We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bordeaux on Cologne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bordeaux on Cologne to your Saves list
Bordeaux on Cologne
24 Cologne St, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Relaxing night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I thought the place was great. Well presented with everything we
needed for our stay. Within walking distance of the Square, even
for me
Rooms exactly as shown in photos. Decking and a BBQ supplied, sunny section and privacy,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We loved the privacy...own detached bungalow with a private deck including bbq. Plenty of space, well appointed kitchen, clean and modern. Great to arrive to supplies including milk, bread, cereal and tea, coffee etc. Even bottles of shampoo and conditioner...beats battling with little sachets! All in all fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A wonderful house with plenty of room for our 3 families to spend time catching up. The kids had fun in the spa, and the adults enjoyed the mod cons. The area has so much to offer, but we just chose to hang out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Modern, comfortable and clean. Liked the generous breakfast supplies e.g whole loaf of bread for toast, 1 litre of milk for your cereal etc.
Super handy to town, quiet at night. Well equipped kitchen.
Would certainly recommend. Easy to book and pay online.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BordeauxOnCologne, Owner at Bordeaux on Cologne, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, we're pleased everything was to your satisfaction and we hope to have you back sometime!
Kind regards,
Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I phoned Bordeaux on Cologne on Sunday and arranged a dinner and accommodation package for the next weekend. I followed this up with an email later that afternoon and a confirmation booking email was received by Bordeaux on Cologne later that evening. No deposit was paid that night as the dinner package with a local winery was still being confirmed by Bordeaux on Cologne. On Monday Bordeaux on Cologne left a message to advise the dinner package I had booked was unavailable but we could still book the room separately. On Tuesday when I phoned to confirm and pay for the booking I was advised they had cancelled my booking and given it to someone else and there is no longer any availability.
I was only phoned once on Monday during business hours and a phone call missed on Tuesday was replied too within a few hours. My booking was cancelled from under my feet without any discussion or any notice. With this poor pre customer service I am glad I am not staying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BordeauxOnCologne, Owner at Bordeaux on Cologne, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
This was an unfortunate sequence of events, the guest was only ever emailed booking details, the booking was never confirmed and repeated calls only reached his voicemail. The Wine and Dine package relies on both availability in our Accommodation, and the Restaurant. It's not practical for us to hold a booking open and turn away other potential bookings if we are unable to get in contact with the guest. Sorry things didn't work out on this occasion.
Kind regards,
Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Bordeaux on Cologne was the perfect little place for myself and 7 other friends. We booked out 2 apartments for the Easter holiday and spent 2 nights there. Could not have asked for a cleaner, more equipped place to stay. Such private modern little places very close to the square. We will definitely be going back and would recommend to anyone.
Shannon and Terry were also great to deal with, with payment, instructions and a run down of the units.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great little unit, had everything we needed plus more!! It was easy to book and pay online and we were given clear instructions on how to pick up the key. Loved that we had the flexibility of when we could arrive. It was comfortable but very attractive, loved the colour scheme throughout. Liked the added touches of the continental breakfast and shampoo and body wash that was provided, you don't always get these in apartments. Will definitely use again next time we are in Martinborough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bordeaux on Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bordeaux on Cologne

Address: 24 Cologne St, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordeaux on Cologne is comprised of five self-contained one bedroom Luxury Apartments, and a four bedroom homestay house. We are nestled in between the Martinborough Square and Puruatanga Rd, also known as ‘wine road’. This ideal location allows visitors to walk or cycle to most Martinborough destinations easily.The Apartments have been purpose-built in a residential area, making the location ideal. The exterior has been kept low key, but once inside you will appreciate the modern, functional design with attention to detail, and most importantly an immaculate standard of cleanliness. The four bedroom house is a very popular property and an ideal option for larger groups, family get togethers etc. It's all of the little extras and attention to detail that will ensure your stay at Bordeaux on Cologne is like being at home, away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bordeaux on Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bordeaux on Cologne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.