We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place with fantastic hosts !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treghan Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Treghan Cottage to your Saves list
Treghan Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   394 B Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Sarthe
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with fantastic hosts !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Treghan Cottage and we enjoyed every minutes of it.
The house location is perfect ; quiet and not far from Kerikeri.
The rooms was spotless, decorated with taste and very confortable. It's so nice to find a slide of homemade cake when coming back from a day out !
Wendy and Tony are wonderful hosts that made us fell like at home. We had great chats during the amazing breakfasts (pancakes with blueberries, bacon and eggs, homemade muesli and fresh fruits and expresso !).

We will definitely stay again at Treghan Cottage.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Cottage, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, delivering relaxing well decorated rooms for our guests is important to us, we want you to feel at home in a relaxed comfortable environment. Our little treats are just a wee bit naughty but so nice to be spoilt when on holiday. regards Wendy & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
183
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Staying at Treghan Cottage is like staying with dear friends. Wendy and Tony leave nothing to chance and make sure you are not only very comfortable and well fed, but that you are well equipped for seeing the beautiful Far North of New Zealand. We stayed for 6 nights and left having made two lovely new friends. Wendy makes a fabulous breakfast, not to be missed is her stewed Rhubarb from their garden! Treghan is a place we will most certainly revisit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Cottage, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Oh how special was that, you left our place as very dear friends, a fantastic visit, come again soon there is more Rhubarb in the garden waiting for you. regards Wendy & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I came from Germany and I stayed in this wonderful cottage for four nights. I missed nothing! My room had an fantastic view, I got a delicious breakfast with really interesting conversations and Wendy and Tony were really helpful during my visit. I loved to be there!
Germany

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Cottage, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Your suite was the Fantail and being the only one on that level you get the best views from all rooms and the balcony, pleased you enjoyed it. So much to do up this way so your 4 day stay enabled you to cover so much, I would recommend this length of stay to other readers. Come back soon. regards Wendy & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our 4th trip to NZ and 1st visit to KeriKeri and the Bay Of Islands on 11/12/13. Our stay was very brief and did not allow for us to really enjoy the warm hospitality of Wendy and Tony. That being said what time we did spend together it was clear that Wendy is a fun hostess. Their property is beautiful. Although we stayed only one night we enjoyed a very early sunrise breakfast on the patio. The birds were singing in full glory. What a great way to start our day. If you're in the vicinity and want a private stay....go to Treghan Cottage....close to town however a real hideaway.

Room Tip: If available, ask for the downstairs suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Cottage, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I remember your visit fondly and your love of the bird life in the mornings singing to wake you up, it is glorious with no traffic noise to overpower their chorus. Come again soon for longer to enjoy our private retreat. regards Wendy & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed for one night, had I known how good it was I would have stayed longer. Both Wendy and Tony are excellent hosts and made the stay special. Breakfast was good to, almost as good as the conversation! I can recommend this B and B without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Cottage, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We really enjoyed your visit and yes one night is not enough as there is so much to do in the area, so pleased you would have liked to have stayed longer because we would have loved to have had you, do come again soon. Love the breakfast time fun and conversation. Regards Wendy & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay in treghan cottage. our hosts, wendy and tony were very warm and hospitable.the breakfast was of excellent quality. wendy gave good tips and advice on things to do in keri keri. i am particularly grateful to wendy for specially arranging to send me by post a couple of clothes which i have carelessly left in the wardrobe. this is indeed a demonstration of service going the extra mile!

Room Tip: excellent, comfy and cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Cottage, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, going the extra mile to make sure your holiday is fabulous is all part of the service we provide, it is our pleasure. Do come again soon for a longer stay in the area to explore more of the great sites. Regards Wendy & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A fantastic place to stay. Beautiful peaceful location with wonderful rural views; spotless accommodation, very well presented and bed was very comfortable. Wendy and Tony were very welcoming and offered valuable information on the local area and towels and rug for use during our sightseeing. Wendy's breakfasts were to die for - particularly her blueberry pancakes - and the friendly chats. We highly recommend this small piece of paradise. We certainly did not want to leave. Our stay was too short.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Cottage, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we treat our guests like we like to be treated when away and the personal trip service and great food, beds and surroundings are what we think is essential for a relaxing comfortable holiday. Do come again soon to our quiet private retreat. Regards Wendy & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treghan Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treghan Cottage

Address: 394 B Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treghan Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Award winning large Luxury character cottage with stunning views, Rated in the Top 25 B&Bs in the South Pacific in 2012. Located less than 1k to the village and set back from the road (Map shows wrong location, we are on the Kerikeri Road) set in a secluded garden providing a quiet private retreat with a convenient location and stunning views. Experience the Kiwi's calling in our garden at night. All rooms have quality King beds/linen TV, Tea, Coffee facilities and full breakfast included in price (we are known for our delicious food). Treghan Cottage is designed with your privacy in mind. The separate guest wing has a private entrance & garden settings. Stroll down the Quail walk or relax with a glass of wine under the Pergola, an ideal location to unwind and take in the views. Adults only, sorry not suitable for children. Resident artist Tony Waldegrave's work on display and for sale along with other artist Jewellery and NZ Gifts. Gallery onsite. Suites: Premium Suite: We offer an apartment with stunning views, large private lounge, DVDs with this suite, bathroom and kitchenette Can have the option of being self catering with the kitchenette. Luxury suite: King room with balcony, private lounge and bathroom. All rooms have Stunning views (Both suites can also accommodate a fold down Italian slat bed (additional price for this inclusion) Centrally located for all trips, tours, vineyards and golf courses including Kauri Cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Treghan Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treghan Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.