We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful river pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pear Tree

The Pear Tree
215 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
09-407 8479
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 34 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful river pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I loved this restaurant / pub, it reminded me of the pubs along the rivers in England. Lovely food, inside and outside seating, appears to be open all day. Very freindly service too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    100
    28
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food with outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Love the setting of this restaurant. We had a table on the verandah overlooking the water - simply fantastic. We ordered fish and chips with a couple of glasses of good New Zaland beer. The food was cooked to perfection, arrived a our table hot and was delivered with just the right amount of friendly attentive service by our waiter.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great food served in a relaxed atmosphere by friendly staff. Set by the water away from the busier part of Kerikeri.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to sit back and relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Located in a beautiful part of the bay and within easy walking distance to some of New Zealand's most important heritage buildings. Perhaps a little overpriced for lunch mains, but certainly worth spending time there over a coffee and muffin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had dinner here after a day's diving (so had some big appetites) and the delicious food (and generous portion sizes) were exactly what we needed. The 550g sirloin may have almost been too much (but the entire thing still disappeared). The wait staff were all very attentive (but not too much) and the setting of the restaurant is truely lovely.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pear Tree also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Pear Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pear Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.