We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal scenic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Somerset
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ideal scenic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Lovely location for a relaxing few days. Celebrated my wife's 65th birthday here. Hotel set in beautiful grounds next door to the Treaty House. Hotel a little shabby needing refurbishment. Bed was very comfortable. Dining room staff at evening meals were not at all professional and were not sure what some of the items on the menu were. However the breakfasts were superb. The pool area is great especially as we had family with us with a 22 month old who loved the sand area and small pool. All safely enclosed. There was no sink plug and when I collected one from the reception it was too large and would only fit the bath.Promised one for next day which did not materilise.

Room Tip: Any sea facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the natural rock pool for some relaxation. I am sorry that not all aspects of the hotel were to your fullest satisfaction. I will take your feedback back to our staff members. We have also updated our maintenance schedule recently to address some refurbishment issues. Your feedback has been taken on board and we hope to provide you with a more satisfactory experience if you choose to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    240
    161
    71
    44
See reviews for
118
327
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

that they are used to negative responses. This is a stunning location with fantastic sea views and access to the shoreline, and has a great pool area. That ends the positives for me. The room and conference rooms were very tired, the bath/shower walls particularly dirty, the towels threadbare. On one of the three days of our stay, we were out for the whole day, returning tired and ready to relax at 4pm and the room had not been serviced. Housekeeping finally arrived, we sat outside while they did the necessary but found when we went to bed that the bed had not been made up properly just the top sheets pulled over, bottom sheets still all wrinkled, nor had the bathroom been cleaned.We booked appointments at the spa, (which was running late on both occasions), and found that we had been charged for long distance calls on check out -turned out to be transfer charges from reception to the spa booking line, which is a mobile number and not a hotel extension number!! It was taken off but please check if you make an appointment.They were also going to charge 1.5% on our credit card transaction when the room literature states a straight $4, which was the cheaper charge, so check which is the most advantageous to you. We would not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. We certainly have one of the best location in this area. I apologise the confusion regarding the credit card fee. We have double checked all of our information and made adjustments where necessary. Your comments have been taken back to our housekeeping team and will assist us in reviewing our procedures. We aim to provide you the best experience possible and are making changes according to your feedback. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience if you choose to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lovely location. The pool, spa and tennis court are a great addition there is however no gym on site but plenty of lovely open spaces and walk ways to run if the weather permits. I tried to use the spa at around 4pm on a Wednesday but they were closing for the day.
My stay was for a business conference. Bedrooms are without air conditioning although there are fans and the ability to open windows. The rooms were clean and tidy but very tired. I had a room with carpet damage from what looks like a flood from the bathroom. The bath was well worn and the jug and iron had certainly seen better days.
The service within the hotel was exceptional. Friendly and professional staff members and the food was provided to our groups was lovely. More fruit and veg could have allowed for a more balanced menu.
The conference rooms were well fitted but if you are going for this purpose perhaps ask about the screen positioning if you are using a projector as ours was offset and difficult for all of the group to see it easily.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for your feedback! We have without doubt a unique location here in Waitangi with the Treaty Grounds on our door step and surrounded by nature. We have just reviewed our maintenance programme and are working on repairing any damages. I will happily pass on your comments to our staff members about the service and will take your feedback to the kitchen. We hope you visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here last year and so we were constantly comparing our experience. The hotel rooms, grounds, & services do seem to have deteriorated since we were last there but still the best place to stay in Paihia in our opinion. Some care and attention needed to bring all back up to the high standard it was in Feb. 2013. Totally recommended for a weekend away from Auckland though.

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms are the best, Garden rooms are okay, Idon't recommend the harbour view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I am pleased to hear that you keep returning to our hotel and its special location. My sincere apologies that not all aspects of your stay were to your fullest satisfaction. You feedback however is valuable for us to implement improvements in service and ground maintenance. Feel free to provide more feedback during your next stay to one of our staff members directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed just one night on Valentines. Was expecting an experience like the bad one we just had in Omapere, but were pleasantly surprised.
The room was very nicely decorated and clean and the view was outstanding from room 721.
The bed was HUGE... and it was nice to have the shutters open for fresh air in the night. I would have to mention that the bath products smell lovely!
We will definitely do this again and next time have a swim in their gigantic pool!
The service at the front desk was professional and very clear on costs and charges.
Thanks for the great overnight getaway...even if it was just from Kerikeri!

Room Tip: 721 had a great view and was very quiet. HUGE BED!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for your great review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your Valentines get-away thoroughly. Our natural rock pool is defintely the perfect place to relax when you visit next time. Also, make sure you ask at reception for the many activities available in the Bay of Islands and we can make bookings for you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed over the New Year period, when the hotel was absolutely full. Despite all the pressures on them the staff could not have been bore friendly and helpful. All we met went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay! New Year's is cerntainly a special day to have visited us. I hope you enjoyed the fireworks over the harbour that you could view perfeclty from the hotel grounds. I will pass on your comments to our staff members and we are looking forward to welcoming you again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Easy check-in, during which they provided a map of where we should park to access our room. All spaces taken, which reflects insufficient spaces near the rooms, noting that the accommodation is spread out.
Room was a bit tired and could do with air con installed for the 2010s rather than fans.
Breakfast was a bit steep at $19.50 for the continental. With a bit more effort, eg some loaves of bread for guests to cut rather than tasteless sliced bread, the breakfast could be a lot better.
There was free wifi in the lobby only and that was 20 minutes a day. Beyond that, it looked pretty expensive to access.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We appreciate the feedback about your recent stay. I will pass on your positive feedback to our staff members who are always working hard to provide the best possible service. Thanks for your suggestion for improving the breakfast buffet, we will take those on board. I apologise that you did not find a car park close to your room. While we usually have sufficient space for all guest, availability for our free car park is first in, first serve which can lead to a greater distance between your room and car. Make sure you ask for our special hourly internet rates in the lobby for your next stay. We look forward to providing you with a more satisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.