We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Spot Hidden away in Nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Cottages at Takou River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Magic Cottages at Takou River to your Saves list
Magic Cottages at Takou River
660 Takou Bay Road | Northland, Kerikeri 0246, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Magical Spot Hidden away in Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The Takou river majic cottages are truley a majic spot, the grounds are absolutley stunning, you could spend many hours exploring all the beautiful nooks and crannys of this property.
Kayaking along the river to the beach, swimming at the water hole, having a bath next to the river on our private deck - were just some of the highlights of the trip.
Highly reccoment to anyone who enjoys being emmersed in the beauty of nature.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
80
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Having read all the reviews, and once we arrived, to say we were both excited was an understatement. We had perfect weather and a perfect spot to start our honeymoon. Then the tractor started. No problem, we jumped into a kayak and paddled to Takou Beach for the afternoon, which was amazing. But when we returned at 5pm to fire up the BBQ and spend the evening on the decking, the tractor was still going. Non stop in the paddock right next door to our cottage, then every 15 minutes or so up the road behind the cottage to the farmhouse. Till 8:30pm. Then the next day from 10 till 8:30pm again. Groan. Well it was going to rain on Wednesday (it did), and the hay that had been cut needed to be picked up... well it probably did too... But I couldn't help feeling that in our case, the needs of the farm certainly outweighed the comfort of the guests in the cottages. Our room wasn't serviced the second day we were there (perhaps it wasn't meant to be), but there was no-one around... When it came time to pay, the owner wasn't available (up on the farm somewhere) so we had little option but to have a quiet grumble to the cleaner, pay the money and leave more than a little irritated. I'm sure had we been there on any other of the 363 days in the year, this review would be completely different. We'd still recommend going though, its a great spot.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takouriver, Owner at Magic Cottages at Takou River, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
We would just like to offer our sincere apologies to the couple who stayed on the 2 days that we made hay on the farm in March this year, and to assure future guests that this was very much a one off event, and to place tthis event in context.

We endeavoured to visit all our guests staying in the cottages in advance of the hay making to let everyone know that they might hear the tractor working slightly later in the evening, and to check that this would be ok. At the time we did all we could to make sure that everyone was happy with this, and didn't have any negative feedback, so we were very surprised and saddened to read this review, particularly as we pride ourselves on the peace and tranquility o of our location - reflected by the feedback we receive from 99.9% of guests staying with us.

We have owned our 150 acre certified organic farm for the past 7 years. The cottages are set in 5 acres of organic gardens, bordered by the Takou River, and guests have the beautiful 150 acres of famland to wander through, being able to enjoy the marked walkways through the pastures, alongside the river and through the native bush. The farm surroundings mean that the cottages are completely isolated from any other disturbances, such as road noise, traffic and other people and so it enhances the tranquility of the location. We would just like to assure future guests that in the past 7 years that we have owned and run the farm and cottages this is the first time we have ever made hay on the farm due to the exceptional weather, and it is extremely unlikely that we would do so again.

Just to finally clarify the point regarding the cottage being serviced. The cottages are self-catering holiday cottages (rather than serviced hotel or motel units) and while we will always of course provide fresh towels and linen should they be needed, we don't "service" the rooms on a daily basis. This is very much in line with holiday cottage accommodation (and in line with how we advertise the cottages), and ensures that guests' privacy is preserved and they can enjoy their stay undisturbed; which is very much their reason for coming to Takou River. We do apologise if this wasn't realised.

Once again, we're so sorry that these guests were disturbed, and they were absolutely correct in asserting that this was very much a one off event ( 2 days of haymaking in the past 2,555 days of operations!) and we're so pleased that they would still recommend staying at Takou River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Wow!!! We stayed in Magic Cottage for 2 nights for our first wedding anniversary. It was everything we were hoping for and more! Nestled on the bank of Takou River with Pohutakawa trees overhanging the river and the only noise was the gentle river and beautiful birdsong. The outside claw foot bath on the deck was so lovely to relax in surrounded by gentle candle light as the sun set.

The cottage has everything you need. I loved the bay window and all the sweet details including fresh flowers in our room! We wandered around the lush gardens, went kayaking down the river, had a massage on the deck and I climbed the big Pohutakawa!

