We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Parehua Martinborough to your Saves list
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   52 New York Street West, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 nights, save 10%
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived from Auckland for a 3 night stay. We had cottage number 1, beautifully appointed, with an outlook over the lawn & lakes. The cottage had a gas fire place as well as a good heater. Lovely kitchen & bathroom, just wish the bathroom had underfloor heating!

We ate at The Pavillion on the first evening & the food was superb. Our waitress Kristina was so accommodating & very professional, great service throughout our 3 night stay. Breakfast was fine, just wish there had been a few gluten free labelled options, but upon request toast was provided.

Would recommend staying here to anyone. Merry our high expectations.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you were provided with excellant service from our team and Restaurant Manager.
We enjoyed hosting you at our Resort and we look forward to your return.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    43
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
107
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the standard room (Winemakers cottage).
The property is situated a 10-15 minute walk outside the centre square of Martinborough, next to a vineyard (not sure which one) and across the road for Nga Waka's vineyards. Despite being outside the town centre, the nice thing is Martinborough is very small and most of the wineries are close together.
When we stayed the place was pretty empty, so I was quite surprised they didn't upgrade us to a room with a view. The room itself is very nice, although the view is of the other rooms. Nice bathroom with fireplace and good heating. Also very clean and quite self-contained.
We hired bikes for the day, and I thought the price of $30/day for bike hire was pretty steep (I assumed it would be included, and I'd say the bike itself wasn't worth much more than the daily fee!). Despite this, riding around the wineries was great fun and highly recommended!
Breakfast was included and was good.
Overall I did like this place, but I think next time I go to Martinborough I'll try to stay in a winery or somewhere a bit more personal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, we appreciate your comments.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again, we welcome you back again in the near future,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Spent a night here with friends. Accommodation fantastic, hot-tub a must! Meal in restaurant, food delicious, staff very attentive and friendly. Could not fault the experience and would definitely recommend to others, easy drive from Wellington!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Kia Ora

Thank you for your great remarks about Peppers Parehua, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here.

We would be very happy to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we have just returned from peppers parehua ( it was actually our honey moon) the accommodation was amazing, meet all our exceptions! The outdoor cedar tub is a must, a quick dip morning and night relaxes you even more, ate at the restaurant the first night and had the 5 course degustation menu...it was actually the best food we had in Martinborough and Sarah our waitress was very sweet. breakfast every morning was a feast.. you had the option of ordering a cooked brekkie of your choice, which is great!
We look forward to returning, hopefully for our 1 year anniversary as its a real treat and very much appreciated!
So Thanks to Simon and his team for a lovely stay
Vanessa and Greg

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your recent review on Peppers Parehua, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon and dining expereince at Peppers Parehua.

We welcome you back again in the near future and once again congratulations!


Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent a weekend in Martinborough for our 40th anniversary and this was just the right sort of romantic place to stay. We stayed in a Winemakers Cottage, though doubt a winemaker has lived there! It was very roomy and nicely furnished. Nice leafy outlook - you pay more for lakes etc. The kitchen was so well set up that we thought we could come back sometime and buy local produce and cook for ourselves. The breakfast was really good. We would stay again as the extra you pay compared to a motel gives you heaps more comfort and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, we appreciate your comments.
We are glad to hear you had a "lovely stay" and hope to welcome you back again in the near future,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington (NZ)
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

What an enjoyment is was to stay at Peppers Parehua. Lovely facilities and staff. Beautiful food to cap off a memorable stay in the wine district of the Wairarapa. We used a Winemakers Cottage and it was just right for the two of us. Great Spa Bath!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Kia Ora

Thank you for your review on Peppers Parehua Martinborough, the team are very happy tohear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have stayed at Peppers Parehua Martinborough five times and experienced the garden cottage, wine makers cottage and lakeside cottage, we had the included 5 course dinner in our deal and it was delicious, the restaurant staff were very accommodating and we experienced excellent service throughout. Looking forward to or next experience there soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Kia Ora,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are very happy to hear you always enjoy your experience with us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon at Peppers Parehua and thank you for always opting for Peppers Parehua for a lovely nights getaway.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Address: 52 New York Street West, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary and chic, Parehua Country Estate is in the world-class Wairarapa wine region; a short stroll from Martinborough Village. Set amongst park-like grounds with willow-fringed lake, the estate overlooks a panorama of countryside from the Martinborough Terraces to the Tararua Ranges. Uncompromisingly spacious and stylish, luxury cottages, suites and villas have been thoughtfully positioned to provide the very best of privacy and views. Parehua Country Estate is the perfect place to retreat, escape, relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Parehua Martinborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.