We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation

Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Martinborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation
114 Hinakura Road, Martinborough 5741, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The perfect romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My partner and I stayed during the month of May in 2011 and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We appreciated the privacy and remoteness and also the wonderful setting, a truly romantic destination for us as busy, hard working people. We enjoyed the spa at night in a crisp autumn air (with a local wine of course!) and relaxed in the beautifully appointed living area. We will definitely be back to sample more, Wendy was a wonderful host.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

All the stress in your body leaves you from the moment you arrive and are greeted by Wendy and Indy (the very friendly pooch) until you have to leave (when I 'spose all the stress comes back again!). The service is great in that if there's anything you need, you know it's just a holla away, the rest of the time it's like there's no one else around for mile's. Wendy and Marcus are never 'in your face' and you would hardly know they are there! (Maybe sometime's they're not - who knows?) We will be going back with other members of our family. We can thoroughly recommend Akrotiri Estate and there's heaps and heaps to do around the district all within an hour or two drive (if you can tear yourself away from the Estate to begin with!).
Cheers Wendy. See you soon

Room Tip: All Rooms are great. Doesn't matter which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

For a couple who have a fast paced, loud, busy and over indulgent lifestyle… coming to Martinborough was a long awaited peaceful treat. The prerequisites for our accommodation is always that it must have a view or a private outdoor spa, value for money and no kids, Akrotiri ticked all the boxes. Easy to find, clean and welcoming. We had the guest quarters of this estate all to ourselves which made for a pleasant stay, it has a lounge with fridge and dining table, you just leave the dishes and they magically get done when you awake the next day. There is no TV hooked up so books and a few DVDs are provided, some social board games would have been good but I did finally use this opportunity to learn to play chess. The bed is comfortable as are the robes, the bathroom could do with a shelf for toiletries/make up bags etc. The hosts were very friendly and available if needed. They recommended some great eating places, we had a nice time at The Martinborough Hotel, (not waiting 5 deep in a queue for a drink was appreciated), had a divine lunch at Bloom – Murdock James winery and stocked up on local deli treats from The Ingredient to go with the copious amounts of fine wine we drank back at Akrotiri. The highlight for my husband is that Akrotiri is located right next door to a golf course and I was impressed with the bathroom products being paraben/petrochemical free, little touches make all the difference to me as a regular traveller. Grand from the outside, it’s still a quaint, simple country home and while NZ is always number one in my heart I found myself day dreaming in the spa, gazing at sun drenched olive groves imagining that I could be in Spain.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

A peaceful and relaxing stay at this hidden gem. With wonderful views while soaking in the spa in beautiful surroundings to the comfortable furniture inside, all made for a stay that is exactly what we were after. We would have no hesitation in coming back to stay and would definately recommend it to other people. Our only wish was that our stay lasted longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed two nights and found Akrotiri Estate extremely relaxing. Location was perfect with numerous excellent restaurants close by. Having spent five weeks travelling around NZ we would certainly recommend this accommodation.

Denis and Gillian Heaton
Rossendale. UK

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed for one night and it turned out great. We loved laying in the hot tub under the stars after a long drive. The hosts were very friendly while giving us lots of space and the run of our section of the BandB...no one else was there that night. The yard and charming animals and pets made it just the kind of place we like.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Thanks for the great stay Wendy, definitely recommend the Spa and Bicycles for travelling around the vineyards. Brilliant way to relax for a few days, with plenty of serenity.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation

Address: 114 Hinakura Road, Martinborough 5741, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay a while, relax and soak up magical views across the 18-acre country estate, to the vineyards and mountains beyond. Excellent location, 5 mins from Martinborough Wine Village, close to vineyards and golf course. EXCLUSIVE USE of the estate's guest wing with private entrance. The accommodation sleeps 4 adults and has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, private patio, large luxury Spa Pool, elegant lounge, open-plan living/dining, luxurious leather furniture, heating+A/C and FREE WIRELESS INTERNET. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation to your Saves list