We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, fantastic hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swallows Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Swallows Ridge to your Saves list
Swallows Ridge
32A Rangitane Road, RD1, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location, fantastic hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed for one night however could happily have stayed on for a number more. Chris and Mike are fantastic hosts - so welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to make us welcome without being overbearing. Mike cooked an amazing breakfast which set us up for the trip back to Auckland. I especially enjoyed meeting George and Mildred (the friendly resident ducks). Looking forward to the next visit!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
124
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

A great view out over the countryside and beyond to the Bay of Islands. Very welcoming hosts, with superb breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amersham uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at Swallows Ridge for three nights at the end of our 4 week holiday in NZ from the UK. We had stayed in many superb places in both islands and Swallows Ridge was certainly up there with the best. Chris and Mike moved relatively recently to Keri Keri and built the house from scratch on a beautiful hilltop overlooking the Bay of Islands with three en suite Band B rooms on the ground floor each with their own terrace and with superb views. The rooms were faultless, spacious, well equipped, with up to date facilities, comfortable beds and spotlessly clean(Chris is a nurse by profession!). The choice at breakfast was wide, well cooked and served by Mike to order. You order the night before which does mean you have to some extent to anticipate your likely appetite the following morning! But that is so that Mike and Chris can make sure you get what you want and that typifies their approach to their guests, helpful, considerate, there when you need them but without interfering. They are full of local information and helpful tips to organise your stay. The Bay of Islands justifies its billing as one of the most beautiful areas in the North Island and Swallows Ridge is a good base for anyone's stay. At the end of a days tourism you can come back and relax in their super heated swimming pool before going out to one of the very good local restaurants.
Chris and Mike are new to the Bed and Breakfast game but from our experience they have already created a. excellent high standard product and service. They will have many very satisfied guests. we will certainly go back when we visit New Zealnd again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We came for one night for our first anniversary, if i had known would have stayed longer - wonderful hosts beautiful surroundings - just what you need for a relaxing weekend away!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

When we phoned to ask about a room the hosts had friends coming to stay and at first they were concerned that they might not be able to give us their usual attention. Fortunately they agreed to have us and how lucky we were. We were greeted on arrival so warmly and welcomed into the beautiful living room to join said friends for a very welcome and refreshing drink. And that set the tone for our two night stay. We were treated as friends ourselves and enjoyed lovely conversations, a stunning breakfast each morning, advice about things to do and places to eat (The Pear Tree - wonderful!!) and use of the pool. This fabulous home is set overlooking the Bay of Islands and we would happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2011. I was most impressed by the hosts Mike and Chris. They were very welcoming and helpful. It is a newly bult house which is spotlessly clean and has really beautiful views. It is not right in town (which we preferred)so its quiet and relaxing.
For the golf lovers this would be an excellent place to stay. Mike can give you some tips on the local courses.
We didn't get to swim in the lovely pool (maybe I will next time). I have recommended it to my family and friends. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

J had never stayed at a B&B before but decided to give this one a try.
I had the pleasure to stay at Swallows Ridge, unfortunately it was for only one night. The accomodation is spacious, clean and comfortable(a home away from home).
The view and the grounds make you feel as if you have come to a private retreat.
The hosts Chris and Mike were very welcoming, friendly people and have found their calling with this B&B.
When back in NZ, I will most definately be coming back with my family.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swallows Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Ridge

Address: 32A Rangitane Road, RD1, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our purpose built award winning accommodation (2010 House of the Year Silver Medal). Set in 21 acres, our secluded and peaceful location is a designated Kiwi area. Yet is near to town and only two minutes drive to Doves Bay Marina. Enjoy peace and tranquility with fantastic coastal views of the Bay of Islands, Kent Passage and Kerikeri Inlet. Swim in the heated 12mtr pool or relax on your own private patio. All rooms are large with en suite. Home made bread and eggs from our own chickens for breakfast. Visit Kerikeri's historic Stone Store, cafes, farmers market and art galleries, play a round of golf or take a trip to a local beach. Swim with dolphins or catch a marlin - we can arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swallows Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallows Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.