Theres no mobile reception either, another bonus! Thank you Anna and Ian for an amazing 2 nights!! Ill be booking again soon!
x

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

what an amazing place to stay by the stunnngly beautiful and tranquil Takou River. outdoor baths on the deck, listening to the wonderful birdlife - it does not get any better. lovely botique accomodation. 5 star all the way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The venue is quite amazing...quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are very well appointed, spacious and have everything you could think of. The staff were very helpful but not at all obtrusive. The gronds and farm give you plenty to look at and walk around.The river kyaking was great, down to a secluded beach. Great for a walk and a swim. Everything was spot on! Definitely recommended and we intend to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Cleverly converted, prefabricated agricultural buildings surrounded by beautiful sub-tropical gardens. Access is via a long and progressively narrower and twisty gravel road. The journey to the end of the road is worth the effort. We stayed in the lodge for a week. It is very big (huge bathroom), very tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished. It’s also completely equipped as a family home – which it was for the owners Ian and Anna while they built their current home. There is WiFi in the lodge but the television is only connected to a DVD player (there is no TV antenna connection). Your mobile phone won’t work.. At the reception there is a computer and a wired telephone available to guests. There are some music CDs and DVDs available but if you want your own music take an ipod and a double-ended 3.5mm jack cable to connect with the lodge stereo.
The view from the lodge across the garden towards the tidal river and the hills beyond is a feast for your eyes. There are kingfishers, tuis, a small flock of parrots and fantails in the trees. Partridges and rabbits feed on the lawn outside the kitchen window.
Access to the deserted sandy beach is by kayak down the river. There is a boatshed with a selection of canoes/kayaks paddles and life jackets for the guests. The river is tidal with a gravelly bottom - It can be very shallow in some places. In the estuary near the beach, it is not easy to see where the channel is. At low tide you may have to drag the boat a long way over the sand to or from the high-water mark. This is a place to unpack all your stuff, put your luggage out of site, and then relax. When you can drag yourself away from the lodge and it’s oasis of peace and tranquillity, there are groceries, restaurants, ATMs and all the other trappings of civilization available in Kerikeri (20 minutes by car).
Thank you Ian and Anna and the whole team for our wonderful stay and all your effort to make our stay such a wonderful one. We can’t wait to come back, but then for a minimum of 14 days.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

This was our first stop on our tour of New Zealand and we didn't want to leave. We stayed for four nights in summer cottage and had access to the summer house which was delightful. The accomodation was first class in beautiful surroundings, the perfect place to relax and unwind. The canoe ride to the beach is a must along with the walk around the farm. Anna was really helpful informing us of the local things to see and do. It is the perfect romantic escape, simply wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Cottages at Takou River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Cottages at Takou River

Address: 660 Takou Bay Road | Northland, Kerikeri 0246, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a short distance from Kerikeri in the Bay of Islands and voted one of the Top Ten Luxury Lodges in New Zealand, Magic Cottages at Takou River are secluded and beautiful riverside retreats set on the banks of the picturesque Takou River. Within earshot of the sea at Takou Bay and surrounded by 150 acres of certified organic pasture, native bush and 5 acres of sub-tropical gardens, the 4 cottages and recently completed Lodge provide boutique self-catering accommodation that is eco-friendly yet still indulgent.Peace, seclusion and tranquility abound - a beautiful private river frontage; 150 acres of organic farmland with marked walks along the river bank, through native bush and pastures to secluded swimming and picnic spots; magical glow worms; 5 acres of beautiful sub-tropical gardens to wander and explore; our private jetty and boat house with free kayaks, canoes and fishing rods; and last but not least, access to the beautiful deserted sandy beaches at Takou Bay a short paddle or drive downstream. Once you've finished exploring, relax and unwind in the privacy of your cottage with a pampering massage or spa treatment. To complete your stay, gourmet meals are also available by prior arrangement. Magic Cottages are centrally located to explore the wider Bay of Islands and Far North, yet hidden away from the hustle and bustle amid 150 acres of organic pasture, native bush and river frontage. Enjoy the flourishing birdlife; wander enchanted gardens and riverside walks; paddle to Takou Bay; relax, refresh and romance in the claw foot bath – or bask in the bliss of doing absolutely nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Cottages at Takou River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Cottages At Takou River Hotel Kerikeri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Cottages at Takou River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.