We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality and reasonably priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bank Food and Drink - CLOSED

The Bank Food and Drink
101 North Main Street, Pearisburg, VA 24134
+1 540-921-2981
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Housed in a century-old bank building on Pearisburg's historic Main Street, The Bank Food and Drink serves seasonal American fare, combining classic ingredients with refined presentation and nostalgic influences. Whether dining in one of our unique private rooms or enjoying a more social evening in the restaurant, guests will savor craft beers, regional wines, and signature cocktails alongside cuisine showcasing the best the New River Valley and Giles County have to offer. Locals and visitors alike can enjoy a complete dinner experience, with fresh baked bread and house made desserts.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“High quality and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Creative cuisine, friendly and helpful waiters, reasonably priced, and with visits to our table by the owners and the chef to check on our dining experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendlady, Owner at The Bank Food and Drink, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your meal, the ambiance and your service. We hope you will visit often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My fiance and I's experience at The Bank Food and Drink was great. The atmosphere, food and service were fantastic. It was nice to have a meal for once not at a chain restaurant. If you are going to go, expect to spend a little money, but it is well worth it. We will definitely be back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendlady, Owner at The Bank Food and Drink, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Glad that you and your fiancee enjoyed your night out at a locally owned restaurant, rather than a chain. We hope you'll return when you can. Thanks so much for adding your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Disappointing for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had high expectations and was prepared to love this place. We had heard great reviews and were out for a night of celebration. However, our experience left us VERY disappointed! The highs included the cocktails and the appetizer. However, the main entree and the dessert were sub-par for the price. I ordered the lamb dish (now off the menu). It was combined with sauteed spinach that was dripping with olive oil and a potato dish that was tasteless. The lamb was not cooked with the correct technique. The other entree we ordered was the duck, which was cooked correctly and was enjoyed by my partner. However, the pairing with lentils is a bit odd and also very cheap. The dessert we ordered was a peanut butter raspberry cheesecake and was hugely disappointing. Again, the flavors were a bit odd together and my partner described it as a hint of peanut butter with an overwhelming taste of plastic. In addition, we were seated in a small room with several other tables where we heard every single word anyone else spoke and any sort of private conversation between two people was not possible. For the price of this place, I was very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendlady, Owner at The Bank Food and Drink, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
So sorry that your experience didn't meet your expectations. Our historic building doesn't allow us to change the configuration of the rooms and our guests seem to enjoy the ability to sit in a room with fewer people than the typical restaurant that is open from end to end. Glad you enjoyed the duck entree and while the duck is prepared to a temp that shows a pink interior, unlike chicken, it is not undercooked. Our menu changes often so we hope you'll consider another visit. You can view the menu on our website to see the current offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Someone wrote that The Bank was a Diamond in the Rough...they were right on! From the moment Rachael seated us, through sampling wine to see what we wanted, being served our meal to the chef coming out to ask how our meal was, this was definately a wonderful experience! Southern hospitality with a blend of BIG city dining in a cozy atmosphere within a 106 year old building (a former Bank). It is worth the trip if you are within an hours drive to Pearisburg. It is 30 minutes from Pulaski, and if you have not driven North on Route 100, that in itself, is worth the trip. First Red Light (may be the only one) in Pearisburg, turn left, restaurant is on your right...park in the back. If you want to impress someone with fine dining, this is it! Definately a step in the right direction. Marilou and Bill Sanders, Pulaski, VA.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Visited for the first time. The food and atmosphere were awesome. Private dining rooms for your party, chef visited the table after the meal, service was top notch.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bank Food and Drink also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bank Food and Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.