We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little patch of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Resort to your Saves list
Avalon Resort
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
“A little patch of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had the immense pleasure of staying here for a few days. Upon my arrival I felt very welcomed and was made to feel at home almost instantly.

The unit I stayed in was well beyond my expectations, and the glass of wine that greeted me after a long days travel was very much welcomed, as well as the 'real' coffee that was on offer, and not some sachet of the cheapest pretend coffee you get at most places...They really put a lot of thought into how the resort is perceived and my creature comforts.

The surroundings are just out of this world, and coming from a Flight Attendant background, and having stayed at many resorts during my career, I really felt that this could have been any resort I have visited in my past..

I cannot recommend the avalon Resort enough and look forward to coming back at Easter with my family so we can all enjoy this tranquil patch of heaven

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
75
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a fabulous place. Peaceful and beautiful, but a great base to visit the area. We only wished we had booked longer. The owner Willem was so welcoming and helpful, but not overbearing. We loved the friendly ducks and we have to mention Barbara the chicken. All good fun but not intrusive. You have to stay there to truly appreciate it, words don't do it justice

Room Tip: They are all high standard. If you want more space book a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place is amazing. Willem has truly created a paradise. Five stars is not enough. Barbara the resident friendly chicken makes her regular visits.
Be sure to also visit the Pear Tree Restaurant in Kerikeri. Excellent food and very good value.
Would definitely return here if we come back to the area.
Thank you Willem.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Avalon Resort is simply amazing. A beautiful oasis just on the edge of Kerikeri, with views over a neighbouring golf course and surrounding countryside. The beautiful lagoon-style pool is second to none. Relax in a hammock/lounger and then dip into the pool/spa/sauna. We stayed in Cottage Earth, 2 adults + 2 teenagers. Outstanding luxury! Willem (host) is really helpful and welcoming. I will definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am a regular at the Avalon resort and have been for a couple of years, Willem the host has made me so welcome over the time I have spent there and the accommodation is luxury and spotless. The trip is always made special by the warm welcome from Willem and the animals! Bitsy and Boobsy the pigs and the ducks are always around in the paddock and there is no better place to feel connected to nature. The evenings spent in the spa are also memorable and for the times when it rains there is a huge DVD collection in the office. I could not rate it highly enough!!!!

Room Tip: The cottage "Air" is right next to the paddocks with the pigs and the goats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I spent 6 days at Avalon Resort and found the facilities very good. We made good use of the spring water pool and kayaks whilst there. It was great to wake up to the fresh clean air of the country side as we come from the big smoke - Auckland.

We recommend Avalon Resort if you are looking for a laid back weekend/ week. Stress free.

We stayed in the air cottage which is one of four and was very homely and recommend this to others.

Thank you to our host and his family for making us very welcome from the beginning to the end of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Avalon resort for 2 nights was the weekend of the Keri Keri half marathon, We needed a place to relax & to recover from the marathon. The cottage we had was beautifully furnished with complimentry juice & really nice plunger coffee to welcome us also a loverly big bath to soak away the aches & pains that we received. There was also the use of a sauna if needed. We had veiws of tropical gardens a lake with friendly wild life(batman & Barbra) rolling hills which made for a very relaxing much needed out look & rest.Thank-you Willem for going the extr mile for us,will be back same time next year.

Room Tip: cottages are great for 2 or for 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avalon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based on a 7-acre property featuring springs, streams, waterfalls, lakes, a pool, and a river, and set in a small valley overlooking the Kerikeri golf course, Avalon Resort offers luxury self contained cottages and studio units. Take a dive in our brand new spring water filled natural pool, take a kayak trip on the river, or just relax on your private deck. Based in Kerikeri town, Avalon is central to everything the Bay of Islands has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.