We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of investment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In need of investment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Faulty food heater badly scalded son's wrist at breakfast - little sympathy from staff, toilet pan chipped, bath stained, paint flaking off vent in bathroom, television antique, chair in front of desk broken, damp stains on walls, ironing board cover stained, access drive to guest car park full of potholes, sparrow flying around indoor breakfast area, tumble drier faulty, telephone not answered at reception, bedroom walls and ceiling have poor sound insulation, carpets worn out and stained. A hotel clearly in need of renovation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
I do believe your son spoke to our General Manager on the day of departure regarding the above.

I trust that you will enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    240
    161
    71
    44
See reviews for
118
327
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

great hotel, great rates, great location, nice place to relax, shuttle to Pahia needs to run through the evenings

Room Tip: suite was very good value for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
By far the best place to relax in the Bay whilst overlooking the water from your room. I am so happy you agree! The shuttle unfortunately needs to have a cut off time, but we are happy to call you a taxi to get into town.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We always stay at the Copthorne Hotel when we visit the Bay Of Islands. Nothing but grass between our lovely comfortable unit and the sea. Top class service at this hotel, lovely beach and nice healthy walk to the shops in Paihia. Great rates when you book on line..

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront unit facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
I have to agree that we have the best location in the Bay. Thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to your return.

Regards,
Meagan van Jaarsveld
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

hotel was a bit run down but the outlook was amazing. room was large and clean. the courtesy bus only runs on customer request and only until 5:30, so if you want to eat in town get a taxi or walk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

First time stayed at Copthorne Resort, beautiful place to stay, stunning view, clean place, nice restaurant, loved it. Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Nice room, with extra space of balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPBoyle, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Meagan van Jaarsveld
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangerei
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We chose the Copthorne because it was on offer and we know the area well, so were expecting something good and we were impressed. Good open air spa and pool, gardens are pleasant (but a touch bare because of the winter) and open to the historic and beautiful Waitangi treaty grounds, but the views from the room were simply wonderful across to Russell. Bed was good, bathroom showing a bit of age, but still above average. Breakfast was standard fare. The staff should be proud of themselves though, unobtrusive but ready to help, charming and friendly. For an offer, this was exceptional. For the rack price, still pretty good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPBoyle, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.
We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Meagan van Jaarsveld
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Great location - stunning pool area and direct access onto the beach, views all around BOI, and 5 minutes walk to the historic Waitangi treaty grounds.

Bedroom was a reasonable size, we had a standard room with a double & a single, and nice to have a porch/patio area with sliding french windows to go straight outside. Decor-wise could do with a little refreshing.

We didn't take advantage of the free bus into town but chose to walk - it's a good half an hour down to the ferry terminal in Paihia, but beautifully scenic the whole way.

Reception staff were always friendly and helpful and great to have 20 mins free wifi in the lobby per day.
Free parking outside but can imagine this can get very busy in the summer.

We stayed in the middle of winter so ok would expect it to be a little chilly - but the main problem was the restaurant. On the first night it was so cold that we had to keep our coats on for the entire meal!
The food was lovely but as we had the buffet dinner, it also meant the half the food was cold by the time you got it to the table. Same for breakfast in the morning - cold scrambled eggs... not so yummy!

Temperature in the restaurant improved on the second night but service was awful - even though the waiting staff were very friendly, they were clearly understaffed as was the kitchen, and it took us over an hour just to have a main course. All the other diners looked similarly hungry/bored/fed up.

Heating-wise the room warmed up ok, but because of the open style of the hotel even the corridors were cold and not the best experience to be met by an icy blast very time you set foot out the door!

Overall food hotel - but underprepared for the winter season which would put me off staying again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPBoyle, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I would just like to add that Northland is fondly know as the "winterless North" as we seldom get as cold as we were during the period you stayed. Please do not let that hinder your decision to return! The Bay is usually sunny and just a little piece of paradise.

Regards,

Meagan van Jaarsveld
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.