We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Margrain Vineyard Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Margrain Vineyard Villas to your Saves list
Margrain Vineyard Villas
Cnr Ponatahi & Huangarua Rds | PO Box 97, Martinborough, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Meribel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The villas are spacious and convenient, however they could be slightly updated.
Overall pleasant stay, the lady at the reception was friendly and helpful.
The packed breakfast concept is a bit confusing, but convenient on early morning.

Room Tip: Villa 6 has a tree right next to the window that will keep you awake all night if windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Margrain villas over Toast weekend and have to say we feel exceptionally privileged to have stayed in such a perfect setting for the festival. Our room was beautiful and spacious light and clean. We loved the breakfast with ample choices enjoyed in complete privacy. Even over such a busy time the service was flawless. We would definitely recommend if you enjoy secluded private accommodation in a true country setting. Can't wait to come back for more romance.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A quaint loft, with lovely views and quiet charm! Has a cosy and inviting vibe. Wine tasting was free and the cafe has great food, with the underground cellar a perfect place to read a book by the fire or grab a drink!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had high expectations of an Easter vacation at the villa's as the wine is excellent and they have a nice wee cafe which we have frequented several times. The website states that the 'Villas have been architecturally designed to create a feeling of warmth and old world charm while providing the conveniences expected of a first class establishment" that are rated 4 star according to qualmark, The rooms are pretty basic, more backpacker that stylish but comfortable, We arrived at 5pm after the main office had closed which is not a problem. However, as continental breakfast is included and put into the room night before - they had forgotten to provide us with an bread or butter etc, so we couldn't get any until 10am the next day. Actually, the breakfast is pretty basic with a plastic feel.. Supermarket bread, catering packet jams, tinned fruit etc. With a little bit more effort, they could provide a nice artisan breakfast with local products more in line with Margrain and the Martinborough area. The accommodation is comfortable but we found broken glass in the bed from previous guests. - this could have caused a nasty accident. The TV reception is poor, as 3 of the 7 sky channels provided are snowie. Anyway, we complained about the glass and lack of bread but the attitude was 'so' and non responsive. We will not stay again, which is a shame considering the cafe and wine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in the Verandah Room at the Gatehouse at Margrain Vineyard. The room was simple and straightforward. In general it had everything you need, pretty basic but in good working order. Very clean except for the shower head which has lots of calcium and lime. Simple continental breakfast supplied, and the provided toiletries were basic motel standard - good to see the packaging was recyclable. Newish shower was a decent size - great to see!

Some small things: the room didn't have a rubbish bin so we left a lot of mess! The tissue holder only had one tissue in it (sticking up the top to make it look more full?) and the quilt had seen better days (in the 80s?) - but was perfectly fine just not up-to-date. There is some chipping/chunks of plaster missing in the bathroom which gives the place a bit of a run down look. If one of those TV makeover shows was to spend about a thousand dollars in that room it would make a huge difference!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great accommodation.

Situated in the main wine tasting area. The units are spacious and look out over farmland.

They are pretty much self service, but everything was provided.

Would definately come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have just returned from staying the night at Margrain Vineyard Villas. The photos don't do this place justice. It was absolutely magical - the setting, the outside deck, the room, the huge bathroom with a powerful shower, everything! Absolutely loved the experience, and will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: I think we got the best room - being No. 1. Its design and location seemed better than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margrain Vineyard Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margrain Vineyard Villas

Address: Cnr Ponatahi & Huangarua Rds | PO Box 97, Martinborough, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Margrain Vineyard Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margrain Vineyard Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.