We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marsden Estate Winery

Marsden Estate Winery
56 Wiroa Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
09 407 9398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Kerikeri
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unprofessional Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were invited by an overseas friend to lunch at Marsden.As locals we always look forward to this and we had a wonderful time with great setting, superb wine and decent food.Unfortunately the waitress was very unprofessional and an embarassment .The flat white coffees we got served were the worst we have ever had and dish water would have tasted better.Thanks for being such a beautiful venue but please keep your waiting staff to a standard that suits your venue.Thank you

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    33
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good restaurant and winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Good food, Good service and Great wine.
A nice place to go for lunch, enjoyed everything.
Menu selection was fairly small but I still had two options of personal preference and had to ask for the recommendation between them from our waitress, food was tasty and very enjoyable.
Highly recommend their Pinot Gris.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a first-class establishment with beautiful wines and food. The menu is uncomplicated but has plenty of variety to suit all tastes. The mains we had included the Chicken Fricassee, Beef Curry, and entrees of Pork Belly, Scallops and Squid - all delicious and washed down with a Marsden Estate Pinot Gris 2013 which was a hit. We sat outside under the grape vine trellis where we had a good view of the vineyards, ponds and a family of ducks that wandered past. The service was excellent - relaxed and friendly. On a visit to New Zealand some years ago we dined here and it's a credit to the owners that the food, wine and service continues to remain first-class.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice mid summer lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Beautiful location with views of vineyards, ponds with decks and beanbag chairs to enjoy the lawn and views. Lunch was under a trellis of grape vines. Nice wine tasting as well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We went to lunch with friends who live in Kerikeri and enjoyed a very nice meal. Simple fare, well cooked and presented. Possibly, one of the best meals on our trip to NZ this time. It was great to sample a local wine that had only travelled a short distance. The Bay of Islands is a fantastic place to be. I feel a return trip to Marsden in 2015.

No reservation was needed on athis occasion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsden Estate Winery also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Marsden Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsden Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.