We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, convenient, spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Claremont Martinborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Claremont Martinborough to your Saves list
The Claremont Martinborough
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   38 Regent St., Martinborough 2004, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Modern, convenient, spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Claremont exceeded our expectations - very clean and modern rooms with plenty of room. The main bed was in a loft area with a full service kitchen, bath and sitting room on the ground level. During our check-in we were given a complimentary bottle of milk (I know we are in wine country but the milk was a surprise and was appreciated.). We were also given the login / password for the free internet. Plenty of parking and close enough to restaurants / grocery stores. Great staff, providing suggestions for eating or sampling the wine. Bicycles available to rent. Definitely would return again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Absolutely amazing room! Even better were the hosts who were kind, placed our breakfast each day, and were helpful with anything we asked. Of all of the places we stayed in NZ, whether a hostel or hotel, city, or camping, this was my favorite! Our room was the perfect size with decently modern decor. The bathtub was large and came along with lovely manuka honey fixings :) Delicious breakfast in our room each morning! Our small deck was fabulous with ivy guarded wood, seats, and lovely gardens. We rode our bikes everywhere and found it quite easy in this area. Hidden gem really!

We had a package that included a five course dinner at Tirohana. Our host dropped us off and picked us up! It was beyond delightful! They way the people of Martinborough work together is something really special!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Claremont consists of a series of metal clad roofed, wood sided buildings with perhaps 4-6 units in each. There is lots of parking and the whole sits on a hill to receive breezes and is surrounded by gardens and bird song. Our unit had a kitchen, bathroom and sitting room on the ground floor with sliding doors out to a paved verandah with a table and chairs, and the bedroom was in the loft. The rugs were a bit stained, but in general the whole was clean as we had come to expect in NZ. There were barbeque areas around the grounds, but we didn't use them during our visit. The owners were very friendly, despite our arriving early in the day, and helped us with directions and information on local wineries and olive oil shop hours (there is an olive oil place very close but regretfully it was closed the day we were there). You have access to DVD movies and books at the office, and there is a fairly large laundry facility. We enjoyed our stay despite it being short, and would highly recommend the Claremont to travellers. One hint - we closed the windows in the loft at night for fear of bugs, and it got real stuffy and warm. I suggest you leave them open at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed overnight in Martinborough for a wedding and The Claremont was the perfect place to stay. Great location close to the town centre and all the vineyards. Very tidy and well appointed rooms, comfortable bed, and nice and quiet. Great choice of modern units catering for a small or large number of guests. Lovely staff and were very helpful catering for an early check in time. It will definitely be our pick to stay each time we make the journey to lovely Martinborough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Booked this on the back of Tripadvisor reviews and I was not disappointed. Very peaceful setting - walking distance to the centre of town although if you are really adverse to walking anywhere then probably best to get somewhere right in the centre. Room was perfect for us. Double bed up on the mezzanine floor and a single down in the lounge area. Nice small patio area with table and two chairs - perfect for enjoying a glass of Martinborough Wine! Friendly welcome - helpful but not intrusive. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The self contained units are a good walk from town so take the car if you are planning on stocking up with provisions at either of the two small supermarkets.
The rooms are well appointed and stocked with all the necessary equipment if you decide to cook. Free wifi is also available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I'm biased about the Claremont because we've stayed here three times before and keep coming back. We had four nights in early February and another one on our journey back to Auckland Airport in March. It's the quietest place this side of the Iraqi Tourist Office and consists of a number of different buildings scattered among gardens and containing different types of accommodation. Our room - we always have the same one - was smart and stylish with an excellent roll-in shower for my disabled wife (and me - there's room to walk about in the shower - like being back at school without the undesirable company). Tina and Brett are always very welcoming, and look after their little realm with care and enthusiasm. Hopefully, we'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Claremont Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Martinborough

Address: 38 Regent St., Martinborough 2004, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Martinborough 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Claremont Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claremont Martinborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.