We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an uncommon experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashby Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant
Save
You added The Ashby Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
692 Federal Street, Paris, VA 20130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Golf at Evergreen Country
Ranked #1 of 1 Paris B&B and Inns
Annandale, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“an uncommon experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Our small organization met at the Ashby Inn for a three day planning retreat. The experience could not have been better. The innkeepers and all the staff were friendly, helpful, and accommodating, the rooms were clean and nice, and the food was absolutely amazing. Really, really amazing. Every meal was a work of art. We felt like we were in the hands of a master. Even the snacks provided for our work sessions were unbelievable. We could not recommend this place more highly. Go, stay a couple of nights if you can, and even if you can't stay, if you live anywhere in the DC metro area, make a reservation and visit this place for lunch or dinner. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    21
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
71
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at Asby Inn on our autumn visit to Skyline Drive. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. By far though, meals at the Inn were unforgettable. I had a wonderful lamb dish which was delightful. Likewise breakfast was delicious. The Inn is a little " out of the way." Had trouble getting cell service. If you want to get away from it all, it's perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

What a wonderful place to get away for a day or two and enjoy impeccable service, fantastic food, and a beautiful, peaceful room. Neal and Alan are amazing with remembering guests' favorites, and they are always ready with a smile and a story. Chef Tarver King is wonderfully creative with his dishes...always something new, interesting, and delicious. This is definitely the place to visit if you enjoy trying new and innovative flavor combinations! Rooms are well-appointed, clean, and charmingly decorated. Stay in the school house if you can, as each of the rooms has a wood-burning fireplace and a private deck overlooking the beautiful countryside. The Fan room in the main house is also a gem, with its private entrance and beautiful views. Breakfast each day is included in the price of the room, and is much more than just an omelette or some pancakes. Wonderful little place!!

Room Tip: Any room in the schoolhouse, or the fan room. Views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We went to the Ashby Inn for lunch. I ordered their buttermilk fried chicken and when it was served it was so overdone that it was inedible as was their fish dish. It was impossible to even put your folk into the meat to cut it. Unless you are going for desert and coffee, I suggest you save your money and go elsewhere. What was the Washington Post thinking of when they gave a good review to this inn? It's terrible!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwavra, General Manager at The Ashby Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Becky S,

Each and every bit of feedback is appreciated. The exemplary testimonials that have been posted recently are wonderful. A comment like this one, though, is particularly appreciated as it points out where we have fallen short of our own expectation, which is to exceed our guests' expectation. Clearly, we did not live up to your expectations, so much so, you rated the experience as terrible despite finding the service to be 5/5. It saddens me that we were not given the opportunity to reconcile the situation during your visit. Often times it is hard to guage how a guest perceives their experience and there is a variance from one patron to another. One guest who dined the same day as you actually came back the next day to have the fried chicken again. He loved it, you did not. I am equally interested in you both having a great time. So if I may ask a favor of you, should you choose to visit us in the future, and I hope you will, please let us know if we are not meeting your expectations while you are with us. You have my word that we will do everything we can to ensure you will not have to endure another terrible experience.


Sincerely,

Neal Wavra
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Ashby Inn for 2 nights in late September. Our room, the Settle Room in the school house was very pleasant and had a nice view overlooking some of the grounds and the surrounding countryside. During our stay the owner of the Inn was often visible and extraordinarily hospitable (as were all the staff).
As part of the Living Social package that we had purchased we were entitled to a complimentary bottle of wine, a large discount on the room price, and a free wine pairing if we opted for the chef's tasting menu at the restaurant. The dinner at the Inn was excellent. Five courses accompanied by wine with impeccable service and interesting presentations made for a memorable experience.
All in all I highly recommend the Ashby Inn both as a place to stay and as a place to dine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I booked a room in the School House after purchasing a special on Living Social. Bottomline- it was great, absolutely perfect. We arrived a bit early, room wasn't ready but the innkeeper offered some suggestions on local wineries to pass the time which was brillant. We went to Delaplane and thoroughly enjoyed a wine tasting there.
The room was lovely, great walk-out patio with comfortable chairs and beautiful view. we really enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to everyone.
To be honest, the restuarant was pricey, but definitely worth it for a special occasion!

Initially we were going to do Old Rag hike in shenandoah national park, but weather was a little gloomy so opted for a closer Sky Meadows park and hit another winery in the afternoon, highly recommend.

Room Tip: The School house has 4 rooms, they all seemed lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We did not stay at the inn, but stopped by on our way out into the Shenandoahs. Great food - creating and whimsical but tasty and locally sourced. Top-notch service and serene views. Absolutely worth a trip out of your way to this peaceful gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ashby Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashby Inn & Restaurant

Address: 692 Federal Street, Paris, VA 20130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Paris
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at a crossroads of both time and location, The Ashby Inn & Restaurant exists as a tenant to history while offering a place for guests to dine and rest amidst the beauty and tranquility of the Virginia countryside. Situated at the cross-section of routes fifty and seventeen in the charming village of Paris, the inn includes ten guest accommodations on three acres of landscaped grounds that provide a view of Paris Mountain, Ashby Gap and Sky Meadows State Park. The restaurant prepares breakfast daily for all inn guests and is open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday and for brunch and dinner on Sunday. The Ashby serves as a pastoral setting for weddings, special events, and retreats. Guests of the inn find no shortage of activities in the area to fill their time, including antiquing, bird watching, cycling, hiking, reading, shopping, and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ashby Inn And Restaurant
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashby Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.