We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Countryside luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashby Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant
692 Federal Street, Paris, VA 20130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Sparkling
Ranked #1 of 1 Paris B&B and Inns
virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Countryside luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Ashby Inn as part of our swing of Virginia winery visits. We stayed in the fireplace room in the main building. The gas fireplace provided great ambience and the room was fine. Food was creative, fresh and worth the visit.

Room Tip: The firplace room is worth booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    19
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
63
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Spent a lovely February night at the Inn. Glascock Room in the School House was quiet and well appointed. Nice view of the mountains and a dusting of snow. Tasting menu dinner was spectacular. Friendly service with just the proper tone of formality to accompany the food. Inventive cuisine. Breakfast the next morning was equally enjoyable. Great area for wineries or just to escape for 24 hours within an hour or so of DC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed here several times. Paris, Virginia is a bit away from everything, but that is a plus. We always have a wonderful time. Superb and interesting dinner. They are extremely accomodating to our dietary restrictions. We have no restrictions on wine, and we have never been disappointed. We have stayed in several different rooms in the main house, it is old, but, so much more interesting. Breakfast has always been better than expected. Service is the best. We will be back as often as we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Large, well decorated room and very large bath. A bit out of the way but well worth the time. A gem in the outback of DC. Both quiet and located with beautiful views. The main house and restaurant were restored in excellent fashion in congruence with the style of the original home

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main house and an adjacent converted school house. I stayed in the school ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro. VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a wonderful spontaneous stay for our anniversary. We chose the Ashby Inn after the WashingtonPost ran an article on the inn. The stay was very comfortable even thru the wind storm the night we stayed. The food was definitely upscaled but my husband tasted pork grease in each of the dishes served, including breakfast. I loved it, such decadence. I would definitely return another time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rappahannock County, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent a lovely evening at The Ashby for a friend's birthday dinner. We were greeted warmly, had a lovely room in the old Schoolhouse (large, with a beautiful view and a nice fireplace) and, when there was a problem with the ceiling fan, it was promptly, cheerfully and fully solved. Dinner was really outstanding, with good service and unique, enjoyable dishes, and the special food needs of one of our party were readily accommodated. Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: The Schoolhouse rooms, two doors up from the Inn itself, are quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgniia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The food was amazing. The service was too.

I had heard about the Ashby Inn and had been wanting to go for a long time. The chef combines interesting ingredients and prepares them in unusual ways, with amazing results. In fact, everything I tasted, and that includes almost everything on the menu, as we were a party of six and shared dishes, was divine. Like many newer restaurants, the Ashby Inn is focused on local ingredients. Sometimes this results in less than stellar food, but not here. The goat liver parfait was amazing, the braised pork shoulder had more flavor than anything I've ever tasted, and the skate was perfect, if slightly less local. The wine list is extensive but not overpriced, and the waitstaff really know their wines. The recommendations we received were perfect companions to the intense flavors of the food. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ashby Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashby Inn & Restaurant

Also Known As:
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant Hotel Paris
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant Hotel
The Ashby Inn And Restaurant
Address: 692 Federal Street, Paris, VA 20130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Paris
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at a crossroads of both time and location, The Ashby Inn & Restaurant exists as a tenant to history while offering a place for guests to dine and rest amidst the beauty and tranquility of the Virginia countryside. Situated at the cross-section of routes fifty and seventeen in the charming village of Paris, the inn includes ten guest accommodations on three acres of landscaped grounds that provide a view of Paris Mountain, Ashby Gap and Sky Meadows State Park. The restaurant prepares breakfast daily for all inn guests and is open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday and for brunch and dinner on Sunday. The Ashby serves as a pastoral setting for weddings, special events, and retreats. Guests of the inn find no shortage of activities in the area to fill their time, including antiquing, bird watching, cycling, hiking, reading, shopping, and wine tasting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashby Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ashby Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list