We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Parehua Martinborough to your Saves list
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   52 New York Street West, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 nights, save 10%
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gourmet Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked the Peppers "Gourmet Trail Package" which included accommodation, breakfast and a tasting platter of local delicacies. Lovely surrounds, vineyards right next door and only 15 minute walk into town. We stayed in a "Winemakers' Cottage" and these are scattered around the property, all very private, peacefully and quiet. The cottage itself was fabulous, fitted with a push-button fireplace (didn't need it as it was an unusually balmy 30 degrees when we arrived), bi-fold doors leading onto a little patio, great bathroom with a deep spa bath and a fully equipped kitchen. The property also has a swimming pool and an on-site restaurant. Martinborough is lovely with a number of places to eat or you can get some provisions at the local supermarket, a nice bottle of the local pinot and enjoy it back in your Winemakers' Cottage. Make sure you visit the Martinborough Wine Centre where the knowledgeable staff will put a tasting of local wines together for you. Or you can visit the individual vineyards by foot or bike.

PS. Considering that the day tours visiting the Martinborough region from Wellington are quite expensive, we could hire a car and stay for a couple of nights for just about the same cost. This way you can really experience everything this fabulous region has to offer, including a side trip to Greytown (15 minutes by car), a cute little town ideal for spending an afternoon.... lots of quaint and quirky shops and a fabulous French Patisserie .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are so pleased to here you had a lovely peaceful and quiet private getaway.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you here and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    43
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
107
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent rooms which are stylish, functional and comfortable.
Although we only stayed on night on our way back to Wellington, you could quite easily stay here a week, while exploring the area.
Rooms are private and the hotel appeared to be kid free! So much peace and quiet!
There is also an open gas fireplace, which would be a hit in the winter months.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the far end (19, 20) you will have your own private grassed backyard area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team is very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough and found our cottages to be stylish, functional and comfortable.

The team here at Peppers Parehua look forward to having you back again soon for your much needed week escape :)

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was raining, when we come to this place. So, we enjoyed our time mostly in the beautiful chalet (room). Because it was quite cool, we lit the cheminée (fireplace) in the living room and immediatly it was cosy and warm. The dinner was great with a good glass of wine... Thanks

Room Tip: choose a room on an edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are very happy to hear you had a lovely experience at Peppers Parehua and our small lake.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is an absolutely fabulous place to stay. The view from our cottage was breathtaking and so peaceful which was just what we needed since we live in the city. The guy on reception was very friendly as were the staff at breakfast. I have read some reviews saying that the sound proofing wasn't good but we had people in the cottage attached to us and you would barely know they were there. I can't recommend this place highly enough. I didn't want to leave and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are thrilled to hear you had an "excellant" stay and look very forward to welcoming you back.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I were given a one nights stay in the Winemakers Cottages for our wedding present. Arrived on a stunning day - warm welcome at reception - upgraded and paid for cooked breaksfast and off to our room. Sadly for us and very sadly for this review - we were alongside smokers who prevented us from having our front doors and windows open all through the hot and steamy afternoon. As we had unpacked - we decided not to ask for a relocate and wandered around the venue and drove into town for some fresh air. Returned and decided to dine at the hotel - booked in advance [u need to commit by 4pm] and wandered along at 6.45pm. By this stage there were good numbers of diners enjoying their outdoor table settings under trees and when we asked for this setting too we were immediately told that there was no room for us and that we could sit inside the restaurant [hot and stuffy] I asked if we could have a table "set up" out there also and the reluctant staff member said "well you'll have to help carry a table out" - By this stage I decided to flag this poor attitude and we departed into town to have a meal. [very nice at the Martinborough Hotel] As your staff were unable / unwilling to provide 5 star service - you missed out on 2 x degustation dinners and wine - at least $400+!!!!! As we checked out on Sunday my cheery reception fellow duly asked how our stay was - - - and I expressed my disappointment but did not wish to elaborate amongst fellow guests. We will not return here and am extremely saddened that Ken Baddeleys vision has never been upkept and maintained.

Room Tip: ask to be away from smokers ask to have a view of the ponds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported in our restaurant, this is not up to our usual standard and further training has been implemented.

We hope that you will be back again in the future,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our second stay at Parehua and once again didn't want to leave. The villa's are very tasteful and are well equipped. Sitting on the deck in the sun looking out to the lake with a glass of wine is magic and so relaxing. Location is so peaceful but a bit of a hike to the restaurants, wineries and cafes, so a car is an advantage. Only gripe was one of the morning wait staff at breakfast was not very welcoming and could barely smile at the guests, we thought she may have gotten out of the wrong side of the bed but next morning she was the same, perhaps hospitality isn't her 'career'. The other staff were all very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided with during breakfast was inconsistent. The issue you raised about a staff member was addressed with the respective departmental manager and additional training implemented accordingly.

We hope to have the oppurtunity to welcome you back to Peppers Parehua again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We unfortunately only stayed there for one night and wish it was longer. The guy on reception was great and got us a space at dinner as we turned up late.

The rooms are great, almost like a flat with a great living room area. The bed was enormous and very comfy and the bathroom was good with a spa bath.

We ate at the restaurant and had a great meal there and there is as you can expect a great selection of wines given the location of the place.

Great stay for us and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora

Thank you for your great remarks about Peppers Parehua, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinning experience in the restaurant.

We would be very happy to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Address: 52 New York Street West, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary and chic, Parehua Country Estate is in the world-class Wairarapa wine region; a short stroll from Martinborough Village. Set amongst park-like grounds with willow-fringed lake, the estate overlooks a panorama of countryside from the Martinborough Terraces to the Tararua Ranges. Uncompromisingly spacious and stylish, luxury cottages, suites and villas have been thoughtfully positioned to provide the very best of privacy and views. Parehua Country Estate is the perfect place to retreat, escape, relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Parehua Martinborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.