We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the great expense” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pawhaoa Bay Lodge

Save Saved
You added Pawhaoa Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pawhaoa Bay Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Whangaruru North Road, Bland Bay, RD 4 Hikurangi, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 84 Bay of Islands B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the great expense”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My husband and I recently spent three weeks in New Zealand and stayed in a variety of B&Bs and Lodges most of which were wonderful experiences. We greatly looked forward to our stay at Pawhaoa Bay Lodge. We found our cottage to be lovely, and clean. We booked dinner for $90 per person and found the three courses, wine not included, to be meager. Fortunately, we brought our own wine for dinner and cheerios for the following morning. Breakfast was not included with our cottage rental. As compared to other great lodges we have stayed at, including Hapuka Lodge, we found Pawhaoa Bay to be more expensive and rather disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Claire and Bill have a slice of heaven at Pawhaoa Lodge. Claire is simply a culinary genius- we enjoyed every mouthful, made even more delicious knowing that most of the vegetables were grown in their garden. It is such a luxury to walk out of your bedroom, across the lawn to the water. The views across the bay are serene with moments of action as birds dive and fish literally leap out of the water. The surrounding area is wonderful for half or whole day walks. If the weather isn't good for out door activities then there are plenty of books and movies you can watch, or enjoy a game of cards in the spacious living room. Claire and Bill are such wonderful people and welcoming hosts who have created a stunning lodge. We hope we will return every year!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Words cannot express my feelings on arrival at Pawhaoa Bay Lodge.....the peace and tranquility of the Lodge can only be described as utterly perfect. I felt I had entered another world (a calm, restful one )
Our wonderful hosts Claire and Bill have worked endlessley for years to create this very special Lodge and the attention to detail and the setting is perfection.
Claire knowledge of cooking and presentation and Bill's knowledge of New Zealand life in general but especially of his own local environment are second to none.
Highlights of our trip included a wonderful welcome display by the dolphins on our arrival (how Bill trains them I don't know!!) and a fantastic fish breakfast, cooked by Claire, of the fish we had caught some 30 minutes earlier.
I cannot recommend this Lodge more highly and I hope to return again one day with my family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed in one of the self contained huts on the property, which had views of the bay from the sitting room, upstairs bedroom and bath; Everything was well appointed, tasteful and clean. All our requests were cheerfully met by hosts Bill and Claire who are excellent company and have clearly made this place a labour of love. We had breakfast and dinner in the main lodge, and Claire is an excellent cook who took seriously my request for a low carb diet, and still produced delicious, imaginative meals over 5 nights. (She also brought a delicious cooked breakfast over to our lodge on a tray when it was wet and blowy outside). It's an isolated location that lends itself to reading, walking and being low key whilst in a beautiful setting. Drinks on Bill's beautifully crafted seats on the sand, watching the sun set over the water, are not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireNewZealand, Owner at Pawhaoa Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Thankyou for such lovely comments. You descibe staying in one of the "huts". We believe the word " Villa" more acurately represents the accommodation you stayed in. We have 2 Villas which provide a choice of selfcatering or fully catered facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Pawhaoa Bay Lodge was a last minute addition to our trip after we decided to fly from Queenstown back to Auckland for two days before our return flight to the US. What a bit of serendipity it was. Pawhaoa had excellent reviews on TripAdvisor -- and deserves every one and many more. The location is a dream -- sort of what I would imagine of the perfect spot in Hawaii. Claire and Bill are the perfect hosts, and the facility was custom built for its purpose as a luxury small lodge catering to guests who expect the best. We stayed in one of the two attached villas slightly apart from the main building -- both are extraordinary with an incredible modern (and huge) bathroom, bedroom and balcony on the second floor On the main floor is a fully equipped kitchen and laundry facility, a half bath, and a large lounge with a deck overlooking the beach and water. The gardens are amazing -- they were planted when the Hurst’s purchased the property in the mid 1990’s -- long before the lodge was built. Sitting on your deck, or the balcony, overlooking the plantings and the water just yards away is about as good as it gets. Add to this the most amazing cooked breakfasts, with a special featured dish each morning (ricotta pancakes with strawberries our first day, local sweet corn fritters with eggs and bacon the second) as well as all the “standard” items. Almost all the food is home made -- including fruit compotes and granola -- and there is also the option of having dinner in the main lodge’s dining room with other guests, or in your villa on the deck, or in various other spots in the garden. You may bring your own wine to dinner, or avail yourself of one of the reasonably priced bottles on the list that Bill selects -- excellent choices all. Prior to dinner there are complementary appetizers and wine -- even if you do not opt for the dinner option. Many activities are available -- including kayaking, which we loved, fishing, walks and hikes in the area, carefully selected day trips that Bill and Claire can describe to the many interesting points of interest in the area, as well as Claire’s incredible collection of almost 500 DVD’s. We watched a wonderful movie -- The Fastest Indian -- about a Kiwi who in the 1950’s and 1960’s customized an old Indian motorcycle and took it to the Bonneville Salt Flats during “speed week”. It was a terrific movie -- and not one I would ever have picked out but one that Claire highly recommended. Norm and I loved it. Now I want to go back for 494 more days so I can watch every DVD in her collection . All in all, I cannot imagine that Huka Lodge or Blanket Bay are any more luxurious -- and they are certainly a great deal more expensive .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

This is our 4th year of holidaying at Pawhaoa Bay Lodge and in 2008 we held our Civil Union here - and people still talk about it! Why do we keep coming back? Some of the many reasons - the warmth and hospitality of hosts Claire and Bill, the idyllic location (right on the water), the tranquility, privacy, superb rooms and facilities (kayaking, fishing, walking). We usually take the self-service option of the villas but also have had the pleasure of Claire's gourmet cooking....not to mention the fabulous coffees and 'treats".
Once we are there we just do not wish to move (or leave).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My fiance and I had such a fantastic stay at Pawhaoa Lodge. We stayed in the main lodge and absolutely loved it. After plenty of exhausting touring in New Zealand, we were so happy to relax in the lodge's lovely setting and let Bill and Claire pamper us with amazing food and wine. Breakfast is not to be missed!

There are tons of outdoorsy activities to take advantage of, but we were quite content to lay on the couch and read, snuggle in the cozy bed and watch movies, and enjoy a glass while watching the sun going down and dolphins frolicking in Bland Bay. Bill and Claire are great hosts and, even though we were totally lazy, no detail was left to chance.

Our room -- and the entire lodge -- was perfectly appointed and very comfortable. We will definitely be back and will enthusiastically recommend Pawhaoa Lodge in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pawhaoa Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pawhaoa Bay Lodge

Address: Whangaruru North Road, Bland Bay, RD 4 Hikurangi, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Bay of Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pawhaoa Bay Lodge 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pawhaoa Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pawhaoa Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.