We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alana Estate Vineyard

Alana Estate Vineyard
Puruatanga Road, Martinborough 5954, New Zealand
06 3069784
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 20 Restaurants in Martinborough
Restaurant details
Martinborough, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great place to attend a concert, particularly if the band is good and the sun is out. Alana wines are delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“shame the full restaurant's not operating :(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lovely setting and some good wines. We enjoyed a good, satisfying platter to match. it's only a shame the restaurant wasn't operating at such a great facility.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Acceptable stop for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have toggled between average and very good, and decided on honestly on average. We visited Alana for lunch on what was apparently a busy day. We were served at the tasting bar immediately, but had to wait for a table. We tasted wines as we waited and chose glasses of Gruner Veltliner and an Estate Pinot Noir for lunch. I thought the wines were good but not great. Our table was outside and it took the servers a while to clean it from the previous guests after we were told to take it. This may have been confusion between staff. We chose a lunch platter of spreads, olive oils, tapenades, humus, sausage, nuts, ginger squares, salmon and capers, cheeses and sundried tomatoes. After listing everything, I feel badly that I am only rating it as average. The problem for us was nothing stood out as better than average. There is lots of parking, bathrooms are available and there is an indoor sitting area if the weather is inclement.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great wine and platters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We all had a great time at Alana Estate. The staff were so friendly, the wine was great and the platter they serve is fantastic. A great lunchtime option.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

These guys were recommended to us as a good spot for lunch. Can't argue! Had the special of the day, reasonably priced and very good. Got a tasting selection of 5 wines with our meal.

Staff were friendly and helpful on the wine / food choices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alana Estate Vineyard also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Alana Estate Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alana Estate Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.