We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Parehua Martinborough to your Saves list
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   52 New York Street West, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Donegal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked a last minute night away in Peppers and really enjoyed our stay. We wanted somewhere close to Wellington and decided on Martinborough.
The entrance to the property could do with a little work. I think it does not reflect the luxury throughout the rest of the property. The staff were very friendly and professional. We stayed in the Winemakers cottage and the room standard was excellent. The gas fire was wonderfully comforting on a cold night. The room was so comfortable from the living area to the bathroom to the bedroom. Unfortunately the underfloor heating was not working in the bathroom. The tea and coffee making facilities were great. The decor is sophisticated and comfortable. The standard of cleanliness is fantastic. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good. We had expected a little better though. I had a fish special and the fish was lovely but the accompanying sauce very bland. My partner had the fillet Mignon and he enjoyed it. We shared the chocolate tasting plate and it was delicious. The breakfast was beautiful, excellent selection of cereals, breads, fruit and pastries. Although the cooked breakfast was a little cold.

Overall we had a lovely night away and will be back in the summer. We would highly recommend a romantic night away here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, we appreciate your comments made and have taken them all on-board.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend getaway and we look very forward to hosting you again in the summer when you join us again for your romantic night getaway.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    51
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
128
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Parehua in the weekend for one night, we have stayed before and loved it. The only thing letting this amazing place down is the food and privacy.
We were in a Lake-side cottage which wasn't too much different from the Winemakers Cottage we stayed at last time - just the view. The rooms are outstanding, from the comfortable beds, to the layout of the rooms to the bathroom - though the underfloor heating was not working this time.
The disappointment was in the food, we had a five course degustation, the starter was average (Artisan Bread Selection), we never got the Amuse Bouche, the entree was average (arancini balls), the main was lukewarm and lamb was very fatty (lamb rump) and dessert was good. The service was amazing right through and staff were very friendly and helpful.
The next morning, had breakfast delivered to the room, and it was less than average, food was cold, and for a four and a half star place was pretty poor.
In regards to the privacy, we were sitting in our bathrobes having a glass of wine on the 'private outdoor seating' and three couples, one with a baby walked past and stared right at us and one couple even took a photo!
I would stay here again but will not be dining in the restaurant, Martinborough has far superior dining places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.
We regret the shortcomings in our restaurant that you have reported.

This is not up to our usual standard and we apologise once again for the "disappointment" you experienced in our Restaurant during your stay.
We are glad to hear that the service and room ammenities were of a high standard, we strive to enable a "5 star" stay for all our guests.
We look forward to hosting you again soon in the near future and we have faith that you will have an enjoyable experience in our restaurant for your third time.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We started here for one night and it was fantastic. The weather was awful but the staff had our fire lit already so the secluded cottage war lovely and warm and welcoming. We had dinner in their restaurant and the good was amazing with locally matched wines. Staff were really friendly and made us feel at home. Amazing place, shame about the weather!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable night here in one of our Secluded cottages.

We look forward to having you back again soon and to making sure your stay is just as comfortable as before.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were only here for one night and a very pleasant experience it was too. The room was very comfortable and warm (it was a very cold night) and the gas fire added that extra ambience. The very nice breakfast was included in our room cost which all in all was very reasonable for this standard of accommodation. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The only downside was that there was a mix up with our bill and we were overcharged. However that was easily sorted out. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the Martinborough town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are so pleased to here you had a "superb" stay here, we thoroughly enjoyed having you here and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Last minute trip planned for the night.
Staff were very accomodating to get us in, book a massage and dinner.
We left early on Sunday, so breakfast was delivered the night before - very nice continental breakfast....
Only down side was the dinner, food was not as good as I remember....
The desserts were really disappointing, and the steak was overcooked - other than that the quality of food was good.
We felt like we were being rushed out (tried to move our booking from 7.45pm to 8.15) but they could only accomodate 8pm as they said there were no tables, but it was clear when we arrived that we were the last to dine, and the kitchen wanted to close (the waitress was lovely - did not get this impression from her).
We got to have our dessert delivered to the room which was nice - but as I have said the quality wasn't great....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, we appreciate your comments made and have taken them all on-board.

We are glad to hear you had a "lovely stay" and hope to welcome you back again in the near future,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Very clean & lovely cedar spa on front deck. Was a cold night & there was a lovely fireplace (gas) & oil heater in case it got too cold. Full mini bar & antipodes (my fave) sparkling water in the fridge too. Recommend staying here ;)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Kia Ora

Thank you for your review on Peppers Parehua Martinborough, the team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Very well appointed and secluded rooms. Very comfortable and close to everything in Martinborough ( although its only a small place). We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant. Only compliant, in place that offers a quality experience why would the bed sheets be polyester and the towels on the small side

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Kia Ora,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Peppers Parehua. Our sheets are all brand new with being purchased only a few weeks ago, please note they are indeed all 100% cotton.

We do hope to see you again at Peppers Parehua in the very near future.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Address: 52 New York Street West, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 5 acres of park-like grounds amongst the internationally renowned wineries of the Wairarapa wine region at Martinborough, Peppers Parehua Martinborough boasts panoramic views stretching to the Tararua Ranges. At Peppers Parehua Martinborough you have the choice of designer accommodation including Winemakers Cottages, Secluded Cottages, Woodland Villas, plus Garden and Lakeside Cottages. All Peppers Parehua Martinborough accommodation is contemporarily designed and features full self-catering facilities, gas fireplaces, spa baths and in-room selections of gourmet treats and regional wines. Peppers Parehua Martinborough is an easy 10 minute walk from the Martinborough Wine Village and is the perfect retreat for unwinding and relaxing. If something more energetic is on the cards, guests can enjoy the all-weather tennis court and swimming pool. In the evening the Pavilion's bar is the place to be for pre-dinner drinks, followed by dinner in the restaurant. Our dinner menu showcases the finest local produce, with the picturesque trees and lawns of Peppers Parehua Martinborough providing a fitting backdrop. All children younger than 2 years can stay free of charge when using existing beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Parehua Martinborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.