We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to take Mum to lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marsden Estate Winery

Marsden Estate Winery
56 Wiroa Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
09 407 9398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Kerikeri
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kerikeri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best place to take Mum to lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The medium-sized menu has something for everyone, even kids, and it's all done well. Portions are just right, not overwhelming, but very satisfying, and the prices are very fair, perhaps even a little low, considering the quality of food and beauty of the setting. Living locally, this remains our standout favourite for a nice lunch out.

Breakfast here is a little-known bargain, competitive with the cafes in town, but with very high quality food and service, and again, the perfect vineyard/winery setting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    33
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I were visiting the Bay of Islands area, rented a car, and took a self guided wine tour. We decided to stop here for lunch and weren't disappointed. The scenery is wonderful, with the restaurant being open at the back to their pond and vineyard. We ordered their Fried Squid and Antipasto Platter to share. Both were lovely and the Antipasto Platter had plenty for two people with all kinds of dips, spreads, breads and salmon. I also ordered a very nice glass of Sauvignon blanc. Good prices for quality of food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great for date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Good meal and fantastic wine in wonderful environment. If you sit outside, you can enjoy view of beautiful romantic garden surrounded by vineyard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Almost Umbria near Kerikeri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our lunch comprising Antipasto plate for two took place in a sheltered vine-clad outdoor room at the rear of Marsden's Cellar Door overlooking a pond and vineyard. Our Chardonnay (Marsden Winery's flagship variety) was authoritative, serene and perfectly complemented the food which was tasty but uncomplicated and easy to share.

The service was friendly and professional and the ambience quietly informal.

I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Deliscous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you like to eat something special in a wonderful atmosphere then this winery is worth to visit. Even the menu is not large and the prizes are not cheap I can recommand that spot. Really wonderful meals, high standard wines and very attentive and friendly staff. Celebrate the day in Marsden Estate Winery. I'll come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsden Estate Winery also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Marsden Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsden Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.