We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside exceeds inside, disapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outside exceeds inside, disapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The exterior of the Hotel far exceeds the inside, pool seting and surroundings were perfect, great for familys, however the rooms were very dated, and cramped, the food was very expensive in the resturant, & poor, we paid $26 per head for a hot buffet breakfast and everything was just a little warmer than cold, the rooms were not at all what we viewed in the web site, very disapointed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Sorry we failed to meet your expectation.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    208
    133
    62
    34
See reviews for
108
280
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February. The walls are paper thin and we could here the conversation in the next room. The food in the restaurant wasn't very nice. We chose lamb and I am not sure what it was, but I am sure it wasn't lamb. The worst meal of our trip. You need to take a shuttle bus to get anywhere. I would recommend staying somewhere closer to where the ferries depart from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hi, we have just returned from visiting the Bay of Islands; staying at the Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands. It is a gorgeous location with stunning views and grounds (which I might add looked as if they were manicured by a gardening guru!!!). The hotel has a very unique vibe which seemed to make us far more aware of unseen things around us in a positive way. We arrived tired and left calm and re-charged. The staff are amaizing, they definately know how to attend to their guests and the meals were to die for! I wish I was that talented in the kitchen. The pool area was something else too, who ever designed it had a very creative mind, as there are serveral different pools all tumbling down into the main pool with rocks and rock caves for little and big kids to explore and jump off. We got to experience what a potential event client/guest would recieve if they chose to book with this resort and we can honestly say it was a gorgoues luncheon by the pool and a progressive evening meal beginning with cocktails down by the Waitangi Waka House including an amazing Maori Culture Group presentation which gave me goosebumps followed by a divine sit down dinner in one of the conference rooms (which was beautifully decorated - right down to fresh off the tree frangipani flowers tucked into our napkins). All in all we had a fantastic time and would recommend this as a destination to treat yourselves and your entire family to (from Nana & Gramps down to toodlers and babies). Regards, Denise

Room Tip: We stayed in room 701 which overlooked the pool area and across the harbour to Opua and Russell - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Delighted you all enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This large resort is perfectly situated to visit the Waitangi Treaty Grounds and to explore the Bay of Islands. Its coastal setting was truly beautiful and the swimming and hot pools were also very good. However, we were unfortunate that our 2 night stay coincided with a Conference which seemed to stretch the hotels' resources somewhat. In particular the breakfast buffet needed serious replenishment when we arrived, and not much had happened by the time we left. We booked 2 rooms with Garden Views. On check-in my wife and I were upgraded to a nice Ocean facing room but our relatives were stuck with a smallish room facing the tennis court. Perhaps we were just unlucky but we would only return if we were sure there were no Conferences going on.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are far superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The position of the Copthorne is wonderful next to the Waitangi Maori reserve with sea views. It is a two storey building in the style of a dated Travelodge and without lifts. The restaurant is in the style of a large cafeteria but cannot comment on the food as we did not eat there.
We had to call down to reception, as did our friends, to go over our rooms when we arrived as they had not been cleaned properly.
The reception area is very limited for the number of bedrooms and a large group or conference can easily take over the area which leaves no room for guests.
Complementary WiFi is only available in reception and for only 20 minutes. Thereafter the cost is 5or10$ per half an hour. They also charge for credit card transactions. When one pays 300$ a night I would have expected far better standard of accommodation than what we got.
In conclusion, the Copthorne was very poor value for money and the worst hotel/motel by a mile that we stayed in during our 5 week stay in wonderful New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few days &had a garden room. Very comfortable & clean . We ate at the buffet restaurant & had a lovely meal plenty to choose from. The location was good over the bridge next to the Waitangi Treaty house& Waitangi golf club. We walked to the old schooner for supper 2 nights. Great fish & chips & fantastic sea food & fish chowder. Shuttle bus from hotel to the centre of Pahia free not that we needed it. Only down side was pool was full of kids & we didn't get to swim in it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is set a little bit away from Paihia itself, next to the Waitangi Treaty site. However, if you don't mind the walk it is a nice stroll at night to go to one of the numerous restaurants (just over 1km).

The hotel site is fantastic overlooking the bay and we had a waterfront room with stunning views from the balcony. However, I do agree with other reviewers that the rooms are tired and dated and need to be refurbished. Other than only having ceiling fans, the rooms do have most of the things you would expect but I think a little redesigning wouldn't go amiss - poor lighting, no full length mirror, poor positioning of plugs. Having said that, the room was adequate and the views made up for any shortcomings internally.

We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the breakfast. We ate at the Waitangi cafe next door on 2 mornings - the muesli with yoghurt and berry compote was amazingly good!

As it's a large hotel it does seem to attract corporate events and the place was heaving on the second day of our stay. It got a bit noisy that night with people in the corridors until about 2pm but other than that, it was nice and peaceful.

Room Tip: A waterfront room with a view of the bay is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.