We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Bring Out of Town Guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bank Food and Drink

The Bank Food and Drink
101 North Main Street, Pearisburg, VA 24134
+1 540-921-2981
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Pearisburg
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Description: Housed in a century-old bank building on Pearisburg's historic Main Street, The Bank Food and Drink serves seasonal American fare, combining classic ingredients with refined presentation and nostalgic influences. Whether dining in one of our unique private rooms or enjoying a more social evening in the restaurant, guests will savor craft beers, regional wines, and signature cocktails alongside cuisine showcasing the best the New River Valley and Giles County have to offer. Locals and visitors alike can enjoy a complete dinner experience, with fresh baked bread and house made desserts.
Pearisburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Bring Out of Town Guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I almost always bring my out of town guest to The Bank. It has really good food and a unique location.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great idea, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

In historic downtown Pearisburg in the old bank. What a great idea. Very warm greeting, lovely chatty waitress.Good american food. A really enjoyable night out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Find in Pearisburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I dined at The Bank this evening, based upon the recommendation of the owners of the B&B where we are staying. We were warmly greeted by the hostess, who was genuine and down-to-earth. A generous pour for the drinks and excellent house-made focaccia were a pleasant start to our meal. I had an arugula salad with blueberries, avocado and a jalapeño vinaigrette, and pan-seared red snapper with roasted cauliflower, cremini mushrooms and a roasted vidalia onion purée. My husband started with roasted corn hush puppies with a watermelon chipotle remoulade and then had a bone-in frenched pork chop with a roasted vegetable and potato hash. We split a chocolate fudge cake with homemade raspberry jam filling. Had to bring an order of their specialty popcorn back to the room for later: black truffle and Parmesan. Very pleased with our dinner choice. Quite a find in this little town!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“just average :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we went there recently for a birthday dinner.i had heard some good things about the place.the place is a cool old bank building.the service was very good but the food was just ok.had the fried green tomatoes as an appitizer.they were deep fried with some whipped goat cheese,i didnt like them at all.we were served bread that tasted like it was leftover & just warmed up,it didnt taste good either.we had the ribeye with asparagas & strawberries,the steak was fried on a pan or something & not grilled.the flavor combination didnt really work on this dish.we also had the lambchops with blakberries,it was just ok and was fried as well.we took home some bread pudding, the pice was about 2" x 2" and cost 7.00,our bill for dinner, 2 cocktails and tip was about 120.00.i think it was way overpriced,i can not recomend this place.the outback steakhouse would have been much better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Owner at The Bank Food and Drink, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Mark,
We appreciate your comments and your recent visit and regret that you didn't enjoy your entire meal. Your comments to the server were positive so your review was a little surprising.

Just a few necessary clarifications-we do not pan fry our steaks or lamb chops! Steaks are cooked with a direct flame. We also are not a take out restaurant so we do understand why you might have been disappointed with your dessert. Eating it with the sorghum mousse and other additions would have made it enjoyable.

We hope you'll try us again in the future. Again, thank you for visiting and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Imaginative Food, Great Service, Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This friendly, upscale local restaurant was recommended by others at our BnB and was a great choice! The good experience began with our hostess, who greeted us like she was hoping we'd come there, and then our server who was friendly and attentive. Because the hostess learned we were new to the area, she later brought local tourism info right to our table. I had a pleasant surprise with their selection of "mocktails" (I can't drink alcohol), so had a delicious one with fruit juice, ginger ale and grenadine to toast our Virginia experience with my husband's imaginative real cocktail. For dinner he had the pork chop with potato veggie hash, which he took a chance on because the hash included carrots (he doesn't like them). But because a good chef knows how to blend flavors, my husband ate everything on the plate! The only negative - my dish had roasted fennel bulbs. Now, I like both roasted veggies and the taste of fennel, BUT the roasted fennel bulbs were extremely dry, hard to cut through, and simply not good. My duck entre, however, was done just right, moist and flavorful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bank Food and Drink also viewed

 

Been to The Bank Food and Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bank Food and Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.