We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect escape? Here's the place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Resort to your Saves list
Avalon Resort
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Australia
1 review
“The perfect escape? Here's the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Bravo Willem and Betty. What a terrific little secret. Get away from the rigours and traumas of the real world and come here. Didn't want to go home.

Stuart and Maggie Gill

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
68
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Perfect! I echo all of the other reviewers thoughts!

We stayed two nights at Avalon and wish we had planned to stay longer! Willem and Better were amazingly helpful and friendly - above and beyond what we could have expected anywhere and did everything they could to ensure we had a great time, from providing helpful books on area trails to ideas on other things to do!

The place is in a secluded area of KeriKeri, but close enough to everything you would want to do. As another reviewer said, the grounds that are beautifully landscaped. The accomodations were fantastic - topped off by a beautiful four poster canopy bed. The cottage is beautiful, with lovely furniture and everything you need to cook, relax, and entertain yourself.

We had a great river adventure in the kayaks, walked around the grounds, and enjoyed the beautiful setting.

Definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

AMAZING - Paradise would be the only way to discribe this secret loaction secluded in the heart of Kerikeri. We stayed five nights at Avalon and wished we could stay longer. The hosts where friendly warm and helpful, went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable. Service was top notch.

The place is set in amazing park like grounds that are beautifully landscaped. The animals even go out of their way to make you feel at home. The cottage itself is classy, with nice furniture, a real warm feeling and contained everything you needed and more.

This is a place you can't pass up when you want to relax and enjoy peaceful and quiet surrounds. Location is perfect with a short walk into the town center. The river was crystal clear and you can't pass up going for a paddle in the kayaks.

If you want a romantic getaway then you are in for a treat. Private cottages that are secluded - with wonderful view. A real magical atmosphere that make it a special place to stay.

Overall one of the best places we have stayed in. We will be going back - Highly Recomended

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the Avalon. We couldn't believe how lovely the surrounding gardens were. The hosts were both friendly and informative and made us feel very welcome. The room was lovely, with a fantastic 4 poster bed and smart furniture throughout. If only we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

It's not the first time we've stayed in Kerikeri, but the first time we've stayed at the Avalon.
With just the 4 cottages we were pretty sure we would get the peace and privacy we were wanting - and were not disappointed.
We stayed in the "Earth" cottage, serene earthy colours - and I guess the highlights were the draped 4-poster bed, and the private balcony.
The cottage was very comfortable, everything we needed, and all "shiny and new".
Willem was very helpful, even providing us with a laptop during our 3 night stay.
So ~ yes, would certainly recommend, and a great place to base your Northland holiday.
We stayed 3 nights, but would have liked longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have stayed at Avalon several times now, and are always welcomed warmly. The cottages are beautifully decorated and furnished, and the views of the lush garden and stream are very scenic. After a long drive, a glass of wine and relaxing on the private balcony is sublime, with the soft sound of water in the stream washing away stresses of work. We would highly recommend Avalon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We booked the cottage there and arrived being caught by surprise - the resort is simply fantastic! Views, surroudnings, cottages, service - everything at Avalon is second to none! I can hardly imagine the better place to stay in Kerikeri, especially with young children. Our son broke in tears when we were about to depart asking for another day there! Thank you very much, Willem!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avalon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based on a 7-acre property featuring springs, streams, waterfalls, lakes, a pool, and a river, and set in a small valley overlooking the Kerikeri golf course, Avalon Resort offers luxury self contained cottages and studio units. Take a dive in our brand new spring water filled natural pool, take a kayak trip on the river, or just relax on your private deck. Based in Kerikeri town, Avalon is central to everything the Bay of Islands has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.