We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed.. with accommodation and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Claremont Martinborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Claremont Martinborough to your Saves list
The Claremont Martinborough
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   38 Regent St., Martinborough 2004, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Impressed.. with accommodation and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We travlled to Martinborough as a couple to attend a Wedding.

As the wedding started early in the afternoon - I emailed the Claremont to ask for an early check in of noon... they were soo helpful and accommodating.

I was extremely impressed with their lovely service upon arrival we in fact arrived at 11.30am as I assumed it would take longer to drive over and they gave us the keys with a smile. (very lovely Man whom may have been the owner)

Very tidy, clean and modern accommodation with all the comforts you require.
High pressure shower was devine. The deck and chairs out the front make for lovely relaxing in the sun with a drop from the lovely martinborough vines.

All in all a lovely stay... last time we came over to Martinborough we paid $850 for two nights at Parehua.. and had the worst service.....did not live up to expectations with a price like that.

So to come here with a really great price.... and great service I think far exceeds what Parehua has on offer.

Thanks Claremont for a lovely weekend

Room Tip: Just forget Parehua and stay here is my biggest reccomendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in a motel room which was fine. Location is quiet on the edge of town. A bit too far to walk to a restaurant. Room is good and the decking and lawn outside is very pleasant. We felt that the cleaning was not up to the usual high New Zealand standards. WiFi worked fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Martinborough, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdviser. The Claremont is 1300m from the town centre. This around a 10-15 minute flat walk or a 1 minute car trip. I am sorry you didn't find the accommodation up to our usual very high standard. Unfortunatly I cannot find a booking under your name so cannot be sure which room your were in, maybe it was booked under a different name. We would be very interested to know what the problem was with your room so that we may address the issue. If you have time we would appricate an email from you letting us know how we let you down on cleanliness. host@theclaremont.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My parents and I stayed here last Friday night. We had previously stayed many times at Parehua but decided it was time for a change and wanted specifically a 2 bedroom unit. Claremont has that and while slightly different to our other stays in that it didn't have the luxury, the second bathroom or the space it certainly made up for it in price and service. The unit was very clean and had everything we needed. The owners were helpful and attentive even while seemingly doing everything else at the same time. The grounds are beautifully looked after and the Claremont dog is also a friendly and well behaved ambassador. We will be back for sure. Just wish there was a walk in shower for my over 80 yo parents.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Martinborough, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Claremont on tripadviser. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were travelling around the South & North Islands of New Zealand as part of a months vaccation and spent one night here. The motel is located of a residential road but once you enter the grounds it is like a differant place. Very tranquil. We received a very friendly and swift check-in and our apartment could not of been better. We had parking space right in front of where we stayed which was very useful for transfering our luggage. There was a small area in front where we had our own decking area and entered by means of a patio door. The room was very spacious with a small seating area where there was a sofa a coffee table and a unit which housed the large colour flat screen tv. We had a kitchette with a fridge, sink, micro-wave and oven. Everything that you could need in a kitchen for a short stay. The bathroom had a very large walk in shower, large sink and toilet and the free products were Natural Earth and contained Active Manuka Honey and had a label proudly confirming that they were 100% made in New Zealand. A nice extra luxury. We had a very comfortable nights sleep and would loved to have stayed for a few more nights but due to a tight schedule we were unable too. We would most definately recommend this place, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Our room was number 13 an end unit, which was also geared up for disabled use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Martinborough, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Claremont. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and truly appriciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I love this place, so peaceful, and on the edge of a lovely quiet village. It's not your usual motel, but a series of different buildings, each offering different types of accommodation, spread around park-like gardens. We had our usual unit (it's fully accessible with an adapted bathroom), modern, stylish yet very comfortable. And at night, silence.

It's a three-minute drive into the village centre. There's all the hype and nonsense you get with a wine industry, but you can ignore that and just enjoy the traditional, friendly village atmosphere. Take the half-hour drive to the remote ocean beach where the waves crash on the shore below the cliffs.

And all this an hour or so from Wellington!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Martinborough, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to host you once again at The Claremont. We are looking forward to your next visit to New Zealand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here at the last minute. The hosts Brett and Tina were so lovely. Excellent place and the two bedroom apartment is perfect for two couples or a family. The spa bath is excellent. A great place to relax before we hit Wellington. It was only an hour drive in the morning. We hope to be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Martinborough, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Claremont. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here. Nicely appointed units with a mezzanine level for the main bed. Yes, they could do with a blind over the skylight window but we are early risers and it didn't really bother us.

We had asked for a quiet room when booking and we were given an end unit which was thoughtful.

Would we go back - yes, but would probably look at upgrading rooms as the standalone units looked really nice.

Just a bit out of the main town but not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Martinborough, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Claremont Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always try to accommodate our guests requests and were pleased to be able to offer you an end room although we really don't have any problems with noise at The Claremont. We always appricate constructive feedback.
About 18 months ago we put blinds into all our one bedroom standard units upstairs on the North/East side where the sun arrives first and we heavily tinted the South West opening skylights. This seems to have fixed any morning light issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Claremont Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Martinborough

Address: 38 Regent St., Martinborough 2004, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Martinborough 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Claremont Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claremont Martinborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.