We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rustic restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swinging Bridge Restaurant

The Swinging Bridge Restaurant
Rt. 1 Box 64, Paint Bank, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Paint Bank
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice rustic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Swinging Bridge is my daughter's favorite restaurant so we took here there for her 18th birthday. The food is very good and most of us indulged in a buffalo burger. Our waitress - Carrie - did a fantastic job and our drinks never went empty. The night we were there, the staff had a fire going in the huge, stone fireplace which is always nice.

There is also a neat gift store on the second level of the building which overlooks the restaurant area. It fittingly has a "swinging bridge" which you can walk across to get from one side of the shop to the other. The restaurant is a fair drive from any well-populated area, but it is worth the drive, especially for a special occasion.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Custer, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over the hills and through the woods to a---------”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

----super and unique dining experience. The down home cooking style of many favorite dishes plus the warmth of a huge fire place is only exceeded by the warm and friendly staff that makes this restaurant one of the better places to eat. The old town country setting has a "Hillbilly" gourmet flair with access to a general store and a huge display of locally made items for sale. There are many more sites to see in Paint Bank, Va. Our family will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Hard to find but well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were in Roanoke for the Virginia HOG rally in Junr 2013 and went for a motorcycle ride and stumbled upon this cutest restaurant/general store. We were a bit early for lunch se we tried the breakfast. Some ordered off the munu and some made up their orders. There were 16 of us and we were all served promptly and perfectly. We went up stairs, ventured accross the indoor swinging bridge and shopped while awaiting our food. Afterward we walked around to the trout pond and grist mill and had to get back on the road but could have stayed longer and played corn hole out back! This is a stop we will make again if ever in this area. Prices were much better than the fast food chains we often settle for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster Springs, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Glad we stopped at this place! Really cool and very friendly staff. Food was good as well! We were passing thru and just stopped to let my little boy out of car for a few minutes. We ended up staying 2 hours. Be dure to check out Grist Mill nad trout pond behind store. Great roadside stop!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were all pleased with our food. We all had the sliced buffalo sub (can't remember what it was called) with chips for us and sweet potatoe fries for our friends. All of us found our food to be delicious and priced about what you would expect for the area. Rustic atmosphere appropriate for the menu and locale. We enjoyed browsing the shop and all decided that this will be a "must" on any future trips within a 25 mile radius of the Swinging Bridge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Swinging Bridge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swinging Bridge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.