We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   17 Homestead Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Every now and then I get a night away from my noisy busy family and this was a great place to stay to relax. There is lots to do in Kerikeri but instead I had a lovely nap, cooked myself dinner, watched a movie on Sky and had a lovely night's sleep. Very very comfortable furniture and bed, everything you need in the kitchen and all spotlessly clean. The one star off was for the noise of the pool being fixed. I knew it was being done as it was on the website, but didn't expect them to be working on Sunday morning! I would still highly recommend it. When the pool is done it will be fantastic. Might have to take the kiddies next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    49
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
44
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here as the website pictures showed a fabulous pool. On arrival when I asked where the pool was I was told it was being resurfaced. On inspection it was clearly under considerable work that will take a while - I suggested it should mention on the website that the pool is not available from (date - date). We were told our children would not have swum anyway it's too cold! It was over 20 degrees and our children had swum every day of the last 6 of our holiday. The main bedroom of a two bedroom apartment was tiny with no storage/wardrobe for luggage. The kitchen had a hot plate in the cupboard as the stove and the bathroom was tiny. Warnings about an ant problem did not make it any more pleasant. It was our most expensive accommodation over a 7 day road trip and the worst.
I would not have posted a public bad review if I'd felt more heard about a request that the pool status be updated on the website. We recommend Edgewater Palm Apartments in Paihia - they were amazing!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have taken your suggestion on board and put a notification on our website regarding the pool being out of commission during refurbishment. Thank you for bringing this oversight to our attention. We are disappointed we failed to meet your expectations regarding the size of the unit, however, if you had mentioned this on arrival, we would gladly have relocated your family to one of our new larger apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I came up from auckland to a charity boxing evening by certified builders and the proceeds went to st johns.The hosts where great and the room i had was excellent.A great place to stay; I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the Kerikeri Homestead Motel. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dargaville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My son and I stayed at the homestead motel as it was my birthday. We were warmly welcomed by Diane and hubby. Diane showed us to our room and had turned the heater on so our room was lovely and warm when we arrived. The motel is really nice and very clean. The beds are nice and very comfortable. We had a big corner spa bath in our room and it was very nice. This motel was extremely clean and above my expectations. Theres alot of attention to detail in this motel right down to the little drink coasters on the bedside tables to the embrossed toilet paper. I would highly recommend this wonderful motel to anyone. Thank you Diane and hubby we look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a spa studio and it was great. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on the Homestead Motel. We are really pleased the service and amenities were to your satisfaction. We have informed our staff of your comments as they are important to the motel. We hope to see you both again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

was given an upgraded room at the studio price, as staff were of sick, not all the rooms had been cleaned. $115 room with a spa bath and a kitchen. Walking distance to a restaurant next door and town. The info book was very informative on recommendations to restaurants and attractions. Staff also recommended which restaurant to go too.Wireless internet was free. The morning paper was free

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review after your recent stay at Kerikeri Homestead Motel. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for work purposes, had apartment for 9 days. Spot on for location, handy to supermarket shopping and local bar. Owners very friendly, whole site very tidy. Smart TV, great cooking facilities washer and dryer. Difficult to fault in any area, hopefully will get opportunity to stay again

Room Tip: Apartments are top notch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights in one of the lovely new apartments. We had absolutely everything we needed. Full kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer.
The apartment was very clean, warm, modern, and extremely comfortable.
We really appreciated the unlimited free Wi-Fi and the big super comfy bed.
The management staff were very helpful, friendly and obliging.

I would very highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Kerikeri Homestead Motel and Apartments.
We are very pleased that all the amenities and services were to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments

Address: 17 Homestead Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments is the only fully serviced apartment complex right in the centre of Kerikeri township. Situated on three acres of tranquil park like grounds, this unique Four-Star-Plus motel is just a moment’s walk from fantastic cafes, restaurants and bars and an ideal base from which to explore the Far North.We seek to provide each guest with a memorable experience with warm and sincere service and special attention to the finest details. Corporate guests can enjoy free unlimited broadband, generous work stations, and sumptuous gourmet breakfast to start the day. Our relaxed setting also provides an ideal setting for romantic interludes, family holidays or large groups. Enjoy relaxing poolside and starry nights soaking in the hot outdoor spa.Your hosts Diane and Rob look forward to welcoming you to the Kerikeri Homestead Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.