We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinocchio

Pinocchio
3 Kitchener Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
+64 6-306 6094
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: Bistro, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Pinocchio is a family owned and operated restaurant, we pride ourselves on using fresh produce from around New Zealand. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner, in relaxed and friendly environment. Pinocchio has an extensive wine list, selected from local vineyards and from around New Zealand. Our Head chef Paul has combined his fine dinning knowledge and experience to create a menu that consists of sensational flavours combined with eye catching presentation in our bistro experience. Pinocchio has the capacity to seat forty-five people. Pinocchio has a sunny courtyard to enjoy your dinning experience or just a Peroni on tap. Private functions are available on request.
Martinborough, Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great dining and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

We have been here a few time - the food is fantastic and they provide great service. I love the asparagus and they way the chef uses seasonal ingredients. Its a great restaurant.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Martinborough, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We had a beautiful meal here last night. The food was fantastic in taste and presentation.
I will go again for celebrating special occasions

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“Amazing Dining in Martinborough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We visited in December, 2014.

We started with the snapper tar tar appetizer with roasted coconut, freeze-dried mandarin oranges, and avocado. The combination of flavors was ingenius and incredibly pleasing. Back and forth, my dinner date and I exclaimed, "Mmmmmmm!".

For the main course, she had the potato gnocchi, and I had the lamb with a side of PERFECT asparagus. Both were very well-plated - gorgeous, actually, and delicious.

It would be difficult to have a bad wine list in Martinborough, surely. The wine list here had many offerings of truly excellent wine over a wide, accommodating range of prices.

We loved dinner so much that, on walking through town the next morning and finding the restaurant open for breakfast, we had to stop in again. Each of us had the egss benedict with house-smoked salmon. The eggs were expertly prepared and served over mighty portion of delicious and delicate smoked salmon. Three words here: O. M. G. Soooo delicious.

My great hope is that, if we can make it back to town in the next five years, this talented chef and his staff are still here doing what they do so well. I recommend this restaraunt as a must-do in Martinborough.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not as good as I was told”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

When your expectations are high to have a disappointing meal feels worse than if you had no thoughts at all. My wife had a goats cheese tart starter and duck confit as her main. She loved them( that's why they have three stars.) I chose the fillet steak with roasted marrow mash and salad leaves. The fillet was tiny and it was Luke warm. It should have been medium rare it was more cooked than I had ordered. Has this restaurant been living on ots reputation?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellylm, Owner at Pinocchio, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi John

Sorry we did not live up to your high expectations.
Unfortunately we are not a steak house and we pride our self on quality not quantity. Our menu is designed so that you can comfortably fit three courses.
We ask all our guests how there meals are going, if you told us at the time we would of certainly cooked you another beef fillet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

This is an outstanding restaurant. I've been several times and have never been disappointed. Family and friends have all found it fabulous too. The food is stunning and well sized so we've always had room for the spectacular desserts. Congrats guys - keep it up!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinocchio also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Pinocchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinocchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.