We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely magical, amazing food and great room...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashby Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant
Save Saved
You added The Ashby Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
692 Federal Street, Paris, VA 20130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Weekday Stay
Ranked #1 of 1 Paris B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Completely magical, amazing food and great room...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The inn had been recommended by a friend who had stayed there once a year for many years as an annual anniversary treat. I can see why.

The food is amazing, served in a gorgeous garden patio. Superb, discreet service, wonderful suggestions and wine pairings.

We chose the Lafayette room for its view and quiet location away from the main house, which is pretty quiet itself.

Will definitely return.

C

Room Tip: The Lafayette room has an amazing view over rolling hills and the garden of inn, which was full of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
66
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was looking for a place with an intent to leave behind the stresses of work, politics, international upheaval and my kids. The Ashby Inn is the place to go. Rooms are comfortable, some without tv, though internet is available. We chose no phone, no tv, no internet. What a delight! The cuisine is beyond good. Just excellent. The drinks, the wine, the atmosphere is sublime. Service worthy of more than a 20 percent tip. The breakfasts, included, were excellent. Do this place!

Room Tip: Try the school house rooms/suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very good food, excellent service, pretty inn. The only thing we need to say is that the tables are too close together. Some soft music might help so we don't have to listen to other conversations and vice versa...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outside of Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our family recently celebrated a wonderful family brunch on the patio at the Ashby Inn. The food was out of this world! Everyone enjoyed their meals, which were unique, fresh, and delicious. The wine selection was enjoyable. And the service was impeccable. We truly appreciated the hospitality and fine meal presented by the Inn. It was a warm, sunny day on the patio and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Having read the many excellent reviews I was not prepared for the reality of our stay. First, the room was wonderful, the view fantastic and the bed comfortable. There was no wifi, and I had some things to check on. I called the front desk but at 4:45 they had left. I left a message. Then I called a second number, the Innkeeper. Again I left a message and no response. We finally had a wonderful dinner down the road at the Wolftone Pub and they let us use their wifi. I never did get a return call. At breakfast the next morning the food was interesting and creative but basically un edible. The fresh squeezed juice was good as was the coffee. But eggs Benedict with some tasteless sauce and slices of sausage that tasted like goat, were left on the plate along with the burned potatoes. My wife had some pancakes that were covered with eggs and couldn't eat them either. Maybe it was going on Monday, but I can't recommend this Inn

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent 2 nights April 5 and 6 , 2013. Second visit to the Ashby Inn, both times stayed in Adams Room, in the Old School House section, about 50 yards from the main Inn building. Originally planned to hike in on the section of the Appalachian Trail , which crosses Route 50 about 1 mile west of the Inn.

During the month of April , restaurant and kitchen closed for renovations. Offered instead was a breakfast picnic hamper delivered to the room. However, car needed for travel to restaurants for other meals. We really wanted to stay at the Ashby Inn and changed plans; drove instead and did day hikes , using the Inn as a base.

The Breakfast hampers proved to be one of the real highlights of this visit. Muesli, yoghurt, fruit and pastries, provided a most substantial continental breakfast. This was enjoyed in the very comfortable large arm chairs, while sitting around the fire ( Cold spell this April) and enjoying the great view of the surrounding farms and hills of the Sky Meadows State Park. This really enhanced the cozy, comfortable and relaxing ambience.

I am recommending and hoping that the Inn will continue to provide Breakfast hampers as an option, with perhaps a surcharge, once the restaurant renovations are complete.

In our opinion, the 4 suites in the Old School House section are the gems of the Inn. Large rooms with large windows, great view, extremely comfortable bed, good quality bed linens, large comfortable arm chairs around the working fireplace, refrigerator and coffee maker. Large bathroom with bath and shower. Central airconditioning excellent. Quiet, no road noise; very few cars in the tiny village of Paris VA.

Staff, from Innkeepers to housekeepers, all extremely hospitable, friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make one's stay more comfortable.

Overall impression formed both visits: extremely well run establishment.

Room Tip: The 4 rooms in the Old School House Section are large, quiet and each has an excellent view. Large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's not called the "Fan Room" because of the ceiling fan. There's a GIANT, industrial restaurant fan on the other side of one wall. So, every morning at 7am, when the staff arrives for breakfast service, it clicks on and literally VIBRATES the entire room. And it doesn't turn off until after dinner service, around 10pm or so. Additionally, the room is situated above the kitchen. Every time a pan is dropped or something is shouted, you hear it. When someone takes out the trash (just below the small balcony) you hear it. And it goes on late. Then it starts up again with the fan in the early morning. Don't get me wrong, the room is beautiful, the view is great, and the food is amazing. But our plans to have a relaxing weekend lounging were foiled by the vibrating walls/floors and the constant noise. I would return to the Ashby, but NEVER to the Fan Room. Honestly, for the cost of a stay here, they should do something. Noise defining sheet rock on the wall with the exhaust fan. Raise the floor and put in some insulation. I know it's an old inn, but seriously.

Room Tip: Not the Fan Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwavra, General Manager at The Ashby Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ann S,

Thank you for your comments. We at The Ashby Inn take great care in providing our guests with a retreat that permits one to revel in the beauty and tranquility of our surroundings. Many of our guests return time and again to specifically stay in the Fan Room. That said, We are saddened that you had a less than ideal stay in one of our most popular rooms. Your comments absolutely have merit. Not knowing when you were here exactly, if it was in the past few months, you may have noticed that construction is underway. This construction will add insulation between the ceiling of the kitchen and the floor of the Fan Room and locates the exhaust fan away from the wall of the room, anchoring it off of the roof of the new kitchen addition. We hope these changes will address the issues you shared here.

Thank you for taking the time to contribute.

Sincerely,

Star & Neal Wavra
Manager

P.S. The Fan Room derives its name from the fan shaped palladium window that reveals a spectacular view of Sky Meadows State Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ashby Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashby Inn & Restaurant

Address: 692 Federal Street, Paris, VA 20130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Paris
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at a crossroads of both time and location, The Ashby Inn & Restaurant exists as a tenant to history while offering a place for guests to dine and rest amidst the beauty and tranquility of the Virginia countryside. Situated at the cross-section of routes fifty and seventeen in the charming village of Paris, the inn includes ten guest accommodations on three acres of landscaped grounds that provide a view of Paris Mountain, Ashby Gap and Sky Meadows State Park. The restaurant prepares breakfast daily for all inn guests and is open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday and for brunch and dinner on Sunday. The Ashby serves as a pastoral setting for weddings, special events, and retreats. Guests of the inn find no shortage of activities in the area to fill their time, including antiquing, bird watching, cycling, hiking, reading, shopping, and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ashby Inn And Restaurant
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashby Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.