We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation, Fabulous Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landing Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Landing Cottage to your Saves list
Landing Cottage
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   184 Landing Road, Kerikeri 0470, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation, Fabulous Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We have just stayed at the Landing Cottage - our party consisted of my husband and myself, our two adult daughters and our granddaughter. We arrived late as we had driven up from Auckland, Elaine and Ian were there to greet us and welcome us to their B&B. The accommodation is fantastic, very comfortable beds, great big bathroom, large lounge area and a beautiful patio where we had our breakfast each day. Elaine does fabulous pancakes, Ian makes great soldiers and latte's! Elaine and Ian are great hosts, friendly but not obtrusive. I would highly recommend Landing Cottage to anyone who wants first class accommodation in a beautiful part of the world and a relaxing environment.

  • Liked — Friendly Hosts, Great Location, Great Rooms
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Stayed 2 nights at Landing Cottage. Idyllic peaceful setting, fabulous food (the pancakes are the best I have ever tasted!)
Wonderful couple running the place. Lots of space, comfy bed would Highly recommend Landing Cottage to anyone. We are definately comming back!

  • Liked — Spacious, Peaceful Setting, Food!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Wendy and Tony have created an immaculate, beautifully decorated and peaceful cottage in Kerikeri. It was the final stop in our 6 week trip to New Zealand and we so enjoyed our 3 nights there. Meals are beautifully presented and the hosts are most helpful with suggestions to make one's holiday very special.
We will return to stay at Landing Cottage should we return to NZ from Canada.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

Wendy and Tony are the owners of this beautiful property close to historic attractions in Kerikeri. Wendy welcomed us on our arrival and provided many options for our 3 day stay close to the Bay of Islands. Whilst there was just the 2 of us, we had the run of the apartment with 3 double bedrooms in self contained quarters, as well as a living room and patio area. The apartment was stylishly decorated and immaculately clean with new furnishings and many personal touches, as well as a lot of useful local information.

Breakfast was served by Wendy in the owners' property. Everything was freshly prepared, including home made muesli and freshly ground coffee. Breakfast even included produce grown in the garden.

Kerikeri is a perfect location in itself but also central to Bay of Islands and Northland. Wendy and Tony are knowledgable and interesting people and great company. This was one of the highlights of our 3 weeks + in New Zealand, and much better accomodation and hospitality than many more expensive places we stayed in. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Landing Cottage to others.

Brian and Jill

  • Liked — The hostrs, the food, the loca
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

This outstanding B & B provides luxurious accommodation in a beautiful and tranquil setting.

Hosts Tony and Wendy have thoughtfully provided many amenities you might not even find in a 4 star hotel making this much more than a B&B. Spotlessly clean and nicely appointed bedrooms and bathroom, comfortable lounge area and outside decking amid beautiful gardens make it hard to tear yourself away after a delicious breakfast each morning and provides a welcome place to return to at the end of a long day's sightseeing.

Tony and Wendy are wonderful hosts and share their knowledge of all that the beautiful Bay of Islands and surrounding areas have to offer so you have the information you need to make the most of your stay in this lovely region of New Zealand.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

We began our ten-day New Zealand holiday with a two-day stay with Wendy and Tony. What a wonderful way to start a fabulous trip. We unreservedly recommend the Landing Cottage to Kiwis and visitors from around the world.

The accommodations are first rate, particularly for families, with three generously sized bedrooms (one with its own patio) and a large living room (lounge, in Empire English). We were encouraged by Wendy to treat the Landing Cottage as a home away from home. With the inviting, tasteful décor and beautiful, natural surroundings, this was so easy to do that we didn’t want to leave.

Breakfast with Tony and Wendy each morning was brilliant. As we awaited Wendy’s blueberry pancakes, we were treated to Tony’s paintings. The advice on what to do and see in the KeriKeri and Russell regions was spot on.

If you are headed to Wellington make sure to let your hosts know. Before buying the property and opening a best of class B & B, they lived and worked in New Zealand’s capital. Their suggestions about what to see and where to eat there made it much easier, even if you have been there before.

The arrangements Wendy made for dinner out and a trip to the Bay of Islands made our trip just that much more enjoyable. All of their guests benefit from this brilliant couple’s local knowledge and love of New Zealand.

Suffice it to say, we will return to the Landing Cottage on our next trip, which we want to be soon. We will be staying with friends.

Brian and Gretchen

PS We understand that an addition is planned, which will allow the Waldegrave’s to host a few more guests and more easily accommodate unrelated parties.

  • Liked — Our hosts, with the quality of furnishings and the breakfasts close seconds.
  • Disliked — Nothing, except the government mandated water restrictions on bathes
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Tony and Wendy treated us like friends rather than clients.
Wendy's attention to detail is perfect and she made excellent recommendations to ensure that we made the most of our stay in the area. The accommodation is immaculate, spacious and tastefully decorated - and the bed is to "die for". The only downside to the stay was the weather - and they would have changed that if they could. Kerikeri is an excellent base from which to explore the Bay of Islands.

  • Liked — Comfort and Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landing Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landing Cottage

Address: 184 Landing Road, Kerikeri 0470, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landing Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landing Cottage is situated in an acre of beautiful gardens. Guests have their own lounge, patio and separate entrance. Perfectly situated for exploring the beautiful Bay of Islands, including the world-renowned Kauri Cliffs golf course. We have 3 spacious bedrooms and can take up to 6 people, linen and furnishings are of the highest standard. Perfectly suited for couples, groups or families, we are committed to making your stay at Landing Cottage a highlight of your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Landing Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landing Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.