We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, romantic outdoor bath experience under the stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Cottages at Takou River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Magic Cottages at Takou River to your Saves list
Magic Cottages at Takou River
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   660 Takou Bay Road | Northland, Kerikeri 0246, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning, romantic outdoor bath experience under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

All previous reviews on this website probably say it all - and we won't bore with with all the details of how wonderful our stay was.

But what we do want to talk about (and has not been previously mentioned) is our chance to experience an absolutely stunning and romantic outdoor bath right under the stars and by the candlelights.

We had no idea what to expect when we followed Ian in the dark just with a couple of flashlights guiding out way, but when we arrived at the site we were completely overwhelmed by the beautiful, romantic setting of the outdoor bath that was waiting for us there. We spent a couple of hours of intimate, yet relaxing time there. We would highly recommend this to any committed couple visiting.

We were also very touched by the genuine, warm hospitality Ian and Anna have shown to us.

It was truly a perfect weekend getaway for us.

We will definately stay with them again and recommend the property to everyone.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Magic Cottages at Takou River was an amazing experience. Our stay at River cottage was like a dream. This is a peaceful place where you can enjoy the birds waking you up in the morning, sunshine on the portch while drinking coffee or having a bath under the stars. The hosts are great and very friendly, they have thought about everything you can think of. The immaculate River cottage has 2 bedrooms with a bathroom downstairs. Upstairs is the dining, kitchen and living area. Nice deck flows from the living area with a view to beautiful scenery.
Grab a kayak and go down the Takou River to the beach, enjoy the walk around the farm, or simply relax and enjoy your book. Our experience was fantastic, we strongly recommend visitors to book this accommodation and expirience a life in escapism.
Thank you for warm hospitality Ian and Anna and the kids!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We loved our stay in the very special Magic Cottage. We were both really sad to leave after our 6 night stay. We stayed as a couple on our honeymoon and loved the outdoor bath, and waking up to a beautiful view every morning. The bay window was also a fantastic place to lay back and relax with a book, or just gaze out at the view - it was as if you were on a boat on the river.
Thanks for your warm hospitality Ian and Anna!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our family stayed at the Shearers cottage, 2 adults and 3 kids ages 2, 5 and 6. This cottage is set up more for familiies, it has 3 bedrooms, 2 doubles and a bunk room that the older two loved, as well as a enclosed private garden perfect for small children to run around in. The kitchen has everything for a large family and a good BBQ on the main deck. The weather was terrible whilst we were there and we were so glad we had stayed on a farm rather than a beach location. The kids collected eggs, fed the chickens and the pig, the caught their first fish in the river and played in the beautiful rain sodden garden around the cottages. We also took them out onto the river in one of the canoes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our stay at River Cottage was an absolute dream!!. The cottage, its location, surroundings and the views were absolutely stunning. To have such seclusion and peace and yet be within easy enough reach of the facilities of Kerikeri made it perfect and to see the stars like that is an experience that I don't think I shall ever forget. It was the high point of our trip. Everything was provided for, and more, and the helpful advice on the facilities, walks and attractions of the area was brilliant. The recommended eatery of the Cafe Jerusalem in Kerikeri was such good advice!!! Thank you, Anna and Ian.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon before moving on further up north. What a wonderful, romantic place. The seclusion and privacy is unbeatable, lots to do with walks, kayaking up the river to the beach etc and Keri Keri is so close for supplies, wineries and great restaurants... Food at Wharepuke is highly recommended! Never met the hosts, only the caretakers who were helpful. Yes this place has no electricity or cell phone but that is the beauty of it! Highly recommended and don't forget to try the al fresco bath... Pure bliss.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Privacy, tranquility, stunning location - Magic Cottage has the most perfect setting. A more peaceful and relaxing, yet interesting location would be hard to find, and comes strongly recommended. Exploring the Takou River by foot on the property's walking tracks, or by floating down by canoe to the River mouth and the ocean, or just watching it ripple past from the 'al fresco' bath on the deck of Magic Cottage - all your cares just melt away..... truly magical, and definitely to be repeated !! Thanks Anna and Ian.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Cottages at Takou River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Cottages at Takou River

Address: 660 Takou Bay Road | Northland, Kerikeri 0246, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Cottages at Takou River 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a short distance from Kerikeri in the Bay of Islands and voted one of the Top Ten Luxury Lodges in New Zealand, Magic Cottages at Takou River are secluded and beautiful riverside retreats set on the banks of the picturesque Takou River. Within earshot of the sea at Takou Bay and surrounded by 150 acres of certified organic pasture, native bush and 5 acres of sub-tropical gardens, the 4 cottages and recently completed Lodge provide boutique self-catering accommodation that is eco-friendly yet still indulgent.Peace, seclusion and tranquility abound - a beautiful private river frontage; 150 acres of organic farmland with marked walks along the river bank, through native bush and pastures to secluded swimming and picnic spots; magical glow worms; 5 acres of beautiful sub-tropical gardens to wander and explore; our private jetty and boat house with free kayaks, canoes and fishing rods; and last but not least, access to the beautiful deserted sandy beaches at Takou Bay a short paddle or drive downstream. Once you've finished exploring, relax and unwind in the privacy of your cottage with a pampering massage or spa treatment. To complete your stay, gourmet meals are also available by prior arrangement. Magic Cottages are centrally located to explore the wider Bay of Islands and Far North, yet hidden away from the hustle and bustle amid 150 acres of organic pasture, native bush and river frontage. Enjoy the flourishing birdlife; wander enchanted gardens and riverside walks; paddle to Takou Bay; relax, refresh and romance in the claw foot bath – or bask in the bliss of doing absolutely nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Cottages at Takou River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Cottages At Takou River Hotel Kerikeri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Cottages at Takou River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.