We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation to your Saves list
Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
190 Kerikeri Rd, Kerikeri 00230, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Meopham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

After a strenuous few weeks touring and tramping, Wharepuke proved to be the perfect place to recover. Our cabin nestled in the beautiful garden, and nature came to us - birds, butterflies, even a single chicken came to chat and share our breakfast! My camera is full of close-ups of the vegetation around us. The whole place is run on ecological lines and very much in tune with the environment. Numerous walks from the front door took us to waterfalls, historic sites, large stone sculptures and Keri keri itself. And with the Bay of Islands and Waitangi so close you would need to stay longer than the week we had to appreciate everything it has to offer. We'll be back when we next need to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: They are all equally scenic; one is geared up for disabled access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We recently stayed overnight in Kerikeri at Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation. The units are self-contained and separate - each has its own private verandah, and because they are set in a large tropical garden the sense of privacy is well maintained. We enjoyed wandering around the grounds and felt very relaxed. There was free wifi and a large king-sized bed. The motel is sited between the historic area (stone store, Kemp's house, church and pa site) and the supermarket and other town amenitites so is ideally located.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We could not believe how fantastic this place was. The cottage we stayed in was nestled in a stunning tropical paradise. The birds flying around made for a very relaxing magical stay.

This place has been created with care, passion and love and it shows.

We certainly will be going back... it was simply stunning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

As a mature couple we like a peaceful environment, comfort, and freedom to do what we want when we want to. Wharepuke provided all these and more.
We stayed 6 nights and used Kerikeri as our base to explore the region. It was a great chance to see areas of great variety and of significant history. At the end of each day we came "home" to our lovely cottage in secluded surroundings. We could eat out or self-cater depending on our mood.
The hosts were helpful and friendly but not intrusive. They have a commitment to caring for and improving this delightful spot.
It was a graet holiday.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Several cottages would suit extended family as each as own space. Gather together at excellent restaurant on site and walk around extended grounds. Leave car behind and take many splendid bush walks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumeu, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was definitely one of the best places we have stayed in. Amazing surroundings in a subtropical garden, excellent accommodation, extremely friendly and helpful manager and affordable prices. The restaurant next door is pretty good too.
I could not ask for anything better than this.
Definitely we will stay at the same hotel in our next holiday in Kerikeri.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We travel quite a fair bit each year. When we travel to places like Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the UK (and any other place where English is widely spoken) we like to stay in self contained clean accommodation, in quiet tranquil surroundings, and sleep in comfy beds. Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation met all these requirements.

We stayed for two nights in Cottage 5 (a one-bedroom eco cottage) at the Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation (NZD150 per night). Tania, the manager, is a lovely, friendly, helpful person who made us feel welcome very quickly. The cottage was situated within a lovely garden and had a spacious living area and a bedroom with a large bed. The washroom was spacious, with a good sized shower area. The only thing I did not like was the relatively small washbasin. The private patio was a wonderful place to sit at dusk and watch the sky darken. Better yet, to have the BBQ set up and dine right on the patio! Mussels were in season and cheap and we never got a chance to try the award winning restaurant on the premises because we spent two nights having fun barbequeing mussels and lamb chops and having them with white, and then red (New Zealand) wine!!

Right across the entrance to the car park is a path that leads to the Stone Store (15-20 mins walk), and then from there we went on the trail to Rainbow Falls. If one took the road, it would only take about 7 minutes to reach the Stone Store from the accommodation.

A short drive took us into Kerikeri town centre, where we bought our provisions - and mussels - from the New World Supermarket.

To sum up: this was a delightful, comfortable stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation

Address: 190 Kerikeri Rd, Kerikeri 00230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Islands Accommodation Kerikeri Accommodation. 5 Stylish eco cottages nestled amongst 5 acres of award winning "Garden of Significance"(NZGT). A restaurant/cafe awarded "Northland Cafe of the Year" and an Art Gallery of International Artworks are onsite. Non-toxic printmaking courses and garden tours are run by our professionals. Located 1km from the boutique town of Kerikeri or walking distance to the historic Stone Store Reserve. 20 Min. Drive to dolphin watching, fishing, horse riding, wineries, and 6 golf courses within 30 min. Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.