We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gypsy Caravan with a bath under the stars, one of the most unique accommodation secrets!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pagoda Lodge

Save Saved
You added Pagoda Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pagoda Lodge
81 Pa Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“A Gypsy Caravan with a bath under the stars, one of the most unique accommodation secrets!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wow! The ideal place to relax, restore and explore. The outside bath is screened for privacy,--- lovely views and open to the stars!
Waking to the dawn chorus of native birds, drifting off to the relaxing sound of the New Zealand bush or at night lying in a bath gazing at the stars.
This is the perfect getaway: Truly the experience of a lifetime - Wholeheartedly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This delightful place, which covers small apartments in the main lodge house, the Jade Cottage - ideal for a romantic getaway - gypsy style caravans, a boat house that has been ingeniously converted with an artist's eye, camping/tent sites that are cleverly spaced to ensure privacy and the most beautifully clean and delightfully decorated amenities block - even flowers in vases in the men's toilets! Stephen and Kathy are delightful hosts who gave us the best touring and sight-seeing advice - better than the local Information Sites. They are available and welcoming at any hour - bless their hearts. We will definitely be returning to another visit soon.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is excellent, but if you want your own bathroom and toilet, then choose the Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Here is a place where you can relax and enjoy the lush gardens and near-by reserve. The site borders the river and there are kayaks available. This is not upmarket but clean, well appointed and maintained. The hosts are friendly and helpful and whether you are camping, hiring a gypsy caravan or motel unit you can be sure of a pleasant and peaceful stay. A short walk takes you to the Kerikeri Stone Store and over the river there is a good bush track to Rainbow Falls. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the Jade house with its private deck and views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Pagoda Lodge and wished we could stay longer! The setting is beautiful and tranquil. We stayed in the boathouse which has been lovingly restored to its current charming state. The bedroom looking down over the estuary is wonderful and you can lie in bed watching the birdlife and kayaks and small boats on the every changing scene. The bathrooms are a shared facility (much like a campground) but if you don't mind this slight inconvenience then you will be delighted with this location. It is very rustic, as in you can see the sky through the walls in some places! but it is a boatshed after all. Very comfy and warm nonetheless. The price was very reasonable for what you got and the hosts were lovely. Perfect venue for a wedding or other special celebration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chanced on this place right before dark; we had made a booking at a campground and arrived there only to find the place deserted. The owner at Pagoda came out as we pulled up, said he was headed off to dinner, and suggested we find a spot for our camper van and he'd see us in the morning.

If we had not had our van, we would have loved to stay in one of the gypsy-style "wagons," in the sweet cottage overlooking the river, or in the totally cool boathouse (the people staying there gave a little tour). What creativity! The main building had a well-equipped kitchen and very functional, clean bathrooms - and the building was covered with beautiful, fragrant vines. We spent a quiet and restful night here and would love to go back some time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I've stayed a few times at Pagoda Lodge, and it's a wonderful spot. Gorgeous grounds in a tranquil spot, with quirky yet comfortable accommodation. The safaris tents, gypsy caravans and rooms in pagoda lodge have all been lovingly furnished with one-off pieces of furniture. Nice touches with fresh flowers in the rooms - typical of the thoughtful hosts. I would definitely recommend staying at Pagoda Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

Really nice location. Very pretty. Owners very nice, helpful.

We stayed in one of the gypsy caravans which was great. One of the hilights of our Northland trip.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pagoda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Lodge

Address: 81 Pa Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pagoda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pagoda Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.