We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive host, excellent cook and resourceful trip advisor all in one!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treghan Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Treghan Cottage to your Saves list
Treghan Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   394 B Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Wellington
1 review
“Attentive host, excellent cook and resourceful trip advisor all in one!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

This was our first trip to Bay of Islands and I found this little lovely b&b online. I booked 4 nights here based on positive reviews from fellow travellors. And they have been right. Location is quiet and private, room is bright and clean, and most importantly the hosts Wendy and Tony have made the place most relaxing and comfortable and we never wanted to leave!
Trips were booked for us even before our arrival. Wendy even planned a day trip for us to have a nice drive around tour. I believe her local knowledge beats most travel agents in that area.
Breakfast is prepared everyday with fresh fruits, top quality bacon and eggs all locally supplied. And don't miss Wendy's blueberry pancakes! They are world famous in New Zealand!!
Thanks again Wendy and Tony for the good time you have shown us!
Wayne

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
183
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Titirangi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We recently spent a few days and Christmas with Wendy and Tony, and had we not met them through the B&B, then surely we would have met as friends elsewhere in life! Their B&B is very well kept, clean and tidy and has lots of information for you about the area, and offers the perfect base from which to take great day trips and is a leisurely walk to the town of Kerikeri to enjoy some good food. Returning at night the yard and patio allows great night viewing of the stars, and heaven knows if your tired, those beds sure are comfortable!! For a special treat, make sure you bring home some vanilla chip ice cream to share with them and swap stories! Breakfast offers great food and conversation, and you must try one of Wendy's Flat Whites!! All in all, Treghan Cottage is a super choice for a B&B if you're looking for a home away from home! - Ken & Jen

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

We stayed with Tony and Wendy for a few days in December 09 and had a lovely weekend. The B and B is in a really nice quiet and picturesque location just out of Keri Keri. The rooms were lovely and clean and had all possible amenities. Tony and Wendy were great hosts, cooked an amazing breakfast and we had some excellent breakfast table conversation with them. We would definitely recommend Treghan Cottage to anyone looking to visit the Bay of Islands and we ourselves will head back here when next in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Tony and Wendy hosted our student daughter two years ago and we felt we had gotten to know them via various emails. This is a wonderfully welcoming B&B, exceptional even by New Zealand standards. The accommodation is faultless, the breakfast excellent, the welcome sincere and unfussed. They made several recommendations regarding trips and craftspeople which were invaluable too. And their restaurant recommendations were spot-on too - "Food" and "the Black Olive" - AND they drove us so we didn't have to miss out on the local Pinot Gris! We have recommended this to friends - in fact that's what we are doing in placing a review here on TA.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

I highly recommend a reservation @ Treghan Cottage. Your host: Wendy and Tony are outstanding! My husband and I felt very comfortable and at home! The breakfast which is included in the daily rate is excellent! The suite was very well appointed and filled with all the ammenties of home and more! Very clean! Don't miss out, you will surely enjoy your stay! Wendy and Tony give very insightful tips on what to do and we while you vacation on the Northland and will make reservations for you!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We chose this accommodation from the internet. The reviews led us to believe that it was exactly the type of place we liked and we were not disappointed. Our suite provided privacy and the decor was very stylish without being fussy. Wendy and Tony were superb hosts providing advice and information which enabled us to get maximum benefit from our short stay in Bay of Islands. Their breakfasts were to die for and the friendly chat with the other guests and Wendy and Tony were a great start to the day. Wendy's local restaurant recommendations, reservation and taxi service all helped to make our holiday memorable. We cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Having just finished walking the Queen Charlotte Track I could not have found a better place to relax & be "looked" after for a couple of days. They made wonderful "off the beaten track" suggestions for me to see & the recomended restaurants were excellent. My room was perfect & attention to detail amazing! I will be recomending Treghan to friends for their trip to NZ.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treghan Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treghan Cottage

Address: 394 B Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treghan Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Award winning large Luxury character cottage with stunning views, Rated in the Top 25 B&Bs in the South Pacific in 2012. Located less than 1k to the village and set back from the road (Map shows wrong location, we are on the Kerikeri Road) set in a secluded garden providing a quiet private retreat with a convenient location and stunning views. Experience the Kiwi's calling in our garden at night. All rooms have quality King beds/linen TV, Tea, Coffee facilities and full breakfast included in price (we are known for our delicious food). Treghan Cottage is designed with your privacy in mind. The separate guest wing has a private entrance & garden settings. Stroll down the Quail walk or relax with a glass of wine under the Pergola, an ideal location to unwind and take in the views. Adults only, sorry not suitable for children. Resident artist Tony Waldegrave's work on display and for sale along with other artist Jewellery and NZ Gifts. Gallery onsite. Suites: Premium Suite: We offer an apartment with stunning views, large private lounge, DVDs with this suite, bathroom and kitchenette Can have the option of being self catering with the kitchenette. Luxury suite: King room with balcony, private lounge and bathroom. All rooms have Stunning views (Both suites can also accommodate a fold down Italian slat bed (additional price for this inclusion) Centrally located for all trips, tours, vineyards and golf courses including Kauri Cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Treghan Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treghan Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.