We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salute!

Salute!
83 Main Street, Greytown 5953, New Zealand
06 304 9825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Greytown
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Go for lunch and share some tapas. Duck risotto (& "quackling"), Chorizo & cabbage slaw, cheese fondue and crispy pork belly are among my faves. Great food, great service. Indulge now.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After getting a recommendation to try the arancini from the Tapas menu we duly did along with the crispy pork belly, Greek salad, shoestring fries and pan fried potato and halloumi gnocchi. For two people it was more than enough and we didn't finish the fries. It would have been nice to have 2 of the little dishes of aioli sauce even for the amount of fries that we ate but that is a small gripe.

The dessert of Lemon fritters with pomegranate molasses and vanilla ice cream was fantastic though. Lovely tangy sauce, very light fritters coated with sugar a little like a nice light jam donut (UK style). We shared one dish between two which was ample for us after what we had just eaten.

That lot didn't give us any change out of $75 so I'll leave it to you to decide whether or not it is expensive but it was enjoyable and budget allowing we may well return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place was recommended and the duck & porcini risotto along with the Moroccan Coleslaw were the standout dishes to try. Thanks to this recommendation as we ordered these dishes to share along with the pork belly in a pomegranate/lime/chilli dressing. Every mouthful was sublime, the service efficient and at a great cost. We had to purchase the pomegranate/lime/chilli sauce and this wonderful lunch set us up for some shopping in Greytown.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Delicious and creatively prepared food, in a very pleasant atmosphere, with attentive and considerate serving staff. Very enjoyable, we will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just a few quiet ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hubby and I enjoyed a couple of hours sitting on the deck in the sun sipping sangria and posh beer - it was a quiet Friday afternoon and we almost had the place to ourselves. Lovely barlady and great location watching Greytown humming along. Quite pleasant indeed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salute! also viewed

Greytown, Wairarapa
Greytown, Wairarapa
 
Greytown, Wairarapa
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to Salute!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salute!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.