We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Martinborough Hotel - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
The Martinborough Hotel - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Martinborough, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was lucky to receive a lovely weekend getaway with my wife as a 40th birthday present. 2 nights at the Martinborough hotel inclusive of 2 continental breakfasts and 1 dinner at the bistro. It was Anzac weekend and the dawn parade was literally right across the road. With they way the rooms are set up ( we chose the garden rooms) the noise was not obtrusive and we could easily be involved if we wanted to. The service was excellent and rooms were lovely. Not a lot to do in the area if you are not a wine drinker but a lovely relaxing weekend away which we would recommend to anyone

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
52
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a charming boutique hotel in a historic building.

The room was comfortably furnished and well equipped and the bathroom was also nicely equipped with quality fittings. Oddly, in the bedroom there was no centre light and it was only possible to light the room dimly with lamps.

There was a lively bar in the hotel and live music later in the evening.

I stayed here as one of a group of about 20 motorcyclists. Our stay here was the culmination of a 12 day tour.

The tour organiser had arranged with the hotel to provide us an 'end of tour' dinner and they certainly did us proud. The food was excellent and I enjoyed a glass of an excellent local pinot noir.

There is one small niggle, which has prevented me from giving this a 5 star rating:

Most motels in New Zealand provide their guests with a bottle of milk, presumably so they can enjoy the complimentary tea and coffee provided. Okay, this is a hotel not a motel, but no such courtesy was extended here, even though the room was equipped with a kitchenette.

Bearing in mind, that about 25 of us were staying and had doubtless swelled the takings at the bar as well as contributing to the cost of what could not have been a cheap meal; and, of course, the accommodation costs would have amounted to quite a tidy sum. It seemed churlish, therefore, when requested for a small jug of milk so that two of us could sustain ourselves with a coupe of weet-bix before heading off in the morning before sunrise, that they should levy a charge of $4.

An insignifcant point maybe, but actually, it's the most talked about thing from out stay here!

A great hotel for a romantic break though.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

47 Years ago we got married and had a fairly poor honeymoon so most years we try to do something better than that. This time I made a secret booking for our anniversary at The Martinborough Hotel. The staff had put freshly cut roses from the hotel gardens and welcomed us warmly. We stayed in The Martin Room which has been redecorated in the style of the period with a claw foot bath with a shower over. The room is furnished with antiques or furniture in the style. Pity that the hotel restaurant is not open on Sundays however the restaurant next door is outstanding

Room Tip: The garden rooms are good value but the hotel rooms are more fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this beautifully restored old New Zealand country hotel. We were given a very large upstairs room in the garden annex and were delighted. The hotel has its own restaurant and a pub on the street corner. With chairs and tables outside, it was a lovely place to have a glass or two of the excellent local wine. Highly recommended for a stay in the beautiful Wairarapa valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel. Ideally situated. Has wonderful quiet pub downstairs as well as a restaurant. Had booked the day before and very happy with our selection. My only gripe is we had a choice of garden view room (told it was nice) and a terrace room view (also nice but a little more expensive). We went garden and were not disappointed but if there were no other guest in the whole hotel why not, for good will, just upgrade us to a better room instead of tucking us away. I would have rated this a 5 then instead of a 4. Sometimes there seems to be an us and them attitude with some hotels. A little pr goes along way.

Room Tip: All rooms a nice but spend upgrade to terrace room (wished we had of known)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are lots of these old wooden hotels studded around New Zealand, they survivew through depression, wars and even the "Six o'clock swill". Built well out of locally produced timber many still stand. Some haven't fared that we'll and probably won't survive another century, but this one has been saved. Martinborough is now a trendy wine making area and the Martinborough hotel has been tastefully refurbished. Incorporating modern accommodation and decor with the feel of its former glory makes a comfortable stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been to Marinborough a number of times previously we were always curious about this hotel as it dominated the centre of town and one always wonders whether these old building are as good on the inside. So we took the plunge on this visit and booked for one night, we were not disappointed, great central location our room in the main building a good size, plenty of natural light and a good size bathroom. On our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of the team who showed us to our room and answered all our queries that we had on the hotel and local area, despite having visited the area, I view local knowledge by the team as a good benchmark of how the general manger/owners of hotels manage their team. Overall very much worth the visit, go on treat yourself.

Room Tip: Very good location for exploring Martinborough wine region
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Martinborough Hotel - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martinborough Hotel - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: The Square, Martinborough, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martinborough Hotel - Heritage Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1882, The Martinborough Hotel - Heritage Boutique Collection is a historic retreat offering luxury, boutique accommodation near Wellington, at the heart of Martinborough Wine Village - one of New Zealand's finest wine destinations. Today The Martinborough Hotel offers character, comfort and old style personal attention, making it ideal for a romantic weekend away, an indulgent escape or accommodation as part of a holiday or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Martinborough Hotel - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Hotel Martinborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Martinborough Hotel - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.