We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turkey Red Country Hotel

Turkey Red Country Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greytown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turkey Red Country Hotel
Save
You added Turkey Red Country Hotel to your Saves list
53 Main St, Greytown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Greytown B&B and Inns
Carterton, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the Turkey Red Hotel and found it to be very nice. The accommodation was clean, cozy and tastefully decorated.
I found the owner and her daughter to be very generous, friendly and a pleasure to talk to. Beers are cheap at $5, and it's got a great outdoor area to chill out, nice garden setting with chess and other things to do. It was nice and quiet being the middle of the week. Really found it to be a much needed sanctuary. Thanks Heaps

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
3
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having driven 600km because of car problems I was absolutely shattered and all I wanted was a decent meal and an early night. I ordered fish and chips. Fish was still frozen in middle. It is now nearly midnight and my room is over the bar with music pounding away. I can hear very word of songs. Its like being down in the middle of it. This is probably the worst place I have ever stayed in. Am seriously thinking of leaving to sleep in my car.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurkeyRed G, Manager at Turkey Red Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi M,

Thanks for the feedback -we are really disappointed that your stay was not great. TurkeyRed is a country pub with accommodation and does have music playing as most pubs do at the weekends, we do try to quieten it down realtively early... the weekend just gone was a big weekend in the Wairarapa and there were quite a few people out and about/staying which makes the pub busier and open later. I understand you had not pre-booked and just popped in to see if we had a room? The pub would have been busy around then which may have given you an indication of the environment. As for the meal, that certainly is not good, if you had made us aware at the time we would have sorted it out for you on the spot. Please accept our apologies,

TurkeyRed Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had a grab one for two nights and a 3 course meal.This is a very old hotel but very clean and wondersful service.The meal was lovely and very generous. Being on the main highway you do get a lot of traffic noise. The highlight of our stay is we were upstairs in our room when the earthquake struck and that certainly was an experience but the old girl kept standing even through the rock and rolling.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

While this converted garage is finished to a good enough standard, the toilet facilities at the back of the pub are so gross we chose to walk half a block to use the public toilets instead. Noisy late night pub patrons kept us from a good nights sleep as well.

On futher investigation we could have got a better deal ($60 a night more though) just down the road at a fresh little motel away for pup smoke and noisy late night patrons.

Unfortunately I paid Turkey Red up front for our 2 night stay and they wouldnt give me a refund when we tried to vacate after the first night.

They're a struggling business and it shows

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

travelling through and looking for somewhere to stop for lunch. We choose Turkey Red. They had a lunch special on. The food didn't look large when served but was surprisingly good especially the Chicken and Leek pie which was a 10/10. The outdoor area was good - they had plenty of seating and outdoor chess board and badminton nets to entertain. Handy as we had two teenagers with us. The toilets were not as good as they could have been but were clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place sucked.We booked through a Grabone Deal.They omitted to tell us there was a 40th party booked that night.Meal was very small..Room was clean but shared amenities not great.Worst thing was room was right over pub and music just pounded away.We left and went home in the middle of the night.When I rang owner to tell her she admitted she should have told us how noisy it would be.She was not interested in giving a refund.I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurkeyRed G, Owner at Turkey Red Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
The only 40th Birthday that the Hotel has hosted was in June. The reveiwer states they stayed in July 2013 . All guests who booked in that Saturday where told of the event prior and asked if they would prefer another night.
We had several different groups staying who joined in the celebrations. A review has been posted regarding this birthday celebration. All refunds are done through Grabone and not the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are looking for a luxury 5 star resort experience then this is not for you. But, if you like value for money and a comfortable country pub experience, then go for it. Turkey Red is a renovated old country pub with a funky feel. The rooms, while not large, are a pleasant surprise. The bathrooms are shared and are clean and tidy and you have dressing gowns supplied. The service is warm and friendly and the food is tasty. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turkey Red Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turkey Red Country Hotel

Address: 53 Main St, Greytown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Greytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a new backpackers suite The Stables for budget accommodation.We can accommodate groups of up to 24poeple in our hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkey Red Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.