We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Food at Wharepuke

Food at Wharepuke
190 Kerikeri Rd, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
09 407 8936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A small dining room set in native bush. A warm welcome, cheerful staff, delicious food and a good wine list - what more do you want!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    54
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Thai night at Wharepuke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Thai night at Wharepuke (on the road down to the Stone Store) is a taste treat....but you must leave room for the chef's signature dessert: Kaffir lime and lemongrass panna cotta with fruit. It is to die for. The menu is always excellent, but the dessert sends you home having had a little taste of heaven.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal surrounded by nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch at this delightful restaurant set amoungst the trees. The meal was beautifully presented with the food full of flavor utilizing the freshest of ingredients . Loved it .

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“My favourite informal Kiwi eating experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was so pleasantly surprised to discover this little paradise set next to the Waitangi Treaty historical site! Set in sub-tropical gardens, well tended yet with an all-natural look! The a la carte lunch menu was delightful; using the best and freshest Kiwi ingredients in an imaginative way. Every plate is a sight to please the eye and palate; balanced and delicate with every flavour distinct and in just the right proportion. The Asian-European influences have been fused with great success! You can while away the afternoon over coffee and bits and make friends before you know!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is a must! The setting has an indoor-outdoor ambience and we enjoyed the friendly efficient wait-staff. The pork belly is the best we have had in some eight countries of travelling and all of our table thought similarly about their courses. We appreciated the rarely commented upon lack of rush or haste from staff even though there must have been other bookings.
We have been back on other occasions and have never had less satisfaction than the first time. We unreservedly recommend this as an eating place and, if you want, outdoor seating where you relax and recharge with friends while getting a great meal.
Phineas

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food at Wharepuke also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Food at Wharepuke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food at Wharepuke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.