We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much we went 2 nights in a row” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Italians

The Italians
35 Kerikeri Rd, Kerikeri, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 restaurants in Kerikeri
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Loved it so much we went 2 nights in a row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was outstanding, Cesare Stella the owner and chef is very friendly and interested in his customers; he checked if we were happy with our meals both nights. The staff are lovely and easy-going, the restaurant has a great small-and-intimate friendly feel to it with Italian-decorations, the food itself is absolutely outstanding - fresh delicious flavours and perfect amounts for entrée and main and desserts; creamy risotto with generous amounts of prawns, scallops & fish, or calamari in freshly made tomato based sauce, or creamy chicken Lucia were our favourites. The tiramisu is delicious too. The Italians its a must to go to in Kerikeri!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    92
    26
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Years ago in Kerikeri there was an Italian restaurant called Dantes which changed hands and Italian cookery vanished from the Kerikeri scene until the Italian opened its doors and not before time. We were taken here by friends and enjoyed the most amazing meal of seafood pasta. The breads are wonderful but as portions are generous will give them a miss next time. The restaurant is small and cosy with a great atmosphere and well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“10/10 - without doubt the best Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a wonderful meal. From the bread to the pizza to the scallops, the prawns and the Masala, simply amazing. And when you 8 yr old eats calamari faster than McDs you know its good. Happy, happy memories of our visit here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kerikeri delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wow utterly impressed with my meal here. Tried the Bluenose which was absolutely beautiful. You have to try the breads - outstanding Small restaurant but a great atmosphere. Service was really good. The waiter was really friendly and looked after us. Even had paper and colouring pencils for the child we had with us. So if you are visiting Kerikeri you must try this restaurant :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorite meals in all of New Zealand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Been in New Zealand a few weeks and traveled to many cities, so I've eaten in lots of restaurants. I was in KeriKeri with a friend and decided to try The Italians based on the other reviews. I am glad we did. It was wonderful food. Small place, but good atmosphere. Great service. They seemed a little hesitant to give two of us a four person table and said they might move us if a larger group came in, but no other tables were seated after us. Asked for wine and food recommendations and got great food all around. We shared the olive and pesto bread as an appetizer (entree in NZ) and I had a spicy (cajun) penne with chicken and sausage. Both were excellent! Had a great bottle of local wine as well (Fat Pig Syrah). Prices good for the amount of food. The chef, and I believe owner, asked about our food at the end of the meal. Overall a great experience and recommended place in Kerikeri.

Parking is a little confusing, the restaurant is right on the rotary/roundabout. There is no parking at the restaurant. We parked next door only to see the sign when you walk up to the restaurant that says park across the street at the grocery store.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italians also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Italians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Italians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.