pleasantly simple and very tasty.

Michael and Neville provided a great atmosphere of rustic elegance with truly wonderful conversation.

I would (and do!) recommend Woods Hole Hostel to anyone going that way!

~Mark & Erin

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
3
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with 6 other hikers on our AT thru hike. We all had a pretty miserable experience; we all also stayed in the bunk house. Nothing was explained, no wifi (even though it's advertised in the guide), drafty & cold sleeping area. I hit my head atleast a dozen times on the poorly designed bunk house. The chickens woke us up early in the mining and the privy was nasty to say the least. Even though we paid to stay there we were presented with a "chore jar" in the morning. It ended up being a shelter with electricity .5 off the trail that we had to pay to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Be prepared when making the drive up Sugar Run Road to get to Wood's Hole. At times you feel like you are driving along some farmer's lane as you avoid washouts and large rocks (low clearance vehicles are not recommended). But once you see the hostel on the left, you have reached a little slice of heaven where the body and soul can truly relax.

I had won a night's stay as an auction item from the Buckeye Trail Association. Living in Ohio I wanted to spend two nights to make the drive worhtwhile, and I am so glad I did. I was able to convince the better half that this would be a nice getaway for us, and indeed it was! We enjoyed the quiet location, the closeness to the Appalachian Trail (make the hike from the hostel to Pearisburg along the AT, it's a great little hike), the food, the room, and the company. Neville and Michael run a great operation, and Neville especially gets everyone involved in the kitchen and around the dining room table. The meals were tasty, mostly homegrown, and filling. Our room was clean, quaint, and quiet. The dogs became our friends, and the couples massage was perfect. We are already planning another trip to Wood's Hole!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while hiking the Appalachian Trail. Neville & Michael were tremendous hosts, the place was spotless (stayed in the main house, not the bunk house) and the meals were excellent. Really a great place to stop, and you have to try the smoothies!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ideal place for thru hikers on the Appalachian Trail- the hostel bunk house was clean: showers, laundry, very good breakfast, some supplies. We stayed in one of the 2 in house b n b rooms. Very nice room: country decor. shared bath + sink in room. This is a fine place to relax in the Virginia Mountains. The view from the porch is quite picturesque. Pigs, goats, chickens, cats, dogs, herb & vegetable gardens in close proximity. Walk/hike on grounds or on surrounding trails. The hosts are very community oriented, quite helpful and very clear in what they are providing. We really enjoyed our 3 nights here, feel very comfortable recommending it, but this is not the place for everyone. Please see their website and contact them if you have questions. http://www.woodsholehostel.com/

Room Tip: The hostel is for backpackers; It is not like a tourist hostel. The b n b rooms are in different b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Quiet, comfortable hostel off Appalachian Trail. Otherwise, an overnight stay is not intended for convenience but for atmosphere and hospitality. My friend and I stayed in the cabin, which is more like a bed and breakfast for simple folk or trail travelers. The proprietors were accomodating and provided a shuttle for us to day hike. Their company was pleasant and considerate. Neville and Michael offer massages and a sauna. We completely enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat

Address: 3696 Sugar Run Rd, Pearisburg, VA 24134
Location: United States > Virginia > Pearisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pearisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods Hole is an 1880's chestnut log cabin with adjacent log bunkhouse in the Southwest corner of Virginia. Established in 1986, the hostel offers two private rooms, rustic bunkhouse, massage therapy, yoga, and family style meals. Woods Hole is located 1/2 mile off the Appalachian Trail and 45 minutes from I77 or I81. Find your way back to nature with Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.