We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Cottages at Takou River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Magic Cottages at Takou River to your Saves list
Magic Cottages at Takou River
660 Takou Bay Road | Northland, Kerikeri 0246, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in the lodge, for my partner's birthday. It was wonderful, the lodge is very spacious and has such beautiful gardens. Lots of birdlife to watch and listen to, in the gardens, on the river bank and on the beach. It's a great place to relax and recharge batteries. We hope to be back with friends or family to share this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
79
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and stayed in "River Cottage" aiming for an escape from the hustle and bustle of city life. And what an escape it was! Pure bliss.The kiwi hot tub experience was magical; sitting in the hot tub surrounded by singing Tuis as the sun sets and the glow worms come out = divine.
Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My partner and I came here as we needed a relaxing weekend away from work and the city. After reading the reviews and looking at their website we thought this might just be the place. This more than lived up to expectations! We stayed in Magic Cottage and that is just what it was - magic. It is fully equipped to cook in and has a great BBQ on the deck. The al fresco bath was amazing; sitting there with a glass of wine listening to the beautiful river beneath you was so peaceful. The location just makes it, you can't hear a single thing apart from the birds and the gentle flow of the river. On the first night we booked the hot tub which was fantastic - I have never seen anything like it, riverside location, complete privacy; candles and a bottle of bubbly was exactly what we needed. We slept with the curtains to the cottage wide open (easy to do because it is so private) and woke up to the lovely view each morning. I would definitely recommend the paddle downstream to the very secluded and private beach which again, is beautiful. The water is crystal and clear and the sand is so soft, you just don't want to leave. There is so much to see and do on the grounds itself without having to leave. When we did leave however we were given really helpful advice from Anna on what we could do on our way home with our time constraints - we took her advice and had an amazing day on the trip home. The little touches just make this place even better, the bath robes, toiletries, slippers, beach mats and towels. Anna and Ian were lovely and more than helpful and we also had the pleasure of meeting their children. We are already planning our trip back - I couldn't recommend this place enough, it's a little slice of heaven.

Room Tip: Magic Cottage is perfect for a couple. I know there are other cottages which sleep more; I would de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second visit, my wife and I stayed in the "River Cottage" Fireplace, the look out, outside bath wow! The walk through the property really nice, Kayaking to and from Little Takou beach stunning as always. Warm and attentive hosts. Incredible location.

Room Tip: River Cottage would also be great for two couples or a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Magic Cottage on the 7th August for 2 nights at the beginning of our tour of New Zealand. Absolutely perfect way to start the trip. So calm and peaceful. Lying in the tub at night and staring at the stars through the trees is something I will airways remember. Had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The best part was the gentleman who helps to maintain the place came and gave us heaps of advice on where to go and what to see in the area and we had the most fantastic day after taking his advice. Great place wish I lived closer so I could have this as the perfect weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We took our three young children up to Takou River for a winter weekend. Wow! Gorgeous spot, very quiet and private. We had a great time exploring the grounds and taking the kids on their first canoe ride in the river. We stayed in the Shearer's Cottage - nicely done up and very warm and cozy with heaters and the fireplace in the living room. Couldn't have asked for more! Someday my husband and I will make it back by ourselves for a stay in the Magic Cottage! Whole place is darling. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had an truly amazing weekend at the river cottage. It's been a surprise how well everything went even though nobody was there anymore since we arrived a little late. The food we found was excellent. We got a massage on Saturday and this was a surprise as well since it has been an hour of relaxation and full enjoyment.
I'm sure we'll come back.
Thank you very much for the perfect place for the perfect hideaway weekend.

Room Tip: the river cottage we stayed sleeps up to 4 conveniently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Cottages at Takou River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Cottages at Takou River

Address: 660 Takou Bay Road | Northland, Kerikeri 0246, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a short distance from Kerikeri in the Bay of Islands and voted one of the Top Ten Luxury Lodges in New Zealand, Magic Cottages at Takou River are secluded and beautiful riverside retreats set on the banks of the picturesque Takou River. Within earshot of the sea at Takou Bay and surrounded by 150 acres of certified organic pasture, native bush and 5 acres of sub-tropical gardens, the 4 cottages and recently completed Lodge provide boutique self-catering accommodation that is eco-friendly yet still indulgent.Peace, seclusion and tranquility abound - a beautiful private river frontage; 150 acres of organic farmland with marked walks along the river bank, through native bush and pastures to secluded swimming and picnic spots; magical glow worms; 5 acres of beautiful sub-tropical gardens to wander and explore; our private jetty and boat house with free kayaks, canoes and fishing rods; and last but not least, access to the beautiful deserted sandy beaches at Takou Bay a short paddle or drive downstream. Once you've finished exploring, relax and unwind in the privacy of your cottage with a pampering massage or spa treatment. To complete your stay, gourmet meals are also available by prior arrangement. Magic Cottages are centrally located to explore the wider Bay of Islands and Far North, yet hidden away from the hustle and bustle amid 150 acres of organic pasture, native bush and river frontage. Enjoy the flourishing birdlife; wander enchanted gardens and riverside walks; paddle to Takou Bay; relax, refresh and romance in the claw foot bath – or bask in the bliss of doing absolutely nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Cottages at Takou River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Cottages At Takou River Hotel Kerikeri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Cottages at Takou River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.