We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, tranquility and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Resort

Save Saved
You added Avalon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Resort
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peace, tranquility and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have stayed at Avalon several times now, and are always welcomed warmly. The cottages are beautifully decorated and furnished, and the views of the lush garden and stream are very scenic. After a long drive, a glass of wine and relaxing on the private balcony is sublime, with the soft sound of water in the stream washing away stresses of work. We would highly recommend Avalon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
65
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We booked the cottage there and arrived being caught by surprise - the resort is simply fantastic! Views, surroudnings, cottages, service - everything at Avalon is second to none! I can hardly imagine the better place to stay in Kerikeri, especially with young children. Our son broke in tears when we were about to depart asking for another day there! Thank you very much, Willem!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We searched for Kerikeri accommodation off the net and you are never sure what you are going to get, BUT Avalon Resort turned out to be the perfect pick. The accommodation is very clean and extra comfortable with nice kitchen facilities (there is no stove or oven). The owners are very helpful and hospitable. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and tended and the ducks, chickens and pigs provide a very nice rustic feel even though the property is right in town. Each of the four units is very private; we were there with a family gathering and had three of the four units which was ideal for getting together for meals etc then having our own space at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We have stayed at Avalon Resort several times now and enjoy each stay as if it is our first. The hosts are gracious and welcoming. The cottages are immaculately presented, tastefully furnished and well equipped. It is very easy to relax and unwind in such a peaceful setting. The bonus is being able to stroll around the beautifully landscaped grounds or simply watch the ducks and geese from the deck while they paddle around the ponds. We look forward to our next stay. Ainsley & Andrea of Whangarei.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Looking to get out of Auckland for a week and can't afford to sell your family into slavery to buy a batch? Try this place on for size. A great place to base yourself to check out the North of NZ. More than enough to keep all occupied for a week and owners are more than reasonable in arranging a fair price in the off season. A fantastic operation with free-range animals to boot, there has been a lot of effort put in to establish and run this business. The location is far enough out of the center of Keri-Keri to get that country feel, but close enough to walk off a few drinks from the many places to eat in town of a evening. We reviewed loads of similar operations in the area before staying here - this is the pick of the bunch.

A TIP - some inconsiderate so-and-so has put up a sign blocking Willem's (the proprietor's) sign advertising Avalon when entering the town. Follow the directions on the website and you should be OK.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

After seven weeks touring New Zealand we found our piece of Heaven at Avalon Resort. Willem and Betty made us feel like we were friends rather than clients. The cottage was just beautiful with every convenience and the bed was pure bliss.
Almost the best part though was the magnificent grounds- a secluded valley in the heart of Kerikeri which Willem has transformed with ponds, a waterfall, gardens, trees and wildlife.
The free internet, wine and fruit juice were the icing on the cake.
We left here very reluctantly and hope to one day return. Thank you Willem and Betty for a great three days.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We would like to thank the Dutch owners Willem and Betty for a very personal and pleasant stay! This was the best accommodation we've had during our month in New Zealand. Very beautiful bungalows and the service is perfect! Willem, the owner, helps you with everything and tries to make your stay as perfect as you want it.
The bungalows are very spacious and beautiful decorated. They have a large bed (1,80 x 2,10m) and a very large bathroom. Normally we always eat outside in a restaurant but this time we've decided to cook in the bungalow so we had as much time in the accommodation. Thanks again for a perfect stay here!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avalon Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based on a 7-acre property featuring springs, streams, waterfalls, lakes, a pool, and a river, and set in a small valley overlooking the Kerikeri golf course, Avalon Resort offers luxury self contained cottages and studio units. Take a dive in our brand new spring water filled natural pool, take a kayak trip on the river, or just relax on your private deck. Based in Kerikeri town, Avalon is central to everything the Bay of Islands has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.